BMR/TDEE

So I have been doing a lot of reading about BMR and tdee recently. BMR is your basal metabolic rate which is the amount of calories your body needs just to survive if you were lying in bed all day or in a coma. TDEE is your total daily energy expenditure or basically your BMR plus your daily activities plus all the exercise you do.

I have been reading about this because I have wanted to up my calories for a really long time. While losing weight I always used the calorie goal MyFitnessPal gave me. However I have been at 1270 calories for a really long time (mfp wanted me at 1200) and I was not happy about it. I always was hungry and thinking about how to fit things in my daily amount.

So I found a BMR/tdee calculator and figured it out. My BMR is 1370. My tdee is in the 2000’s. Because I am not consistent with my exercise I figured out my tdee for sedentary minus 15% (if you ate at your tdee you would maintain) and then eat my exercise calories back from my fitbit and my heart rate monitor. Normally you don’t eat exercise calories back with your tdee. I basically just try to net my BMR and not go over my tdee.

I have been eating this way for one week. It was hard at first trust in the process and up my eating by at least 200 calories but I am trying. I can’t eat 1200 calories forever. Supposedly when you first start eating like this your body gains weight and that it takes a couple of weeks to start losing again. I have had a couple of high sodium days recently so my weight wouldn’t be accurate now anyways. I am going to try weighing myself on Wednesday to see how it’s all going. So far I like it. I can eat more, have felt more full, and like that it feels more sustainable. I am being conservative too. If I was fully going with it I could be eating 1900 calories every day, but I am not that active every day or ready to eat that every day. Hopefully this all works out and doesn’t set me back a month. I am giving it until at least after my period which should be here in about two weeks which should give me some idea how it’s going.

  • Posted in: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

