First OB appointment

This morning I had my first OB appointment. I had been looking forward to it for a while because it meant I was really pregnant and graduating from the RE’s office. I thought I was going to be late this morning – the traffic around my house was bad and I wasn’t quite sure where I was going. Thank goodness for my garmin. I got there just in time. First thing I did was give them a urine sample. They have this neat thing in the bathroom. It’s like a sliding window thing in the wall of the bathroom. Basically you do your sample and then put it in the wall thing and it turns. On the other side of the wall is the lab where the lady can take your sample and test it for whatever. Pretty neat.

Next I talked to a office staff person I guess and she asked me some questions and gave me a thing to fill out and a cool bag with free stuff in it. I will have to look more at the bag to see what I got. On first glance it looks like a pregnancy journal, some coupons, some magazines, and some flyers for stuff. She seemed nice enough. She didn’t spend that much time with me though.

Next she said I was supposed to wait for this other lady to come in who would do my visit. I felt like I waited a long time for her to come in. Later she said she was double booked, but she said that doesn’t happen that often. The first thing that I noticed about her was that she was visbly pregnant. LIke third trimester pregnant. In my head I was like great… She seemed nice enough, but I never really "clicked" with her. Maybe another reason is I think she said she was a midwife. Nothing against people who want midwifes or people who are midwifes, but I am not the type of person who wants one. I want a real doctor in a hospital. So *shrugs* She said that my RE’s office did most of what they would normally do at a first visit so I didn’t have that much to do. She talked to me a little about the office and being pregnant. She said that I should only gain .5 a pound a week. I think that is what she said, I don’t quite remember. Either way, I’m not sure if I gave off the vibe or she did, but I felt like she was telling me hey watch how much weight you gain because your already having a hard time with it. That kind of made me nervous for the rest of the visit and now I’m nervy that I’m getting too big too quick and that I have gained too much weight already. She did say though that in the first trimester I can eat what I want because most things don’t sound good. Luckily I haven’t had many food aversions. So I am going to try to cut down my carbs and try to eat healthier, so we will see how that goes. I’m probably at a high risk for gestational diabetes already. Bleh. She also said that I probably won’t get that many ultrasounds from now on and that I should feel good in knowing that I am carrying this pregnancy and everything is ok and that I don’t need them. I’m not sure about that. She said they would try to make the transition from the RE’s office smoothly so I hope they are right.

I had to get two blood tests done so I got those done. They have a lab in house which was cool. I’m glad I didn’t have to go anywhere. After that I made another appointment for next week and then I went to work. I’m not sure what to think. The whole time I was there I was thinking about the girls I know at the RE’s office and comparing everything to them and what the RE’s office processes are like and how it feels. I know I have been with the RE’s office for a year and a half so I know it will be more comfortable there and it’s only my first appointment at my OB’s office so I need to give them more time to get used to them. Still I left my appointment a little aprehensive about things. Hopefully I will be calmer next time. Do I really have to graduate from my RE’s tomorrow?

  • Posted in: Uncategorized

8 Comments

  1. That does sound..awkward.. as if she trying to say “we are not like your RE so don’t count on that”. I dunno..just sounds strange.
    Hoping things improve.

  2. AL

    It is really weird to leave the RE’s office – but you will become more and more comfortable with your OB and how they do things the more you go there. This is a great thing – congrats on graduating!

  3. All in all I’d say it sounds like an okay first appointment. And in a way it’s great that the lady you didn’t totally click with will surely be off on maternity leave for a while. Hopefully you can connect a bit more with someone else there. And I do think that it definitely takes time. I have my first OB appointment next Monday (my clinic hangs on to me until after the 12 week mark) and I’m kinda nervous!!

  4. you’re graduated and you’re going to be a regular pregnant lady now! you know what that means? it means that everything is gonna be okay so you can stop worrying and start enjoying every minute of being pregnant! (i know. easier said than done.)

    if you don’t feel like you’re connecting with your OB, you should shop around. it’s important to find someone you trust and like.

    congrats!

  5. I know the OB is very different than the RE’s office. You probably won’t have weekly u/s’s with the OB which is not out of the ordinary. I’ve only been to my OB at the 12 week (I graduated at 8 weeks) 16week and 20 week that I know of so far. I know it’s not common to go more than that regardless of your situation prior to getting pregnant. Stinks, I know. I was getting used to weekly u/s’s at the RE! Congrats on graduating!!!

  6. Congratulations on graduating! Such great news and I know that it’ll be all downhill from here on out. I hope you’re feeling a bit more comfortable and enjoying the joys of being pregnant!

  7. Graduating sounds good 🙂
    Is this the kind of office where you see someone else every time? If so, maybe next time there will be a doctor you “click” with. If not, maybe consider trying another office.

  8. Kristen

    Congrats on graduating!!!!!

Leave a Reply

