An update

I feel like it’s been a while since I blogged. We’ve all been busy.  First off, today is my birthday!  Yea me!

Last blog entry I wrote was about strollers.  We ended up buying the 2011 city mini and the hubs and I both enjoy it.  It’s a little bigger than I was looking for, but I was sold on the ease of closing it. You literally just pull on a strap and boom.  It’s great.  I’m trying to walk around our neighborhood a bunch of times a week for 30 minutes to drop some of my pregnancy weight, but I don’t make it out all the time.  I keep trying.  We used the stroller on a two mile walk with some friends the first weekend we got it and it worked really well.

On wednesday LM had the procedure to put tubes in his ears.  I stressed up to it and during it, wondering if we were doing the right thing. I didn’t want to put him through the whole thing, but I kept reading blog entries and forums of people who said what a great thing it was for their child and that kept me going. When we were at the hospital I basically cried my way through each person we talked too (front desk, billing, two nurses, the doc, the anesthesiologist, etc), but we both did ok in the end.  He was not happy when he woke up, but after a bottle he calmed down and went to sleep.  He slept on and off for the rest of the day.  He’s had some drainage from his ears and the drops, but I think that’s just from the procedure.  He has a hearing test in a couple of weeks. I really really hope this cuts down on the amount he gets sick and the amount of ear infections he gets. I really don’t want to put him through anything like that again.  If anyone has any questions about it let me know.

LM has gotten great at rolling from his back to his stomach these days, but his favorite thing is standing while someone is holding him. We face him towards the sofa and he just let him hold on and try to balance himself. He has just recently started to pull up on us.  He can’t do it on his own, but while we are holding him he doesn’t need that much help to pull up or stand.  He screams when I use the phone near him because he wants to be able to hold it and press all the buttons.  He is also doing well with eating small pieces of puffs and cheerios. I want to try giving him small pieces of banana and other things soon.  We are both a little nervous of his gag reflex though and have been going very slow.  He now says dada and mama or sometimes just ma. I swear he has said hi a few times.  He still has only two bottom teeth, but he has one top tooth that is very close to breaking through and the other top tooth is slowly making progress as well.

An because it’s my birthday I’m going to leave you guys with a little present.  A picture of LM in a cute outfit he wore to daycare on friday. I think he looks like such a little boy.

  • Posted in: Uncategorized

8 Comments

  1. Nic

    Happy birthday!
    Pleased all is well. X

  2. Oh goodness…he is such a cutie! Glad to hear that all is going well and hope the tubes help tremendously. Happy Birthday! 🙂

  3. He’s so adorable! Happy Birthday to you!

  4. Happy Birthday!! And LM is such an adorable little guy!! I hope the tubes help!

  5. He does look like a little boy – how cute! I really hope the tubes help. I know that must have been nerve-racking, but hopefully it will be all worth it. Happy Birthday!!!

  6. FCblacksheep

    Happy birthday! Wow, what a cutie! He’s getting so big. I’m so happy everything went well and I hope everything is better!

  7. he’s sosososo cute! and happy birthday! i’ve been gone a long time and am so happy to come back and see your great news! xo

  8. So glad to hear that everything went well with the tubes. Stressful, I’m sure, and so good to have it behind you!!

    What a cutie in that picture! He definitely is starting to lose that “baby” look!!

Leave a Reply

