Research Study and an award

Yesterday while working I noticed a quick posting about a research study the place where I work is doing. It’s for first time mom’s who are less than 14 weeks pregnant to study a couple of different things. In the post it said that the main thing would be three visits with free 3d ultrasounds with images I could take home. Three extra ultrasounds that are 3d? That got my interest peaked. So I called yesterday and left a message to get more information. The nurse just called me back. She said at the beginning there would be some swabs (ugh) and there would be blood work and urine collection. Then I would also do some swabbing on my own with a qtip in the bathroom at the other two visits. She also mentioned getting a small part of the placenta after my child was born. I told her I would think about it. First I was all gung ho because of more ultrasounds. Now I’m not sure because of the swabbing and the small part of the placenta. Though I have no idea if I am even doing the cord blood thing, but she said we could still do that if I wanted. What do you guys think? It is pretty close to where I work and it would mean I would get an ultrasound in like a week, but now I’m not as 100% as I was. Oh and one other thing I probably should mention – I sorta know the ob who would be running the study. I don’t know him know him, but I know him in passing and he has sat in on a few of my work meetings. Would that be weird? I talked to my hubby about it and he said the only reason I am wanting to do this study is more ultrasounds because I’m nervous and that’s a dumb reason to do a study and that doing this is just feeding my nervousness. He said it was up to me though.

Ok onto the award. Thanks to Kelly and Lori for this award.

The rules for accepting this award are:
1. Thank and link back to the person who nominated you
2. Share 7 things about yourself
3. Award 15 other bloggers and let them know about their award!

Ok 7 things about myself….

1. I am a giant kid at heart. Love carebears and hello kitty and all sorts of kid toys still.

2. I am a major computer/technology geek wannabe. I know a lot about computers and technology. More than the average person and can hold a conversation about the gadgets, but I can’t program or do anything really cool. I do read many technology based websites though.

3. My favorite foods are pasta, sushi, cheese (can’t really eat much of it now because of slight lactose intolerance), chocolate, salty things like chex mix. Yum.

4. I wish I was more crafty and could make cute stuff like scarfs, bags, or the kind of stuff you see on etsy.

5. I am a major homebody and enjoy hanging out at home and doing at home stuff. I do get bored though and like to go out and do things. I’m just not a person who goes out every night to do something new or someone who hangs out with a lot of people.

6. I can fall asleep in the car very easily. When I was little and I would not stop crying my parents put me in the car so I would stop crying. I would fall asleep in the car and I still do.

7. I am more out going in my blog and twitter than I am in real life, but I’m working on it.

I’m supposed to nominate 15 people for this award, but I’m taking a quick break from working from home so whoever would like to fill this survey out please do. I nominate you!

13 Comments

  1. EC

    Hmmm…I don’t know if I would do the study or not. I can see why you’d be excited to have more ultrasounds, but it seems like a lot to go through to get them. Plus, it doesn’t sound like they would give you any additional information. On the other hand, if you think it would be worth it to you to get the extra ultrasounds, then I guess there’s no reason not to, really.

  2. That seems like too much work to me, but I get why you’d want to do it for the extra ultrasounds. Let us know what you decide!

  3. hmm, i don’t know what i would do. i’m already getting plenty of u/s so i probably wouldn’t do it personally, but if you were anxious and wanted more peeks, it could be a great (free) way to do so. plus you’d be helping science!

  4. I’m the same way! (#7)

  5. FCblacksheep

    I laughed a little at your hubby’s comment because it’s so how Blue would respond, and I would totally want to do the study for that reason. Given your nervousness over some exams (the swabbing), I guess you have to think about whether those extra ultrasounds would outweigh that anxiety. What is the study for? What does it help? For me that would be the determining factor. It was for a good cause I’d be more apt to do it.

    Do you read Amber at Life: Chants and Rants, http://lifechatsandrants.blogspot.com? She lives in AZ I think but is doing or was considering doing a similar study.

    And I love the carebears!

  6. I don’t know what to say about the study… but if it were me, if it’s non-invasive & you’re able to still collect cord blood despite them taking a piece of the placenta… I would so do it… just for the extra sonograms!

    Oh, and I love silly kid things too! 🙂

    {Here from ICLW – #131}

  7. I get why you would want to do the study for the ultrasounds. I don’t think I’d do it though, so much work! Good luck with making the decision.

  8. I wouldn’t do it only cuz it’s not your regular doctor PLUS you see him at work. Which, to me, would be awkward. It’s one thing to not know the doctor at all, but since you do know him AND he’s not your regular one – it gives me the heebie-jeebies. But, yeah, that’s just me.

    I’m a homebody, too. Trying to work on being more outgoing. It’s a work in progress.

  9. I’m not a good person to ask because I would pretty much do anything for extra ultrasounds :). But, yes, you should think it through and make sure it’s something you feel comfortable doing. Good luck making that decision!

    ICLW #134

  10. the study did sound like a good idea until you got more into it. it seems like a lot of work, but then i’m not exactly known for ever WANTING to do more work

  11. The cord blood collection definitely won’t be affected. They will want a small section of the placenta to study it’s histology and they would remove that after everything else has been completed. What will you do with your placenta? A lot of people here take them home and bury them (a traditional Maori practice which has spilled over into mainstream) but I can’t say I’d be all that interested in my own home. I have seen a lot of placentas, and they aren’t all that appealing.

    I think you should give the study a miss unless you discover a real benefit to you (not just USS), as sounds like a bit of a drag to me. On the other hand…if it’s all at your place of work and not going to be inconvenient at all, then what’s the harm?

    I can sleep almost anywhere, but only in cars if I am totally exhausted (I get car sick if I don’t watch the road).

  12. If it were me, the decision would probably come down to what the study was for. If it were something I thought was worthwhile, then feeling like I was contributing in some way (and getting extra ultrasounds!), would be worth it. If I wasn’t gung-ho on the study, then I’d be getting all that poking and prodding done for a measly three ultrasounds! lol
    Also, before you stress about it- can you even participate in the study if it’s through the company you work for? Some places black out their employees…

    • Oh, and just because he’s running the study doesn’t mean he’s actually seeing the patients, does it? It’s probably techs and stuff doing all the actual work (so he probably wouldn’t be all up in your lady biz-nass 😉 )…

Leave a Reply

