Soy

This weekend was not fun. LM was very constipated all weekend. We give him juice (1oz prune, 3oz apple, plus miralax) every night, but this wasn’t cutting it. Part of the problem I believe was that he had had too much dairy recently. He had been doing good with getting extra juice if he starts having a problem, but not this time. We gave him some little tummies laxiative which normally does the trick on saturday, but by sunday night he was still having trouble. Because of this he was cranky and not eating well. No fun for everyone. He finally went on monday around lunch after another dose of little tummies and more juice. Thank goodness.

After going through that I didn’t want it to happen again so I started thinking about switching a lot of the milk products he eats over to soy products to see if that made a difference with his constipation and his eating. I went to two grocery stores yesterday to see what I could find. The first store was a bust, they barely had anything. The second was a nicer store and they had a bunch of stuff. I bought some silk soy yogurt, some soy cheese slices, cheese shreeded, some soy ice cream, and some dairy free cream cheese. I was a little bit nervous with how he would do since he is already a picky eater and I know some of the stuff probably tastes different, but I want to give it a shot.

This morning I heard LM wake up before my alarm around 5:15am. I let him lay in his crib until my alarm went off at 5:30. When I went in his room to get him he was cranky already. He wanted me to come in, but he didn’t want to get out of his bed. I think he was tired, and probably hungry because he didn’t eat much the last few days. I tried to get him out of his bed, but he was on the far side of the bed where my short arms couldn’t reach him. So I got hubs to get him. He started throwing a fit about wanting to be back in his bed. I said no, it’s time to go downstairs and wake up so I walked downstairs and sat on the couch like we do every single morning. He threw a fit from that moment with yelling and screaming and crying for almost the whole morning until I walked out the door to go to work. I feel like I had a little bit of traumatic stress. I had just woken up and then boom screaming toddler who is upset/mad about everything. Not fun.

I tried giving him the soy cream cheese, but he is too smart for his own good and it probably wasn’t the best morning to try it. He knew that it wasn’t the right container for his cream cheese and kept yelling that he didn’t want this one he wanted his old cream chesee. Ugh. We finally cream cheesed one side of the bagel with the new one and the other side with the old stuff and he started eating the side with the good cream cheese. I tried the new stuff and it is pretty gross. Bleh. I really hope the other stuff is better. I’m nervous because I bought some shredded cheese that is the same brand of the cream cheese. I hope they both aren’t bad. I just hope I can find some alternatives that help him with his constipation that are tolerable to him. He is so picky and just wants what he is used too. THough when I make his lunches he doesn’t see the brand of cheese I use so hopefully as long as it tastes good I will be ok. *fingers crossed*

  • Posted in: Uncategorized

1 Comment

  1. As mom of children with food sensitivites and I wish you the best of luck. It is a long journey trying to figure out what food is causing problems but it is a worthy journey.

Leave a Reply

