Happy 4th

I want to wish everyone  a happy 4th of july! I hope you all have a great weekend and some time off where you can relax and do something fun whatever that may be.

I’m still around, though I know I’m a bad blogger/commenter.  I did spend some time today going through my google reader and got it down from almost 400 to 100. Yea for that. My to do list of things I wanted to get done this weekend is lagging a little though.  I have managed to get one or two things done, but then I keep coming up with other things that should of been on the list or I just have wanted to do for a while and I do those things instead of the things on the list.  Hubs of course is rocking his list and is almost done.  Makes me feel like a slacker, but yea I am almost at the start of the ninth month of pregnancy (holy crap!) and I get distracted and tired easy.

What is up with me?  Well I had my last baby shower at my parents this past weekend and it was really fun. Got to see lots of family, ate a lot, and got presents.  Then when we got home hub’s went out of town for three days.  That wasn’t fun.  I don’t like it when he goes out of town.  Thankfully he already said no to his next trip in three weeks lol.  I’ve still been working though I don’t really fit into many shoes anymore.  I have my croc’s but my feet are still mega swelling and swelling earlier in the day so my smaller pair of crocks don’t fit and my bigger ones rub some on the swelling.  I’ve been wearing flip flops to work recently.  I bought some Ol.d Na.vy flip flops just to see what the  big commotion was, but they aren’t that comfy.  I refuse to buy anymore shoes so I’ll just grin and bear it with my other set of flip flops.

I can’t believe that its July.  It is insane.  I am due the very first week of august, but my mother is convinced that I’m going to give birth the last week in July meaning this month.  Crazy.  I’m starting to get anxious. I hope I will be a good mom, learn what to do, and do ok with the sleep deprivation.

Right now I’m all about tieing up lose ends.  I put everything away I could in the babies room.  I have an infant car seat installed in my car (!)  Yesterday I went shopping for everything that I could think of that he would need if he came early that I didn’t get at my showers. I also picked up some other things though *grin* While at the store I found out that my bedding set is being discontinued so I bought up everything I could since it was all discounted.  Yea for that.  The huge bedding set normally costs about $120 and I snagged it for a little under $60.  Made me feel proud 😉

My next appointment is this coming friday and then after that I go weekly.  Wow.  She said my first weekly appointment would be my first internal cervical check. I am kinda nervous about this, but I keep telling myself there is no speculum involved, only fingers and if I could do an IUI and a sono I can do this.  I am also interested to see if I am dilated any, which I doubt I am, but who knows.  I’m doing pretty well.  It’s been nothing to complain about so far except for the swelling of my feet, and fingers, the getting tired easily, and just having more of a hard time getting around.  I try not to complain too much though because I know how lucky I am to be where I am.  I have my favorite nurse on friday and I’m wondering how the whole blood pressure thing is going to go.  I feel like this nurse is more thorough and I’m wondering if she will do anything if my blood pressure is high again along with my swelling.  I have tried to cut out a lot the salt I eat, but I have also been eating really bad since my baby shower and gained a bit too much last week.  Hopefully that appointment will go well.  I know little man is ok since he has been kicking up a storm.  I thought they were supposed to slow down at this point? Not that I’m complaining.

Ok, I’ve rambled on enough. I hope everyone has a great holiday weekend!

19 Comments

  1. You will be a great mom! I’m so excited that you’re almost there. The sleep deprivation is hard, buy if you have help you can make it. And Geekette never slowed down. She was very active up until the day she was born. Now that she’s here though she hasn’t been nearly so active. But it’s only been a week so I guess we’ll see. Good luck at your appointment! Did I mention how excited I am for you? 🙂

    • My mom will be here at least the first two weeks so I know that will help. Thanks for the confidence boost 😉 Haha, thanks for the excitement!

  2. Don’t sweat the cervical check – I had my first at 26 weeks and it was easier than a pap (and i was 1cm dilated at the time). Sorry to hear that you’re having such a rough time with the swelling. Happy 4th of July!

    • That’s great to hear! I conquered the pap (even though I don’t like it) and if I can do that, and the checks are easier, I will be good. Just gotta keep telling myself that 😉

  3. Good luck at your next appointment! Have you been reading any parenting books or anything like that? I know that some people do and some don’t. I am sure you will do great and that having your mom will help out a lot!

    • I haven’t read any parenting books although we just bought one – The Happiest Baby on the Block that was recommended to us by friends and by the hospital we will be delivering at. I did take a bunch of parenting classes from labor to breastfeeding to newborn care so hopefully that will help too.

  4. Love hearing the updates. I just started getting serious about making my to-do lists (and Honey do lists for DH). Time feels like it is going to start to fly!

    • I love lists. They make me feel organized. Well unless I don’t get stuff done off them. Time is flying 😉

  5. Oh my gosh, you’re getting so close now! The last month is so hard. I barely slept, it was so hard to get comfortable in bed and so hard to walk when I was up. But any day little boy will be here! I hope your 4th was great!

    • I’m actually doing ok on sleep. I don’t want to jinx myself though. I tend to go to sleep early and wake up one or two times to go pee in the middle of the night. My problem is going back to sleep after I am done peeing. I can’t believe how close we are!

  6. Happy 4th! You’re getting so close!

  7. Nic

    I cant believe how close you are!!
    You sound like you are quite organised and nearly ready!
    You will be a great mum, do not worry about that!
    x

    • I try to be organized, it makes me feel better to know most stuff is done. I am a planner lol 😉 Thanks for your vote of confidence 🙂

  8. yeah, don’t stress about the internal. just breathe and relax your muscles. it won’t hurt. you’re almost there!!!

  9. FCblacksheep

    Happy 4th! Oh my goodness you are getting so close. Yes, you will be an excellent mom and you will rock the cervical check just like you rocked everything else. It all sounds good. Ooooh…I will be on vacation the last week of July and if you recall, someone always gets pregnant when I’m coming home from vacation. Maybe this time it’ll be birth instead!

    • LOL I don’t remember someone always getting pregnant when your coming home, but a July birth is fine with me. I hope your going somewhere nice!

  10. Oh you’re getting so close! How exciting!!! I hope this last month goes by very quickly for you!!!

  11. AP

    Ooh, it’s so soon!! I’m so excited for you – the sooner you go, the sooner the swelling gets better! (I think…I really am not the expert there but let’s just hope it works that way!)

Leave a Reply

