1 week

I have been a mom of a newborn for a little over a week.  Wow.  I still can’t believe it sometimes.  I will go into his room to feed him after sleeping for a bit and look at him and I still can’t believe he’s mine and that he’s real.  I know I am way behind in reading blogs and commenting and I apologize for that.  I have been learning to deal with little sleep.  However, with today’s great pediatrician appointment (which I will mention below) hopefully I will be back reading/commenting soon.   I am going to make the rest of this entry bullets so that I can update on lots of stuff.

  • We went to the pediatrician’s office for the second time today.  I really like her.  Today little man has gotten back to his birth weight and then passed it by two ounces.  However, it might only be one ounce.  When we got him back to the exam room he pooped.  We got him all cleaned up before the pediatrician arrived and I was very proud of myself.  However, when the pediatrician was examining him she noticed he had poop all the way up his leg so I guess he wasn’t finished going yet lol.
  • We have been getting up every three hours during the day and during the night to feed him.  A lot of the time he is sleeping and we have to wake him up.  Today the pediatrician said that we could just let him sleep through the night and only feed him when he cries and is hungry.  We don’t have to get up every three hours!!! I am so thrilled by this.  I am sure he will wake us up still in the middle of the night, but the chance to get more sleep is a great thought and I’m looking forward to trying it out tonight.
  • Breastfeeding….Yea…I continued to pump.  Our cycle was every three hours wake him up, change his diaper, feed him, and I would pump.  I was trying to put him to my breast, but my supply was really low and he was tired/hungry and didn’t want to deal with that.  So I pumped.  The whole thing took forever and I did not enjoy it.  I would dread pumping.  I managed to pump about 10-20ml on average and once on a really good day one ounce, but that was it.  Early on he was eating 50-60ml a bottle of formula and now he has moved on to 70-90ml which makes what I could get a drop in the bucket.  I researched a lot of things that are supposed to increase your supply, but I just can’t see myself taking ten pills a day or drinking 5 cups of weird tea a day. I called the breastfeeding support line at my hospital and told her my story.  She said that it’s probably the pcos causing the issues.  As a lot of you know 1/3 to 2/3 of women with pcos have supply issues.  She said I could increase my pumping to every 2-3 hours a day, but that it’s not a guarantee it would work.  She said if it wasn’t too overwhelming I should try that for a week and then see what the result was.  She said if I didn’t notice a difference in a week then it probably wasn’t in the cards for me to breastfeed.  I thought about it and really could not see myself pumping every day every two hours.  I am already really disliking the pump, I don’t get much milk from doing it, and it’s no guarantee that it would work.  So I made the decision to stop pumping.  I know that this is the right decision for our family, but I still can’t help but feel annoyed that I wasn’t able to and mad at my body.  I know that doing it for one week isn’t trying for very long and I hope I don’t get grief from that, but I just couldn’t justify doing it every two hours for something that probably won’t work out in the end anyways and was causing me stress.  Hopefully I will feel better about that decision soon.
  • In the hospital they told me that since I had a c-section I was not able to carry anything more heavy than little man in his car seat and I could only go up and down the stairs one time a day, and couldn’t drive for two weeks.  So I could come down the stairs in the morning and then go upstairs sometime in the evening.  I’ve been dealing with it and it’s been really helpful to have my mom in town.  However, when I went to my ob appointment this monday they told me that I couldn’t do all that for six weeks!  I was like what?  I was told in the hospital I only had to wait two weeks.  They stressed it was major abdominal surgery and that it was six weeks instead of two. I researched on the internet and it seems like that depends on each doctor and possibly each person and what sort of incision they got.  I called the next day to talk to someone else and to confirm that it was really six weeks and not two and they said yes, it’s six weeks.  So that should be interesting.  I can drive after two weeks though, but I have to be able to slam on the breaks and not hurt before I can do it.
  • My mom has been here since I went into labor and has been very helpful. She has been cleaning, helping me with daily things, and cooking up a storm.  She has been making us dinner every night, stocking our freezer, and teaching me about how to care for little man.  I don’t know what I would have done with out her.  She goes home this friday though.  I think we are ready and capable with caring for little man, but I will miss her help.  Thankfully hubby will be able to take more time off to be with me and help since I’m only able to go up and down the stairs once.  I do cheat occasionally, but not much.  Hubby has been working a tiny bit while my mom is here so that he can get caught up on things and so he has more time off when my mom is gone.
  • I’ve been getting on the scale a few times in the past week and I am down about 17 pounds.  I am thrilled by this.  I feel like it’s kinda cheating since most of this weight loss is probably water weight, but it counts 😉  My feet are still swollen, but it’s going down a lot.  I now only have about 15 pounds to go for me to reach my original weight my RE has on record at the beginning of this cycle. So yea for that.
  • Posted in: Uncategorized

15 Comments

  1. It sounds like you are adjusting nicely to being a new mom! That’s great news about being able to let your little one sleep at night and not have to wake him for feedings. I had been told that 6 weeks was the recovery time and time that you could not do much post c-section so I guess it does depend on the doctor. It sounds like your mom has been a great help!

