Nice afternoon

Yesterday after lunch I was sitting at my desk thinking about my afternoon. It was a gym day for me so I had my gym bag with my change of clothes. However, it was beautiful out and I wasn’t in the mood to just go to the gym. I have fallen off my gym schedule a bit. I try to make it three times a week, but I have been busy with other things. I also am a bit bored with running. I am tending to walk more, but I’m still doing it most of the time. I’m not energized like I was during couch to 5k though. I think I’m just bored and not sure what I want to do next. I have been reading about running outside instead of on a treadmill and how a lot of people like it so much more. I have been thinking of trying it, but haven’t yet.

So yesterday afternoon I decided that I was going to skip the gym and bring LM with me and go to our local park. It is very close to our house and it’s huge and nice. They have a great playground. My thought was that I was going to push LM around in his stroller around the track and see what I thought about running outside. Then I started to think about it and I wasn’t sure I wanted to deal with the stroller on my own. The park is huge and when we have gone on the weekend it usualy is really crowded. However, when we went yesterday it was a lot more empty which was great. I could park where I wanted, LM had more space to run around and not have to worry about bumping into other kids at every step, and I could feel more comfortable being there on my own with him and letting him roam a little.

So we stayed at the park for about an hour and a half. It was a nice day, but it was sunny. I am wearing a white shirt today to show off the tan on my arms lol. LM had a lot of fun playing on the different equipment and it was a nice change of scenary from the little playground in our development. I didn’t exercise myself though. I wonder if I could have just pushed him around in his stroller around the track and then put it back in the car and then let him play on the playground. I need to work out the logistics. I know we are definitley going back to the playground, but maybe not for that long. We were both beat by the end. LM was asleep by 8:30 and I was asleep by a little after 9. LM slept through the night and I slept till 6am which was great. Yea for sleep!

I really do need to find something I enjoy with exercising again. I was at my lowest weight a week ago, but then gained weight again so now I am about three pounds higher. I sorta think that part of the weight loss is just where I am in my cycle. I had just finished my period and now I am in the middle again. It’s frustrating that my weight keeps fluctuating between the same couple of pounds. I have tried the exercise bike and the eliptical at the gym and I am not good at them. I guess I haven’t built up the right leg muscles for them. I could run around where I work, but there are a lot of hills and I’m just not 100% running is my thing. I guess I’m just in a rut. Any suggestions?

  • Posted in: Uncategorized

3 Comments

  1. I HATE HATE HATE to run. To me, it doesn’t matter if it is on a treadmill or outdoors. But, I also know people who love it…trying the park might be a great idea for you!
    What I have found that is easiest for me to stick to is classes at the gym. I like to vary the class type that I take (ie kickboxing, step, boot camp) and I find I get both an aerobic workout and also some strength training in those as well. I was doing great with sticking to the gym before we got pregnant but then fell of the wagon because we moved out of state and quit our gym. I just joined an new gym so I am hoping to be in better shape and less weight soon!

    • Taking classes at the gym is fun. I have taken zumba in the past. I actually looked at the class schedule at the gym at work and all the classes in the time period I’m looking at start at 4:15 and go till 5:15pm which doesn’t work for me because I am normally picking up LM from daycare then. That would be fun if I could take a class somewhere. Good luck at your new gym.

  2. I have no exercise suggestions. I’m the worst at sticking with it! But I’m so proud of you for maintaining your weight loss! I think you’re doing the right thing – looking for something that will spark your interest again.

Leave a Reply

