12 weeks and burgers

I am 12 weeks pregnant today. I can’t believe I can actually say that. Next week I will be in the second trimester. Holy crap. I wasn’t going to write another entry until I got through my google reader blog list, but I had things to blog about. An I did make a big dent – I started with 300 some blogs and am now down to 153. I’m working on it, but you guys keep updating lol.

This past weekend we went to visit hubby’s extended family for a second christmas. At the end we gave each person an envelope with the photo card I had made announcing our pregnancy. There was lots of oh my god’s and congratulations and excitement. Everyone loved the photo card I made. I’m glad it turned out so well. They all told me to keep them updated with how things were going and that they were so happy for us.

I was going to give my mom her card this weekend when my parents came down, but she had to reschedule her trip ;( We are both sad about it. My grandma is in the hospital and has been all week. They are having issues talking to the doctors since they are not in town so it will be easier to make sure she is ok, get the scoop, and do everything they need to do if they are there with her. I’m glad they are doing this for her, but I’m sad because this weekend my mom and I were going to go maternity clothes shopping and such. I haven’t seen her since I thought I was getting my period and before I knew I was pregnant.

So how am I doing pregnancy wise? Pretty good I guess. Sometimes I forget I’m pregnant. But then I go a bit without eating and that reminds me. Tonight I was hungry, not hungry, a little nauseated, and grossed out by the smell of dinner all at once. However, I have learned if I push through it and eat some I start to feel better. I’m still tired in the afternoons at work and have the worst time focusing on getting work done. I’m trying really hard to get better at that. Oh I am also thinking about starting a graph to track my weight. I’m nervy that I’m going to gain too much weight in this pregnancy so I weighed myself this morning before my shower and after I ate and had clothes on to see the difference.

Speaking of dinner tonight I made turkey burgers and I think they turned out really good. I noticed a bunch of people who mentioned they like recipes and I got a good response from the last recipe I posted so here is another quick and easy dinner. I think I make a mean turkey burger, however, I need a little work on the cooking. I always have to cut them in half to make sure they cook all the way through. Still yummy though. Here is what I do:

Start with one container of ground turkey. This makes about four burgers. Season with your favorite seasonings. I tend to use the same spices a lot – italian seasoning, garlic powder, onion powder, and tonight I added worcestshire sauce. Mix all together and then form four patties out of it. Once in patties put on a skillet sprayed with pam and cook them for about four to five minutes on each side. I also browned some onions to put on the burgers that was yummy. Hubby dressed the rolls with lettuce, and tomato. His also had cheese and ranch dressing. Mine had ketchup, mustard, and a pickle. Very yummy. I hope you enjoy it!

9 Comments

  1. FCblacksheep

    Wow, 12 weeks. That does seem quick. Second trimester…so exciting. I’m glad the announcement went well.

    I am sorry about your grandmother and that your mom can’t visit. Hopefully you get to see her soon. The turkey burgers sound yummy. I’ve recently become addicted to turkey breakfast sausage.

    • What kind do you get? Is it spicy? that does sound pretty yummy and I’m always looking for more protein options.

      • FCblacksheep

        No, not spicy. Shady Brook Farms breakfast sausage links. They cook up pretty quickly but I like mine charred so I keep them in the pan longer.

  2. Happy 12 weeks! Gotta try the turkey burgers, with ranch sounds Yummy!

  3. YAY for 12 weeks!!!

    I love how you told your family but I also hope that your grandmother improves, too.

  4. Congratulations!! Second trimester — I can’t believe it! I’m so happy for you.

    I’ll definitely try the turkey burger recipe. 🙂

  5. Wow, 12 weeks, amazing!! so pleased you have reached this milestone hun!! [moon happy dance]
    Sorry to hear about your grandma and your mom not being able to visit, hugs xx

  6. Yay! Second trimester is a fantastic milestone! Congratulations!!!! I am so happy for you 🙂

  7. Yay for reaching 12 weeks!! That’s a big milestone!! I’m sorry that your mom had to cancel the weekend trip and I hope that your grandma improves.

    The burgers sound good but I have that same problem with turkey burgers. I can never tell if they’re done and have to cutinto them… Oh, well… you end up cutting them in half anyway, right?

Leave a Reply

