Week 23

I am almost 23 weeks pregnant.  I still can’t believe I can say that.  I wake up in the morning sometimes and am not sure if I am still pregnant. I look down and still am, all good.  I also can’t believe that I am nearing the third trimester.  Only about five weeks until the third trimester.  Viability is in about a week too.  Wow.  Even though I’m almost at viability I want the little man to stay in there as long as possible.

Tomorrow I have another ob appointment.  I’m always proud of myself when I make it to another ob appointment and through all the waiting.  Hopefully all is still well in there.  This is the first ob appointment that I’m going with some concerns/questions so that makes me a little nervous.  I guess it’s good that I’m hopefully finally going to meet my ob.

What are my concerns/questions?  Well the first one deals with movement.  The other week I wrote about how I was nervous because I didn’t feel much movement for a while and I was starting to freak. He finally kicked me and I felt better.  Then a few days later I had a taco salad for lunch and he went nuts kicking me.  He kicked me a lot that night/evening and the kicks were even more kick like.  I guess he was just sleeping and growing so he could kick me harder.  I want to ask if this is ok, because I feel like he is in one of his quiet phases again.  I get one or two kicks or so (or what I feel) a day and then not much.  Though sometimes I think I feel movement and shifting a little more than kicking.  Hopefully he will be back to kicking me again.  I’m just wondering what is normal and when I should be concerned.  I tend to get neurotic about this and freak that he isn’t kicking me enough.

My second question is about urine.  First off I feel like I live in the bathroom and it’s only increasing.   I have also started leaking urine, which I read on the net is normal.  I go to the bathroom and then less than an hour later I feel it leaking.  It gets in the crotch of my pants and it’s not fun.  I have started wearing a pad and it’s better, but I just want to make sure all is ok with that.

Lastly, acne.  Ever since I got pregnant I majorly broke out all over my shoulders and my back.  I had acne a lot as a teen and I guess that makes me more prone to it or something.  It’s getting a little better, but I’m still not comfortable wearing tanks or letting a lot of that skin show, which stinks because warm weather is coming.  I want to know what products I can use that won’t mess with my hormones or whatever.  I had some re.tin a, but I’m not sure if I am able to use that.

So hopefully they will tell me everything is normal and ok.  I’m the most nervous about the movement, but hopefully all is ok with little man.  I will update when I know more.

5 Comments

  1. FCblacksheep

    Yay on Week 23! I love how wrong you proved that nurse in the beginning with the progesterone levels.

    I’m relieved to read you haven’t met your OB yet. I have an appointment this week and I’m fairly certain he won’t be there, which makes me nervous not to meet him yet but I guess this is normal.

    Your concerns all sound like perfectly normal things that happen but based on my experience with my first consult, it sure does feel better to have someone of authority validate it all and tell you it’s all fine. So I’m happy you’re going to get some reassurance and that you’ll get to see Turtle is still doing A OK.

    • I feel like I worked my way up to the different people in the office. I first met with the lady that is bottom level and meets with all the people at their first appointment. Then I met another lady and then I met with a great nurse who I really like. Now I get to meet the doc lol.

  2. Congrats on 23 weeks! This is wonderful! I’m sure your concerns are completely normal, but I’m glad you are going to talk to your OB about them. Let us know how it goes!

  3. Yay, congrats on getting to week 23!! I hope your OB is able to provide you with some helpful advice and that the rest of your pregnancy goes smoothly.

  4. My doctor told me that real, consistent movement isn’t a concern until the 28-week mark. So I think you are doing just fine. I definitely had more sporadic movement until about a week or two ago.

    And I totally hear you on the back acne. It sucks. Let me know if you figure out a solution!

Leave a Reply

