Run around

Today is the first week day that I’m not at work.  I’m supposed to be resting a lot, but I have loose ends everywhere and that annoys me.  I am the type person who hates having things up in the air and not confirmed.   I keep trying to look up stuff and fix it which means I keep checking and not resting.  What am I trying to work out? 1) I had someone at my ob’s office call in some cream for me so I feel better down there.  However, I told her to call it into a place that isn ‘t in the shopping center I told her. That was my fault, but now I’m waiting for a call back to see if she called it in somewhere or if she got my message.  2) I have talked to hr twice and my boss once on the phone and multiple times on e-mail.  We are trying to set it up so I am 100% perfect in hr before I start working from home.  My boss is totally awesome.  However, every time I talk to someone in hr I get a different story about what we have to do and it’s pissing me off.  So far I know how much total time I get off, but I’m trying to figure out how to work my hours from now till I have little man.

What else…

I did a 24 hour urine collection on sunday.  That was interesting.  I was nervous at first, but it went ok.  Basically you get a jug with some sort of preservatives in it.  You have to throw away your first pee of the day and then collect the rest of your pee for 24  hours after you threw out your first pee.  You collect it by peeing in a hat thing you put in the toilet and then pouring it into the jug.  Oh and the best part? It has to be refrigerated.  So I spent all day carting my jug of pee from the fridge to the bathroom.  The sloshing noise grossed me out.  I made up a song that amused me though.  I changed the words to there is a hole in my bucket to go “There is pee in my bucket dear liza dear liza.”  Anyways, the point of the test is to see how much protein is in your pee.  When I go to the ob they test me each time, but it’s only a small sample.  I believe getting a full 24 hour sample is more reliable and can tell you more about different things.  So hopefully I did ok with the test and they don’t find much protein in it.  I was nervous that I didn’t go enough because at first I was worried that I wouldn’t have enough room in one bottle, but towards the end I realized that I wasn’t even going to fill one up.  I was very impressed with myself when I went at 1am and got 500 units more.  Yes, I know that is tmi and weird, but it made my night. I am hoping to hear the results of that test in a day or so.  *fingers crossed*

Ok time to check my work e-mail one more time and then I’ll attempt to put my feet up some and just let everything go for now.

8 Comments

  1. I had to do the 24 hour collection too. It was particularly challenging because, due to an impending vacation, I had to do it while at work. At least part of it.

    Hope all gets sorted out quickly with hr and that your test results come back well within allowable limits.

    • Wow that would stink having to do some of it at work. Thanks for the well wishes 😉

  2. FCblacksheep

    I know it probably sucks, but yeah i giggled a little at you carting around a jug of refrigerated pee. Really, really hope it all comes up clear and that you get everything sorted with work. But for goodness sake lady…get off the computer and get those feet up!! I know it’s hard but it’ll all work out. I promise. Now relax. Try watching some really bad TV. That’ll take your mind off it all.

    • I’m bad with the computer, I’m addicted. I spend way too much time on it. I’m trying my best to keep my feet up and watch crap on tv. I even watched some of Jerry Springer the other day.

  3. Oh man, that sucks on the pee collection. Sorry!!!

    I’m hoping that by now everything has been sorted out with HR. REAAAAAALLLY hope you could figure out some sort of work from home thing so that your maternity leave doesn’t start now. Thinking of you, LFL!! xoxo

  4. Collecting your pee for 24 hours sounds gross! Glad that’s over! And try to relax, get your feet up!!!

  5. Ugh! Wow…and I thought freezing blood was bad. I’m not sure which is worse. Pee in the fridge or blood in the freezer. 🙂

    I hope you get the HR stuff figured out. Any HR stuff is always a pain in the ass.

  6. Kelly

    Gosh how I hated that jug!! I hope you get good results, soon! Sorry about the HR stuff and the loose ends but I suspect after the kinks are worked out, it will be nice to relax! 🙂

Leave a Reply

