Reflux?

Ever since LM was a baby I wondered if he had a touch of reflux. It wasn’t a huge case of it as he can sleep flat and do other things babies with reflux can’t, but it was always in the back of my mind. In the past he has had some issues with formulas we have tried (powder, sensitive) etc, but we were doing good with the liquid concentrate. Recently as I wrote about a few entries back he was having some issues with moving around, pushing the bottle out of his mouth, having some gas, and not burping well. I mentioned that to the pediatrician at his two month appointment, mentioned that he might have reflux and she suggested sensitive rs – it has a rice starch added in to make it thicker and would possibly solve some issues if it was a reflux thing.

After that appointment I wasn’t completely sure he was having issues. I mean I know I was having some, but I was doubting myself and wondering if I was doing something wrong that others weren’t having issues with. I talked to my mom and since we were going down to visit her we watched LM. She thought it was a positional thing. That he needed to be held so his stomach isn’t scrunched and he is totally straight. It seemed to work some during the weekend so I thought we were onto something.

However, when we got home sunday night something new started. He would drink a little, maybe an ounce or ounce and a half and then start wriggling around like before and then start screaming. We would try to change positions and do anything. He kept screaming and was not eating his normal amount. It was horrible to go through. I didn’t know how to get him to eat the right amount, how to stop his pain, his screaming. I tried giving him breaks, burping him, gas drops. Hubs eventually got it all into him, but it took an hour. The night time feeding (4am) went well for him, but then again in the morning at 7am he was screaming again for me. Hubs took LM in the middle to see if he could help and he was still screaming. He would try to suck and drink more, but then stop and scream. When hubby left for the day I was thinking how am I going to get through this day if he screams like this every feeding and doesn’t eat enough?

I ended up calling sim.ilac’s feeding line and talked to a lady there. I confirmed that they had changed the name of their rice starch formula and it only comes in powder and ready to feed. I did some internet research and also found it could be a nipple issue. I called my pediatrician to see if she still wanted me on the rice starch one or if she thought that the plain sensitive one would work. I got an unhelpful nurse who said the dr would have to make that decision. I said fine. I knew the dr would take forever to call back because dr’s are busy. So after the 10am feeding when he was still screaming I went to the store and bought the new formula, some level 2 nipples (in case that was the issue), and came home.

I decided to try the new formula first to see if that worked. I wasn’t sure if it was because he was tired (he had barely napped all day), but at 1pm he took the new formula and barely cried. I was like thank god. Then at 4pm, he took it again though he fussed a little. Hubby fed him at 7ish and said that he was better as in not crying and eating more, but that he is still moving around, still unfocused at times, and fussy. He is not convinced it seems that we need this new formula. He says that before sunday night LM wasn’t screaming and was fine. I don’t think I could have gotten through yesterday and today if I hadn’t changed his formula. The screaming is painful for him and for me. I know that when you change formula it takes at least a few days to see any changes, but more likely a week or two. So I’m going to keep at it and see how it goes. *fingers crossed for no more screaming and refusing a bottle during feedings.* I hope that this is the answer and that hub’s sees that this formula change was a good thing.

  • Posted in: Uncategorized

4 Comments

  1. I am not sure if this is helpful, but we used to add cereal to our kids’ bottles sometimes. If they had rice in their bottles they got very constipated after a while and would scream just like this because they had trouble going to the bathroom. Oatmeal didn’t seem to cause this issue, but might need a bigger nipple opening (can’t remember if it came out of a level 2 or not).

    Hang in there, reflux is no fun, praying it’s not that!

    • Thanks for the comment! I’m not thinking it’s constipation yet because I only switched him to the new formula yesterday and he had a normal for him poop two bottles later. I did buy the level 2 nipples, but I haven’t used them yet since the formula doesn’t seem that thick. The similac feeding consultant lady said the formula itself isn’t that thick, but when it goes in the baby’s stomach it’s thicker. It doesn’t really make sense to me, but I’ll take it.

  2. No advice, as I haven’t been there yet, but I hope it gets better soon!

  3. My baby boy has severe GERD and we have been through A LOT of different scenarios. I will tell you that rice cereal thickened bottles seems to help during the night feeding, however I’m wondering if they checked him for an ear infection. I know it might sound off base but that is how mine baby acted during feedings when he had his first ear infection. When you have reflux it’s more common to have ear infections too. Keep an eye on the reflux suspicion as they have medication that can help. I know it’s not ideal but if you keep having reason to worry I’d ask your doctor about the next step.

    Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

