ICLW

I am very late in joining iclw this month so I am probably not even on the list yet and when I do finally get on the list I will be at the bottom. Hopefully people will still come visit me 😉 I am very excited because this is the first iclw I have done that I can actually put pregnancy in my list of three words about this blog 😉

What is my IF story? Well I have a tab up there you can click on and see everything laid out pretty. However, here is a quick synopsis. I have pcos and started with my RE in June of 09. From then to now I have done three clomid cycles, two femara cycles – one with some follistim in there. Two additional cycles with just follistim and then two mini ivf protocols in which I responded the best to. They were basically everything a normal ivf person would do (lupron, low dose hcg, and follistim), but no egg retrieval or transfer.

The second mini ivf cycle I did I started spotting around 12dpo and thought that af was on her way. I still went for the beta though. When they called they told me good and bad news. I had a positive beta that was in the hundreds but my progesterone was at 1 and that is most likely not a viable pregnancy. Still kinda cool since I have never been pregnant before. We spent about a week or so going in every two days to look at my beta levels and my hcg levels because they were convinced it was ectopic. I even had to wait in the RE’s office to see if I needed the shot to end the pregnancy. Thank goodness we avoided that. Finally after beta number four they saw a normal pregnancy in my uterus and not my tubes! Woot! Later they realized that my progesterone was so low because of the lupron. I should have been on estrogen support as well as progesterone support (I was on suppositories) like the normal ivf people. I also learned that my progesterone was probably higher than 1 because you can’t measure progesterone levels accurately on suppositories. So I started progesterone in oil shots at around 6 weeks and stayed on them until I graduated from my RE’s office last week. I am now currently 12 weeks and two days and everything is just fine. I can’t believe that I am almost in the second trimester.

I look forward to finding new blog’s to read and follow and look forward to meeting more cool bloggers. Feel free to ask any questions you may have 😉

16 Comments

  1. Awww Congrats! Visiting from ICLW 🙂

  2. Congrats on graduating from the RE! So, what was in the bag you got for graduating from the RE? I hope you like your OB the next time you visit! Happy ICLW!

    • LOL. In the bag I got a nice pregnancy journal, some parenting/child magazines, some pamphlets on different stuff, and a nice card.

  3. Stopping by from ICLW. Congrats on graduating to the OB. I just did that, too (I’m one week behind you) and it’s a very exciting step in the right direction – finally!

  4. Hokey dinah… 12 weeks already??? Time flies!

    Just getting back into the swing of things, and I’m with you on the bottom of the ICLW list. I’ll be checking back in more regularly, I promise!

  5. Wow, what a story. Huge CONGRATS on your pregnancy. And, no worries, you will get some visitors. There are crazy people like me who always start at the bottom of the list.

    ICLW #59

    • Yea, for starting at the bottom of the list. Thanks 😉

  6. I always work from the bottom up during ICLW – I figure everyone starts at the top so I should start down the bottom 😀

    Congrats on your pregnancy, and congrats on graduating your RE – that must be the most amazing feeling.

  7. Seeing that I was waay late to the iclw party I started at the bottom too. 🙂
    Congrats! I hope your news continues to get better and better!

  8. Congrats on 12 weeks, and thanks for the comment on my blog! 😀

  9. congrats on entering the second trimester. That is wonderful!

  10. Ew, Lupron!

    I had six months of Lupron injections after I was treated for endometriosis way back when, and whenever someone mentions it I have flashbacks of the violent mood swings and hot flashes I had. (I had every side effect listed, pretty much. *shudder*)

    Congratulations on your pregnancy! Enjoy that second trimester – it’s kind of like a honeymoon period.

    (stopped by from ICLW)

  11. LOL, You were at the bottom of the list (ICLW), but that’s where I started, being a rebel at heart.
    I’m so glad this pregnancy is happening for you. 12 weeks, that’s great! They want to graduate me next week (7.5) and I’m so not ready..
    Good luck,
    Rosie

  12. Congrats on the BFP.
    All the best for your sticky pregnancy
    ICLW#51

  13. Here from ICLW #42

    Congrats on reaching 12 weeks! It sounds like those first few weeks were emotionally exhausting – I hope that’s the most drama you have this whole pregnancy!

    I’m almost 26 weeks – and the second trimester really is a wonderful and exciting time. I’m looking forward to following your journey.

  14. Here from ICLW! Congrats on reaching the all-important 12 week mark. 🙂 Hoping you have a smooth and uneventful journey!

Leave a Reply

