Feeding question

Hey anyone still reading my blog.  I’m still around trolling twitter and reading blogs on my phone.  I haven’t posted in a while because I was feeling low about my blog and the whole drama that went down in our corner of the web.  I was feeling annoyed at one side and wondered if I belonged in the blogroll anymore.  I am not 100% sure what I decided, but I would like to see how this blog evolves and post from time to time.

On to my question – How do you know when your baby is ready to drop a feeding?  Like going from 5 bottles to four bottles and being ok with it and getting enough food.  I thought it was when you can up the amount of breast milk/formula in a feeding or you are getting more solids through out the day off setting it.  I know breast milk/formula is the most important because it has so many more good things than solids though so I’m hesitant.

Here is my scenario…LM is 8 months.  Can you believe it?  It might be a little different now since he is hopefully on the tail end of a “flu like virus” and  his eating is off.  His reflux doesn’t help either.  Anyways – He gets five bottles of 7oz of formula with rice cereal in it.  For many times this week he fought me like crazy on the first bottle.  Sometimes I wonder if he is even hungry first thing in the morning.  That’s another thing that makes it hard.  He doesn’t seem to always show hunger cues.  When he’s really hungry he will tell you, but if he’s only mildly hungry sometimes he doesn’t.  I have him on a every 4-4.5 hour eating schedule to make sure he does eat and has enough time in the day to get all his bottles in.  I mean I think he would be hungry since it is usually around 7 hours since his last bottle.  I usually wake him up at 5am, give him his prevacid, wait twenty minutes, and then feed him.  This morning he seemed to just want to sleep.  He only drank 3oz out of a 7oz bottle and fought us most of the way.  Most of this week it has been about that amount.  Is he just telling me enough mom, I don’t want this first 5:20am bottle anymore? I’m good with 4 bottles?  I know it’s sorta different cause he isn’t over his sickness, but the doctor says by the weekend he should be getting better and he ate really well his last two bottles last night (6 and 7 oz respectively).  So what do you guys think?

  • Posted in: Uncategorized

8 Comments

  1. I try and just follow Sofia’s cues when it comes to how much she eats. In other words, I don’t really feed her in the afternoon until she “asks” for it. She eats lunch around 12:30 at daycare and then eats an afternoon meal/snack of finger foods around 5 or so (before breastfeeding before bed a couple hours later). She used to want to eat around 3:30 or 4 but now she’s happy waiting a bit more. I admit that I’m not overly concerned about her eating enough because she’s always been such a great eater, so I figure if she’s not asking to eat then she’s fine…

    I would probably gradually reduce the amount LM eats and see if he can drop it to zero and still be happy… good luck!

  2. I’m still reading! But I have no clue how to answer your question – my little 4.5 month girl is still on 6-7 feedings per day… 🙂

    • Thanks for still reading even though I’m a bad commenter! I’m still reading your blog too 😀

  3. Marianne

    I’m still reading!!

    I am no expert but maybe drop that bottle on a day you’re going to be with him all day to read his cues and see if he gets hungry??

    • Thanks so much for still reading my blog 🙂 I am thinking of doing that on saturday. My only worry is that he isn’t eating much because he is still sick and eating less will not help that. I’m sure he will tell me if he gets hungry enough though.

  4. B is 7.5 months and he’s still doing 5 6-7 oz bottles everyday. I’d try and drop one with him but he’s still waking up once a night to eat so that’s where his fifth bottle comes into play.

    If he sleeps through the night without waking up I’ll think about dropping a bottle. 🙂 (He was going all night without waking up but the last three weeks he’s been up every night).

    He’s crawling now, too, though, so he gets jar food and now the little puffs and stuff which he LOVES.

  5. FCblacksheep

    So I haven’t been at this as long as some, but we’ve had some battles in the food department. My doctors have all said this, if she looks healthy, happy, we’re getting plenty of wet diapers, and she’s gaining weight, then don’t worry about how much she’s consuming in a day. So we go off what she wants and needs and don’t really have a set schedule (she eats more like 9 bottles a day; just a few ounces each time).

    Perhaps he just needs to sleep a bit longer in order to get that hunger up. I know Floyd hasn’t been taking her 7 a.m. bottle recently but she inhales one at 9 a.m. I say let him lead in the mornings (of course, if you have to give him the medicine 20 minutes before he eats that might cause trouble if he’s overly hungry; Floyd would be gnawing on her arm at that point; she has such meltdowns over food). Good luck.

    • Many people have told me it doesn’t matter as long as he’s peeing and pooping and gaining weight. I guess I get stuck on the numbers and controlling things as I work with data and that is just my personality lol. Gotta stop that.

      This morning I listened to him and have had a really good day so far. I woke up my normal time and instead of waking him up next, I got dressed and did my stuff. Then I brought the monitor downstairs made his bottles and such for the day and then he woke up on his own at 5:30. I gave him his prevacid when he woke up and then waited for him to tell me he was hungry which was about 20 minutes later. I only fed him as much as he wanted (3 oz which is the usual these days) and then left for work. He was the first baby there, I got to work early, and no stress! That was awesome. I hope I can repeat it again.

Leave a Reply

