Better

If you haven’t read my previous entry go ahead and read it. The first part was me feeling down about myself and then a description of my day to day routine with little man. However, after I wrote the entry I started feeling better. I guess I just needed to get it out and I also appreciate everyone who left me a comment. It is nice to know that I am not alone in feeling the way I do and that it will get better as he gets older and I get used to things.

One thing that helped with feeling better is that I had a pretty good day. It started off hard because little man was fussy, but I think that was because he was working on a poop. After he pooped and then peed on his head because I took too long cleaning him up (I totally cracked up when that happened) he was less fussy. He napped well and I feel like I read his cues better which makes my day better. I guess I’m getting the hang of his cues. I also got things done today, which are small things in a normal persons life, but for me it’s pretty good. What did I do today? 1) I showered and got out of my pjs when I was home alone while he napped, 2) I wrote a bunch of thank you notes, 3) I got little man in his car seat and into the stroller, and then walked down to the mail box, got the mail, and then walked around my small neighborhood for a little bit until we both started to get sweaty. I also looked up the new mothers group the hospital where I gave birth has. I was thinking that it was heavy on the breastfeeding side of things. However, from reading the description it seems like it’s more of a new mom get together and commiserate and meet new friends sorta thing. I think I’m going to give it a shot and go to the next meeting. The group is every monday morning and the first four meetings are free. I hope that I can meet some new friends and feel better about things through this group.

So there. I had a pretty good/productive day. I also bet the fact that today is thursday and the fact that hub’s doesn’t have to work tomorrow might have had something to do with it. I’m sure the over analyzing/worrying I’m a bad mom feelings are not gone for good and they will probably come back as things happen, but for now I’m feeling better and had a good day.

  • Posted in: Uncategorized

12 Comments

  1. Well, you must be feeling better. Two posts in one day! Holy productivity, batman! Where do find the time? ;p

    Glad things are going better! 🙂

    • Nap time and quiet time! I know I’m supposed to be sleeping when he naps, but sometimes I am also able to get a few things done in the mean time. It also means I crash at night around 9:30pm lol.

  2. So glad you’re feeling better. Being a mom, but what you’re going through is totally normal. If you need to talk to someone I’m here!

    • Thanks so much for your comment! So glad to hear that everything is normal when stuff gets tough. Also glad to have your support since you are a bit ahead of me. We will have to e-mail each other 😉

  3. Pleased you had a better day in the end! 🙂

  4. Sienna

    glad you had a good day and are feeling better. I just have to keep reminding myself that each night and day *should* keep getting better and easier. Of course, there will be off days, but you know what I mean :o) I think things started to get better for me around 8 weeks, which is when I tarted taking her out to the park few days a week and now for the last week I’ve been going once, if not twice a day. There are still days when I think I’m a lousy mom bc I have no energy and should be stimulating her more with activities and such, but I’m human and get tired and cranky!

    • Wow, you take her to the park twice a day? That is awesome. What do you do when you get there? Just walk around? There is a big park near my house I may check out with him once it gets a little cooler. I feel the same way about feeling like I should be stimulating him more sometimes, but your right we are allowed to get tired and cranky. We are doing our best.

  5. Nic

    I am pleased you had a better day. My friend goes to a lot of mother baby groups, has made loads of friends and it gets her out of the house and she seems very happy with the new found friends. I think it’s a great idea.

    • Thanks! I am hoping I enjoy the class and meet some cool people! Glad to hear your friend enjoyed her classes!

  6. Kelly

    I could have written both these myself!
    i never expected to feel so disconnected from friends/DH and to be afraid to leave the house!

    • So glad to hear I’m not the only one on both accounts. Here’s to hoping it gets better soon for both of us!

  7. So glad to hear you’re feeling better! And I think it’s a great idea to go to a mom’s group – will be great to meet other new moms and commiserate!

Leave a Reply

