2 months

Yesterday Little man had his two month appointment with the pediatrician. I had been looking forward to this appointment for a while because we never had a one month appointment. We had an appointment when he was two weeks I think and then nothing until now. I wanted to make sure everything I was doing was right and that he was growing appropriately and eating enough. I went to the appointment with a piece of paper with all my concerns written down and I came away feeling pretty good. There are some things we need to work on, but it made me feel more confident as a mom, that I am doing things right. Here is how it broke down.

LM weighs 11.8 pounds. When I weighed him at home he weighed 12.3 pounds, but that was with clothing for both of us. I’m also sure the dr’s scale is more accurate. He weighed 6 pounds two ounces at birth so he is getting close to doubling his birth weight. The Dr. said they like for babies to double their birth weight by four months so he is ahead of the curve a little. She said he is in the 43rd percentile for weight which is good because when he was there at two weeks he was in the 5th percentile because he was so small and born three weeks early. People who haven’t met him before have been saying that he is bigger than they expect for two months and some of his three month outfits that he has been wearing for a while are getting short. I bet he will be higher in that percentile next time they measure him. For length he is 23 inches and his head circumference is 15 3/4. She said that he is about in the 43-50th percentile all the way across so yea for that.

I told her how much LM is eating (4oz every three hours for 6 to 7 feedings a day) and she said he was doing just fine. I told her I was worried about the formula formula (2.5 x weight)/number of feedings and she said not to worry about that. She said some people also follow three ounces for every pound he weighs. She said either way we aren’t meeting the right amount of formula, but that it doesn’t matter. She said he is growing appropriately and has gained a lot since his last appointment so she isn’t worried. She said that maybe we should try giving him five ounces, but I told her that after one bottle of that he seems to eat less and wet burps more so I stopped because I didn’t think his stomach was big enough. She said yes, it sounds like he isn’t ready yet. All of this made me feel like I was doing things right, that I really am a good mom and sorta am figuring out what I’m doing. She said that we should keep trying, to offer him five ounces every couple of weeks and see how he does. She said by four months he should be on 6oz a day. That will cut down on me having to feed him every three hours I think, which will be nice.

My main concern was about his eating. That he wriggles and squirms and needs to burp a lot during feedings. She said most babies only need two burps – once in the middle of the feeding and once at the end. She suggested we could try a new formula – similac sensitive rs that has rice cereal in it so that it’s thicker. I’m not sure if I’m going to switch him just yet. I want to watch him and see if maybe we just need to take more breaks or do something else. She also said we could change the nipple we use to a medium platex nipple or a pidgeon nipple. I will have to research how they are different. I think she said they are longer. She said if he is especially gassy and having issues on a particular feeding then we could use gas drops. I paid extra attention during his last feeding at 7am and he drank about half a bottle without needing a burp, but then as he got filled up he needed more burps and I think we averaged about three or four.

I also had some concerns with his head. He always looks to the left and because of that one side of his head is a little flat. I am pretty sure he has plagiocephaly (flat head) and she confirmed it. She gave us the phone number to talk to an orthopedist so that we can get referred for physical therapy. She said we would only need two visits, just to learn the exercises LM needs to do to strengthen his neck and make sure the flat spot goes away and then he will be fine. I’m glad we are taking care of it early so hopefully he won’t need a helmet. I had also bought him a pillow that helps him to keep his head centered and that seems to help as well.

He was also supposed to get his first bit of vaccinations in this appointment. I was nervous on how he would do and how I would do lol. I also didn’t want the vaccinations to affect him in any adverse way. I told the dr. that I didn’t want him to get all of them today – we are spacing them out a bit. So he got one that was a liquid he swallowed and then a shot that had a couple of different things in it. Then in a month we are going to go back for the other two she wanted to give him today. I wondered if I should have spaced it out even more, but so far everything is ok. How long can vaccinations have an effect? LM did pretty well. He had no issues with the drinkable one though he made a face at the end. He seemed to really like the grape Tylenol we gave him beforehand. He let out a shriek after the shot, but settled easily after. I teared up and shed a few tears, but I hid it pretty well so only hubs noticed.

So all in all it was a good visit 🙂

  • Posted in: Uncategorized

5 Comments

  1. Sounds like a great visit! You’re doing everything right in your feeding and everything! So glad to hear that your boy did so well!!!

  2. Nic

    Sounds like you are doing a great job as a mum. Pleased all as well with LM!
    x

  3. You’re starting to trust yourself with the feeding routine, and that’s awesome! I know I was so unsure of myself and I was so glad my mom was there. You (and the little man!) are doing great!

    I’m so glad the office visit went well. I’m still such a wuss, I take my mom so she can hold her while she gets the shots. I hate it!

    • I wish I could bring my mom. She lives two states away ;( She did come for the first two visits when he was first born though lol. When he got the shots I was holding his hands, but the nurse had him laid down on the table so no one was really holding him.

      I was doing great until I tried introducing five ounces again to see if he would take it. The Dr. wants him to take six ounces by four months, but he is still drinking four. I introduced five ounce bottles and he did great the first day and then spit up/threw up twice the next day and only took one five ounce bottle the whole time. So I still don’t think he’s ready. I’ll still watch for hunger signs but yea..

  4. Don’t shots just make your heart stop? It’s so hard to watch your little babe go through that moment of being poked with a needle… good for you for hanging in there!

    Glad to hear all is well! Hugs 🙂

Leave a Reply

