The tap test

I have been on progesterone in oil shots for a while now. Probably about five weeks. My butt is covered in little holes and has bruises. Thankfully I only have about two weeks left of shots. I’m nervous about stopping them, but I have to trust that all will be ok.

My point in writing this entry is that I wanted to share what the hubby and I have come up with to make pio shots a little less painful. I like to call it the tap test. Others may have used it before, but I didn’t read it anywhere on the net and it seems to work most of the time. The tap test is a way to give the shots when your butt is sore and to avoid spots that will really hurt if you get shots there. It’s pretty simple actually. We alternate cheeks each day. What my hubby will do is pick the cheek we are on for that night and then pick a spot. He will tap with his finger in that area and then I will see what it feels like. If it feels sore, hurts, or feels swollen I will say no or tell him which direction to move. He will keep tapping around until we find a spot that feels ok and most of the time it hurts a lot less. I hope this is able to help someone out there.

What else. I’m 10 weeks this week. Only two more weeks of the first trimester. I have another ultrasound tomorrow, which I’m looking forward to. I’m a little nervy again and I want to make sure everything is ok in there. Hubby and I had a little fun this week and I know that the internet says it’s fine and that it won’t hurt the baby, but I just want to see it with my own eyes. I am starting to gain weight and most of my work pants are too tight or barely zip. I have used the be-band some, but I want some pants that I don’t have to worry about having a long shirt or my zipper showing. So today I went to Ko.hls and shopped in the bigger wom.en’s department and got a couple of pairs of pants that were on sale. Hopefully they will last me for a while. I still have to get them hemmed though since I’m short.

4 Comments

  1. We’re ‘almost’ due date buddies. 🙂 You’re about two weeks ahead of me.

    I am so happy to hear that things are going well for you. It’s so nice to see one of us get their happy ending!!! 🙂

  2. AL

    Congrats on 10 weeks and best of luck at tomorrow’s scan!! I’m sure everything will look perfect 🙂

  3. 10 weeks, yay, that’s double digits!
    I’ll keep the tap test in mind if I ever need such shots 🙂

  4. that’s what it’s called! haha. my hubby’s been tappin that butt for a while now! haha. i’m running out of spots though. my last day of PIO and suppositories is 1/15. i’m looking forward to it!

    congrats on double digits! and yay for expanding waistlines. i’m shopping this weekend. i don’t like the bella band right now because it puts too much pressure on my belly so pants are out. leggings are in but dresses are best! so fun!

Leave a Reply

