I came, I saw, I conquered

I just got home from my three hour glucose test and it is DONE DONE DONE!!!!! WOOT!!!  I can’t tell you what a weight that is off of my shoulders.  So glad it’s done.

Last night for dinner we had chicken tender salad.  Basically just lettuce, crutons, and some dinosaur shaped chicken tenders.  Then right before 8pm I ate some strawberries and a 100 calorie pack of chocolate covered pretzels.  Starting around bed time I started to feel crappy so I went upstairs and made myself go to bed.  I woke up at about midnight and still felt gross, actually a bit worse.  I felt nauseous with my stomach really gurgling.  I was like crap, I have barely fasted and I’m already having major stomach issues. What is going on and will I have to cancel the test?  I got up to go to the bathroom and tmi I know, but poo.ped everything out.  I’m thinking it was an ibs flair.  I think it’s cause I had salad for dinner wednesday and thursday night.   I was like crap, not what I need the night before my glucose test.  I decided to take an imodium to shut my system down in hopes that would make things better.  I was nervous to do so because I never got clear directions on what time I had to fast and for how long.  I decided some imodium and a couple sips of water at midnight wouldn’t hurt things too much.  While waiting for it to kick in I searched the net to see if I could find any information on interactions with the test.  I did learn that imodium has a little bit of glucose in it, but I don’t think it’s that much – it’s an inactive ingredient.  So after a while I went up to bed and managed to fall asleep.

When I woke up my stomach felt a lot better. but still not perfect.  I was nervous how my stomach would take the glucose since on a perfect stomach it isn’t always the best.  I tried not to focus on too much in the morning – mind over matter – so that I wouldn’t focus on not being able to eat too much.

We drove to the ob’s office, but had to wait 10min or so for the lab person to get there.  She gave me a choice of flavor, but I kept with orange since I have had experience with that flavor.  She gave me the bottle and it seemed a lot bigger and that freaked me out a bit.  I started drinking and kept going.  I’m a sipper though not a chugger so it always takes me a bit longer to get it all down.  Anyone know if it makes a difference to the results if you take longer than 5 minutes, but less than 10 to drink the stuff? I put my classical music on while I was drinking it and for about the first hour.  I figured if I was going to get sick or feel gross it would be then and the music would help distract me and relax me.  In the end I never felt like I was going to throw up.  I wonder if taking the imodium helped my stomach stay calm and not feel gross while I had to do the test.  I mean drinking it was not pleasant, especially when she wanted me to hurry up and finish it, but I did it, and towards the end even got up and walked around a little.  In addition the lab lady used butterfly needles this time which made it better

I did it!!!  I am done with all the stupid glucose tests and I was able to eat. I was so happy when it was over and I could eat.  We went to Mc.Donal.ds and I got a quarter pounder with fries and a bottle of water.  I think I’m going to take a nap next.  Did I mention I’m done? woot woot!  I can call in tuesday afternoon to get the results.  I really hope I don’t have gd.  I would be ok with changing my diet a little, though I think I eat pretty good, except for a little bit too many carbs.  *fingers crossed for good results*

9 Comments

  1. Wonderful news! Way to go and get it done!!! Good luck on the results – hoping you pass!

  2. YAY!!! Congrats on being finished with that nasty test!!

  3. Good for you! So when do you get the results?

  4. Sadly, I actually enjoy the taste of that orange stuff. To me it just tasted like Sunkist pop! If only they had a Mountain Dew flavor…….

    Here’s to NO GD!

  5. Yay! You made it through! Good job! 🙂 Now relax and enjoy your time with hubs!

  6. Yay! You did it and good luck for good results!

  7. FCblacksheep

    Woo hoo! I knew you’d get through it like a champ. Way to go.

    The only time I took it was about 4 years ago and at the time the nurse told me I needed to drink the stuff within a certain time period. I think it was 10 minutes but can’t remember too clearly. That doesn’t sound too long though so I’m sure you’re fine.

  8. I am so hoping you get good news this afternoon!!

Leave a Reply

