Baby shower

On friday the hubs and I drove up with his parents and his brother for my baby shower. I did great with the going up and down. I normally have the hubby drive the whole way (6 hours or so) and I have to take a motion sickness med. This time I drove half the way up and almost half way going home and didn’t have to take any motion sickness meds! That was awesome. I think driving helped with that and since I have been pregnant my stomach has been a lot better. The whole time I could not believe that I was going to have a baby shower. I was actually kinda nervous. I’m not used to being the center of attention and I was nervous that I was going to end up in tears for a lot of it because I’m always an emotional person and being hormonal and doing something I never thought I would get to do will bring it on even more.

The shower itself was satudray afternoon. It was with hubby’s family, but it was nice in that they invited a few of my family members that live nearby. One of them has a little girl who I had never met before because before I was limiting myself because she was the first grandchild in the family. She was cute and shy. I tried to give them attention just as much as hubby’s family since they didn’t really know anyone. I think I did a good job. Little man got tons of presents. Right now they are in the middle of his room. I only cried once and I think after that I was ok. I managed to get it out of my system because before I was just holding them back lol. They made hubby open a goofy present about opening diapers which was a tool belt with all sorts of things he will need to do it like tongs, a gas mask, rubber gloves etc lol. After all of the gift opening we had a cook out with burgers and hot dogs and everyone brough their favorite salad so we had much yumminess to eat. I ate too much. Everyone kept saying that I looked really good so yea for working hard on not gaining too much weight. However, my feet swelled a lot. I think it was beacuse I was in the car a lot and not putting my feet up. I have been having major swelling issues with my feet. Before we left we went to visit hub’s grandfather who is in a residential facility and he was doing really well. He kept calling my mommy and rubbed my tummy. I’m glad he is doing ok.

Now that we are home I have to concentrate on eating good since my one hour gestational diabetes test is this friday. It doesn’t help that they sent us home with some cake from the baby shower. I bought healthy dinners for the week with less carbs than usual so hopefully I will do ok *fingers crossed* I got a phone call that our crib, mattress, and one piece of furniture is in. However, we are waiting for all of the furniture to get in so we can set up a delivery. They think they should all be in by the end of the week. We had an idea of how we were going to set everything up but with hubby’s suggestions and the discovery of the heating vent where we wanted to put the crib we may have to rearrange things in our head some. Tomorrow is my eye appointment and wednesday is our next class (hmm I need to write an entry about the first one).

  • Posted in: Uncategorized

4 Comments

  1. Sounds like everything is going great! So pleased for you 🙂
    Good luck with the GTT on Friday xx

  2. So glad you had a nice shower! Sounds like a lovely trip. Good luck with the GD test – I hope you pass!

  3. So happy you enjoyed your shower! What an exciting time in your life this must be! 🙂 Also, I wanted to let you know that I nominated you for a blogger award. I’ve been reading your blog for a few months now and your story gives those of us still waiting for our BFP so much hope. Swing by my blog to pick up your award when you get the chance, and good luck with your gestational diabetes test!

  4. So happy for you that you had a wonderful shower to celebrate! You most definetly deserve the love and attention but I know what you mean about not liking to be the ‘center of attention’ I am uncomfortable with that as well. But yay for all the gifts for your little one. Good luck with your sugar test.

Leave a Reply

