Week 2

I can’t believe it, but week two of couch to 5k is already coming to a close. Day 2 went a lot better than day 1. Hopefully todays run will go even better. I had an easier time with the running sections on wednesday and I didn’t feel like I was going to die. I did drop down the speed a tiny bit during the walking portions though. I also felt like my shoes are finally wearing in a bit which is good. I got a lot of exercise in on Wednesday. It was also National walking day so I walked a mile outside with my co-workers in addition to my 30 minute Couch to 5k workout and my situps and curls.

My toes have been feeling a little sore this week. I think it’s because they were rubbing on my old shoes a bit and maybe now they are healing or something? I don’t know. I don’t think I have that great of a running form and I want to work on that, but I’m not sure how that will affect me getting through the weeks. I’ll try and see how it goes.

I can’t believe that on monday I will be in week three. I’m kinda nervous about week three. It is a five minute warm up walk, and then two repetitions of running 90 seconds, walking 90 seconds, running for THREE MINUTES, and then walking for three minutes. Three whole minutes. It’s where I quit the last time. However, I am going to try to just keep repeating week three until I can do it. Hopefully that won’t take a month lol.

Hub’s birthday is next week and then his brother is soon after. For birthdays we usually maintain our own amazon wish list so that people can look at them and easily buy a birthday present and know it’s something that they want. I have updated mine since my birthday is next month and I actually added some running things. I really hope I can get into running and stick with it. I added some headphones that won’t fall out of your ears when you run, good socks, and this bar that is supposed to help with sore muscles. *fingers crossed*

  • Posted in: Uncategorized

5 Comments

  1. I just finished day 3 of week 2 today!!! First time doing it. Can I ask you what speed you are using for the walk and run portion? I think I’m being wussy.

    • Hey! I just did week two day 3 about an hour ago. You don’t want to compare times with me I go mega slow. I read somewhere that you should go at a slow pace and not push it too much so you don’t poop out. Speed will come. That said I walk from about 2.8-2.9 when I am tired, 3.0 when doing well. I run at about 3.3. You probably go faster than me. You can be my couch to 5k buddy!

      T-Mobile, America’s First Nationwide 4G Network

      • Okay great! There just didn’t seem to be much info out there about the speed. I have been doing 3.3 walking and 4.0-4.5 running and I’m like maxed out….I doubt I can keep that up for week 3! I’m scared!!! And yes let’s support each other. Are you going to do a 5k or is this just for fitness? I am debating walking/jogging a Mother’s Day 5k…I even just ordered a jogging stroller 🙂
        I didn’t do week 1 but have been doing 30 mins of power walking on the treadmill4-5 days a week for a few months now so I thought it was ok to start with week 2.

      • Yea for a buddy 🙂 I think if skipping week one felt OK to you then its fine. I started just walking on the treadmill at the very beginning of march and by the end of the month I decided to throw some running in. I’m glad your not going too much faster than me lol

        I’m mainly doing it to lose weight and shape up. I still have my pregnancy weight. I would also like to start to like running and have a hobby but we will see. Right now I would just be happy to be able to run the whole time on the treadmill. I like running inside with air conditioning and a TV lol.

        I thought about signing up for a 5k around mothers day but haven’t yet. I may need to repeat some weeks so not sure when I would be ready and I want to enjoy my mothers day. Last one was crap as I had pink eye and LM had hand foot and mouth.

  2. Way to go for doing this program! I did it last summer, and it really jump started my fitness! So I’m a huge believer!!! I couldn’t do it straight through – like you’re planning, I would just repeat weeks that I couldn’t do, and before I knew it I was running for long periods! Hang in there – it really does work!!!

Leave a Reply

