All good

This morning I went in for my 18 week ob visit. I was hoping for an ultrasound to get a sneak peak at turtle and find out the gender a little early, but no such luck. I went in gave my urine sample to the wheel of pee, which was a little weird this time because I could hear people in the lab on the other side. I made sure the water was running a long time before I went so that they would know someone was in there in case they didn’t want to listen to me pee. Right when I came out I got called back to get weighed. I was a little nervous because of my FL trip. I got on the scale on monday and if I divide how much I gained by two for the two weeks since I last weighed myself I gained 1.7 pounds each week when I was only supposed to gain one pound a week. Oh well. Today when I got on the scale it was exactly five pounds different from my last visit so I think I was right on target so phew and yea to that. They didn’t say anything about weight today so I guess I’m fine.

I had an appointment with the actual lady ob today and I was excited to meet her. However, after I got my blood pressure checked I sat on the table for a really long time waiting for her to come in. Finally the nurse who I loved last time I was there came in and said the ob was running way behind so she was going to come in and do my visit so I could get on my way. I was a little sad I didn’t get to meet the ob, but I like this nurse and it was getting late so that was fine with me. She said I had no protein in my urine or anything so that was good. She measured my stomach for the first time which was kinda neat. She said my belly button was a bit higher (2 inches I think) than normal which means that normal manufactured pants never fit me right and it’s true! I am short and I always have to get my pants hemmed and it always bunches in the back. So that was interesting. She also said according to my stomach I am measuring about a week ahead. She said that was ok because the range is about one week plus or minus I think. It made me wonder because at the RE’s office turtle was always measuring about a week ahead during my ultrasounds. Makes me wonder if they will change my due date at my level two next week. Next week!! Probably not though cause it’s not that much of a difference, but still would be cool if they did.

Next she brought out the doppler and started to listen for the heartbeat. Unlike last time she found it right away. Yea for that. Turtle kept moving around and we even heard some kicks. The nurse was calling it cute names because it kept moving. She said the baby is just fine because it is moving a lot and has a good heart rate so yea for that. I go back in four weeks which will be three weeks after my level two ultrasound.

I wasn’t that nervous about today’s visit because I am starting to feel movement so I know things are ok in there. I am however counting down the days to my level two; I really really want to know the gender of turtle and make sure that all it’s organs are ok. In my job I read a lot of level twos that aren’t always good and I didn’t do the first trimester screening so I am hoping that I get the all clear. *fingers and toes are crossed*

  • Posted in: Uncategorized

20 Comments

  1. Sounds like a good visit overall. Annoying how doctors can get so delayed though so it’s too bad that you didn’t get to see your OB. I am with you on the ultrasound issue – I didn’t do IPS so I haven’t had an US since 7 weeks and my next I will be 19 weeks… cannot wait!

    • 7 weeks, wow! My last one I had was at 11 weeks when my RE released me and I graduated. I guess now I am really happy they waited so long to release me.

  2. Sounds like a wonderful, uneventful, ob visit. yeah for that! glad things are movinng along so smoothly.

  3. What a great visit! I’m so glad you and turtle are doing well!

  4. I have my gender ultrasound next week, too! I am so excited!! 😀

    My OB let me schedule it for our wedding anniversary.

    • What day next week? Mine is on tuesday. What a cool day to find out on! Happy early anniversary!

      • Tuesday here, too!!! 😉 10:15 in the morning!

  5. AL

    Wow, 18 weeks, LFL! That’s great! Congrats on another great appointment and excited for your scan next week 🙂

  6. Glad you had a great visit, even though you didn’t get to meet the OB. 🙂

  7. FCblacksheep

    That all sounds terrific. I can’t wait to find out Turtle’s gender too (cough boy). So exciting. Funny about the belly button. How else would you have ever found that out. And yay for kicking. Hope he stays active to keep your mind at ease.

  8. How exciting that you are so close to finding out your little ones gender! Congrats on another great OB appt! I can not wait to feel movements- when did you first start feeling them?

    • I will have to look back in my blog, but I’m thinking I felt something around 16-17 weeks, but couldn’t tell for sure if it was the baby.

  9. Congtrats on the great appointment!! I think the weight-gain is good and it’s great to be measuring ahead – a nice, plump turtle in there!! Just what we all want! I agree that the movement is a fantastic form of reasurrance. Nothing better!! 🙂

  10. Can’t wait to find out if turtle is a boy or a girl!!

  11. I am on pins and needles to hear if you’re having a boy or girl!! So excited!!

  12. I can’t believe you’re 18 weeks already! That’s so awesome! 🙂 Yay for a great check-up!

  13. I can’t believe you’re 18 weeks already! That’s so awesome. It’s flying by! Yay for a great OB visit!

  14. congrats on the 19w mark! so glad you had a great appt but bummed you didn’t get to meet the OB. hopefully next time for sure! can’t wait to hear about your level 2 and the gender of turtle! yay!

  15. can’t wait to find out the gender!!! congrats on a great appt. Jealous of your Orlando trip-sounds like a blast!!!

  16. Yay! SO glad to hear the OB appt went well. So exciting that you are finding out the gender this week! Please post to your blog once you know if baby is a he or she!

Leave a Reply

