Movement

This weekend my parents came down to celebrate my birthday. That and my mom has been making sure that we see each other at least once a month during this pregnancy since this is an exciting time. I wrote that we ordered all our baby furniture in the last entry. I still can’t believe I actually did that. I am still waiting for the call that the stuff is in, but I’m sure that will probably be at least another week.

When my parents come down my mom and I go off and do stuff (go out to eat, shopping, errands, work on projects) while my dad relaxes, goes on the internet, and watches stocks/fox news on our tv. My mother is more of a lets get stuff done, energetic person while I am more of a home body, take it slow type person. If I spend the night at home watching tv on the couch with the hubby that is fine. While my mom was here we went to two different stores, ordered all the baby furniture, cleaned out the closet in the babies room, filled a bag of clothes to donate, went out to eat, and did other stuff so I was moving/busy a lot more than usual. While my mom was here I did not feel little man as much. I figured he would move at night and he didn’t that much. I starrted getting nervy on saturday and talked to my mom about it who used to be a pediatric nurse. She brought her stethascope for me to use and we tried using it to see if we could hear the heartbeat that way. She found it and could hear the placenta, but i found it hard because I guess a stethascope isn’t the best thing to use right now and it’s really quiet. You have to really listen. That made me feel better, but I still had thoughts in the back of my head that he wasn’t moving enough and something was wrong. My mom kept telling me that everything is fine and that he is probably going through a growth spurt and I should call the doc on monday if I am still worried.

They left sunday and then sunday night and I downloaded an app on my ipod touch to do kick counts. He passed of course. You are supposed to feel ten movements in one hour and I had ten in thirty minutes. Over achiever 🙂 Then when I got back to work on monday he was moving like crazy. I bet a lot of me not feeling him was because I was a lot more active and moving. I hear moving makes them sleepy and you are concentrating on other things so you don’t feel movment as much. It also made me wonder if he is more of a slow going home body like me who likes the slower life. Who knows. I’m just glad he is ok. Right now he feels like a wiggle worm wiggling around my stomach.

My mothers day was nice, very low key. I got a card for my mom which she really liked. I like it when I can get her to tear up 🙂 My dad and hubby went to the grocery store and both got us some roses and a nice card. I thought that was sweet. I didn’t want too much beacuse I was still really nervous about little man and his movememt and I didn’t want to celebrate mother’s day too much and then have something go wrong. So simple and low key was nice.

What else? Our new carpet in the baby’s room was put in yesterday. It used to be this awful pepto bismoul pink that the old owners had put in. Fixing this carpet took the last of the pink out of the room which is pretty cool. The color is darker than we were expecting, but I think it’s hard to tell exactly how it’s going to look from a small square of fabric in a weirdly lighted store. It’s a honey brown and it looks pretty. I haven’t gotten to squish my toes in it yet because I am waiting for things to air out a bit. I hope all the cherry wood we picked out for furniture looks ok in there with the pale yellow walls and the carpet. I may bring one of our side tables up just to see how it would look.

I also have my first child birth class tomorrow night. Well it’s not technically child birthing – it’s something on parenting. I forgot what the synopsis of the class actually is, but I can’t believe it’s tomorrow. I remember signing up in the dead of winter when it was icey and snowing out. Hopefully it will be helpful and I will be able to last the whole class with out crashing. I will be working a full day and then class is 7-9pm. At least I work in the same area as the class.

One last piece of exciting news – on thursday I will be officially in the third trimester – 28 weeks. Craziness. I never thought I would ever get pregnant, make it through the first trimester, let alone get to the third trimester. I can’t believe it. Then this friday we drive down to see hub’s extended family for my first baby shower. Me, having a baby shower? Who knew I would get to do this. I really hope that all of you get your bfp’s soon so that all of you can experience all of this as well. I am thinking of all of you!

  • Posted in: Uncategorized

6 Comments

  1. congrats on 28 weeks tomorrow! i feel the same way- i thought i would never be pregnant and here i am at 19 weeks. i am just now starting to feel the baby squirming around, and i definitely feel the movement less when i am busy….this past weekend i actually got worried because i didn’t feel “him” as much, but i think it was just because we were very busy. i feel the squirming back to normal now!! 🙂 praying things keep going great for you!

  2. Brittany

    Sounds like you’ve been busy! I’m so happy you’re at this point! Good luck with your class!

  3. Wow- 28 weeks! That is awesome! Sounds like your mom keeps you busy! Can’t wait to see pics of the nursey all set up 🙂 Glad your first mothers day was special!

  4. 28 weeks – fabulous!!! How very exciting! And the movement sounds great – how comforting to feel the little guy moving around a bunch…

  5. I can definitely tell that my state of activity affects how much baby movement I feel. There are days when I barely sit still and then I get home at night and think, “crap, I barely felt her today.” But as soon as I relax, there she is. 🙂

    Have a great weekend and enjoy the shower!

  6. I can’t believe you’re in the third trimester! Wow! It’s flying by! Seems like it was just the early on phase and you all were on that awful roller coaster. Now little man has a room with new carpet and furniture on the way! Woohoo! 🙂 I’m so glad you had such a great visit with your family!

Leave a Reply