    • Glad to hear that someone else was told six weeks as well. Thanks. So far there hasn’t been much difference between letting him sleep when he wants lol. It’s still about every three hours.

  2. Nic

    Please you are both doing well! Must be frustrating not to be able to do much at the moment. Great you have lost loads of weight already!!

  3. Kelly

    Things sound like they’re going well! That’s great!

    The breastfeeding thing…I hear ya! I was about to write a post myself. I’m still pumping but I only get about two bottles a day. I also agree…not sure if I really want to take weird pills to increase supply.

    • I would like to read your entry if you do write about breastfeeding. It’s hard stuff. That is awesome that you can get two bottles a day. I am not sure I would be able to make one. Maybe if I collected all day long.

  4. I’m glad to read an update and that things seem to going well (other than having to wait the additional weeks for healing). I hope the docs reduce the sentence and you’re able to be fully mobile soon!

    I’m sorry I can’t provide any info on the breastfeeding, but I want to say that you’re doing so well by even just hanging in there.

  5. Oh I hope my first week with baby is as drama free as yours! It sounds like you are doing everything right…your decision to stop pumping/BFing sounds perfectly reasonable.

    • LOL not completely drama free. Having a newborn is HARD. With little sleep, a baby crying, and wanting to do everything right comes a few meltdowns for mom. Luckily my mom has been here to help with that, but she goes home tomorrow. Hopefully all will go well after that.

  6. So glad to hear your first week has gone so well! Yay for Mom being there to help!!! That sucks that breastfeeding didn’t go well, but I think you made a good effort, and you have other things to worry about now! So I completely support your decision! So glad to hear he’s doing so well!

    • Thanks so much for your support. I really appreciate it. Yep, lots of other things to concentrate on. If I had to pump as well every two hours that would be craaazy.

  7. I am glad that your mom is there to help y’all out! I have also heard that 6 weeks is the time they generally give you for recovery after a c-section. But, I am sure the stairs thing is really hard! I am surprised you can lift the baby in his seat b/c those things are heavy! Take care of yourself! I am proud of you for your weight loss! Way to go!

  8. I hear ya on the breastfeeding! My supply has not been great by any means and too am frustrated yet I am not able to stop pumping. I only pump 3 times a day just because I have two others kiddos to take care of and it’s so hard to do more than that. I tried the tea, it was all I could do to get it down then I read where you have to drink 4+ cups a day- that was so not happening-LOL! So now I am trying herbals, we will see how that goes.
    I’m still recovering from my c-section too, I avoided the stairs as much as possible at first but then my husband had to go out of town for work and I was given no choice. I have avoided the weight restriction though. Good Luck, thinking about you!

  9. FCblacksheep

    I was just talking about this other day — it makes me so upset how forceful everyone is with breastfeeding. It’s not your fault in any way and there’s no reason you should torture yourself. Your baby boy will appreciate a happy, healthy mom who is there to spend time with him more than breast milk. That I’m sure of. I think you’re making the right decision. Six weeks seems like a long time but that’s probably to make sure you’re fully recovered and can’t cause any damage that will set you back.

    You’re a mom!!!! That’s so amazing and I’m so, so, so happy for you. I keep thinking back to the beginning of your pregnancy when that nurse told you they never saw a case like yours work out. How wrong she was.

    • You are right and I just need to keep reminding myself of that. He needs me more than a stressed out mom who hates pumping and doesn’t produce much. I did return the pump to the hospital (we were renting) and I don’t miss it.

      I called back and they said that it was six weeks because it’s major abdominal surgery. However, I am going up and down the stairs a little more than once a day, but I am taking it easy.

      I actually hadn’t thought about what that nurse said in a while. I can’t believe that she said it wouldn’t work out and yet here I am with a newborn. Craziness. Thanks for all your support, I really appreciate it. I can’t wait till your little Brew is here as well 😉

  10. Breastfeeding (or not) is such an emotional issue! It’s so hard, no matter what you do, it never feels 100% like the right decision. You’re doing what’s best for you and Little Man, and I hope you can feel peace about that now and just enjoy your sweet baby!

Leave a Reply

