The stomach bug hits again

We were having a normal evening on thursday when all of a sudden LM started throwing up. He threw up five times that night within an hour or so.  I called my parents because they were scheduled to come visit this past weekend and I wanted to warn them.  They decided to still come and in the end we all got sick with the bug.  Lots out of both ends from all of us. TMI I know.  I was glad they came though because it hadn’t hit them yet when we were feeling really bad and that was a big help. I guess the stomach bug is a pretty good diet because I have lost four pounds since the beginning.  LM is still throwing up as of last night (it seems to be an evening thing) and still has diarrhea.  Poor little guy.  I feel so bad that he has to go through this and that it won’t let go.  This is the second time he has had the stomach bug.  I have called out of work on friday for him and monday and tuesday for me and him.

We finally took him to the dr today. We had been communicating with the nurse line a lot, but since it’s been more than a few days we wanted to get him checked out. He’s not dehydrated, but like us he doesn’t want to eat. He normally eats 6.5 oz every four, but now he’s at 1-2oz every two hours or so.  I debated about not taking him in because the last time he had the bug they just kept saying they couldn’t do anything, to just wait it out and he will get better and just keep hydrating him.  Today the lady we saw noticed that his weight keeps going up and down and that he has been sick a lot.  Thank goodness his ears are fine.  She decided to switch him from similac for spit up (the one with rice starch) to similac alimentum.  She said to add rice starch to the bottle so it will be thicker like his current formula. She said add 1 tablespoon per I think she said 2oz of formula, I don’t remember, we have it written down though.  I think that seems like a lot of rice cereal and from reading a small amount on the net it seems like more than everyone else. We will experiment, but how much rice cereal do you put in bottles if you have a refluxer? We also have to see if a level three nipple or a y nipple will help get everything through the nipple.  We had a lot of trouble getting rice cereal through the level two nipple when we made our own pedialyte.   One of the nurses gave us the recipe and it seemed to work well when LM had a really strong gag relfex and couldn’t tolerate swallowing much.  I’ll post it if you guys are interested.

Anyways, we are on the alimentum trial for 4-6 weeks to see how LM does.  I really hope it makes a difference.  I know it won’t initially until this bug passes.  I have always wondered how he would do on a more broken down formula.  At times I had to give him gas drops to get him to eat and I think this will be a good thing for him.  So fingers crossed.

I’m doing ok. I’m feeling better, but I was yesterday and then I started feeling crappy again this morning.  I think it’s because I’m not eating enough and not eating the right things i.e protein. I had been living off of bananas, toast, and applesauce.  Hopefully one of us will be able to go to work tomorrow. One of us will probably have to stay with LM as I don’t want to send him to daycare still sick and not eating much.  I hope we are back to normal soon.

  • Posted in: Uncategorized

4 Comments

  1. We do 1 teaspoon of cereal every 2 oz of formula. A tablespoon every 2 ounces is A LOT!

  2. Jem

    Hope you all feel better, and soon!

  3. Oh this sucks that you all are sick! I hope you have a healthy household very soon!!!

Leave a Reply

