High bp

It all started with my feet.  I have had swollen feet for a while as you know.  They used to stop swelling after I lied down for a bit, but not so much anymore.  I lost my ankles.  I also have always had a little bit of high blood pressure during pregnancy.  The highest was around 120 though.  I had a nurse I work with on wednesday take my bp and it was 180/82.  Not good, but she said that since I had an appointment Friday (today) I could wait and just go in at my normal appointment.

I went in today and my blood pressure was 150/90 I think.  Then they sprung it on me that I would need a gbs swab when I specifically asked last time if I would have anything in the next visit and the lady I don’t like so much had said no.  Of course it went up to 160/100.  My nurse said I just won myself a trip to ob triage.  She said they would monitor me there and if all was well I would go home and not work or I would get induced today.  I did ok with the gbs swab.  She asked if I wanted to try doing the cervical check and I was like we can try even though I wasn’t in the best of moods because I was nervous about my bp, about going to triage, about what was going to happen.  She tried it and I didn’t do so well.  She barely got in when I was uncomfortable.  I’m not sure if she used lubricant or not, but ugh.  She wrote in my chart that I don’t do well with them, but she said that is ok with skipping them until my due date.  The fact that I had issues with it makes me nervous that I will suck at labor.  However, maybe if I had been more lubricated/prepared/not nervous I would have done better?  Maybe it’s easier with things coming out than going in? I dunno.  One thing I later thought about was when she was first down there she said I was raw and irritated looking.  After doing some research I think it has something to do with me constantly wearing pads because of the uri.ne leakage.  If I am raw and red down there I’m sure I am irritated down there which makes anything uncomfortable.  So maybe if I can clear it up, things will feel better down there and I’ll do better with the cervical exam? Worth a shot.  She said I had +1 protein in my urine (which I believe is the smallest amount you can have) so I have to pee in a jug for 24 hours and I am now officially not allowed to work anymore.  I’m not on strict bedrest, but I am not allowed to go out everywhere and I have to limit what I do to non strenuous things.

So off to ob triage we went.  Very glad hubby was there.  Got my blood pressure taken, got labs, peed in a cup again, and then got hooked up with a blood pressure monitor, a monitor for the baby’s heart, and a contraction monitor.  After lying there for a while I got sleepy since I had woken up at 4am and couldn’t get back to sleep so I started drifting a little.  That helped my bp to go down and I was finally released after two hours.  My ob also said not to work anymore since it was highest at work, lower at ob’s office, and lowest when I was relaxing lying in ob triage.  I also had a few contractions which I didn’t really feel and they were not close together at all.

I’m not sure how I feel about not working the rest of this pregnancy.  I mean it’s nice to relax. I was getting tired by just walking around where I work and not being able to put my feet up properly.  However, now I have to call hr and see if I can get more time off after the baby is born and I’m not sure they are going to give it to me.  I’m also not sure how I’m going to amuse myself for three and some weeks.  My mom suggested maybe working from home a couple hours a day, but I’m not sure.  Guess we will see how it all shakes out.

8 Comments

  1. Too bad about your day. I would have been upset too if they had just sprung that test on me. I had one manual cervix check when I was 26 weeks and it wasn’t bad at all but the doctor was very nice and I had come from ultrasound so I already had the lube in me. Being off work can be tough if you are used to being busy and out and about but if it will help keep you pregnant longer than just try to hang in there. The end is in sight.

  2. Sorry to hear that your bp has increased. I hope you are able to work the time off issues out with HR and I hope they are compasssionate. It is a bummer to have the unexpected happen- may your 24 hours of peeing in a jug go by quickly- and make sure to label the jug, so your hubby does not have any surprises 🙂 Hopefully the decrease in activity and the rest will help you to hold your little one in just a little bit longer- best of luck!

  3. FCblacksheep

    Oh my goodness. What a roller coaster ride of a post. I read induced and I was like “what the???” I’m glad your blood pressure went down. Being out of work and not having that time when the baby is born is certainly a drag but you’ll probably be a lot more comfortable and relaxed and it’s best for you both. Hopefully you can work something out with HR.

    And going out easier than coming in…too cute. I think so. Besides when that baby decides to come out, he’s going to come out so there’s really nothing to do but go with it. Meanwhile, being poked and prodded by a stranger is just awkward and uncomfortable. Keep us posted. Wishing you and baby the best!

    • Yea it was a fun day. I think your right about being more relaxed and comfortable.

      One thing I forgot to mention in the post – when the nurse was checking me and about to do my gbs swab she noticed an said that I was really raw an red down there. By doing research I think it was caused by the pads I’ve been wearing. Also I bet it has something to do with my the cervical exam hurt a lot.

  4. So sorry to hear about your high bp. Hopefully the rest and no working will help to bring it down so you can get to 40 weeks+ (although I AM super excited to see pics of your little guy I can wait a few more weeks of baking =)). Hang in there, LFL, you’re so close now!!

  5. Oh man, the stress of high BP just makes it higher, I think!!! I had elevated BP starting at 31 weeks and they called it “pregnancy induced” since it was never accompianed by protein in my urine. Hopefully be out of work will be fun-ish/go sorta fast….if you’re not on straight bedrest and just aren’t allowed to commute to work? Nest away!!! 🙂

  6. Oh my gosh! What a day! I’m so glad you and the baby are home safe and sound now. Keep relaxing and baking that baby!
    We were admitted to L&D when I had contractions and fluid leakage. It turned out it wasn’t labor, so I thought they would send me home. But then I ended up being induced when my BP wouldn’t go down. I’m so glad they were keeping a close eye on it!

  7. Oh this sucks that you have high BP! Try to enjoy the time at home, and relax as much as possible. Hang in there!!! Very interested to hear what your HR says about time off…

Leave a Reply

