9 weeks

This morning I went in for my nine week scan. It was the first time that I have gotten ready for an appointment and I wasn’t totally freaked out that something was wrong with the baby. That was a nice feeling. It’s also nice to know that we are going into the new year happy and that so many great things will happen.

When I got in they said my swabs from last week came back normal, no bacteria so yea for that. Every time she puts the wand in the first thing I always say is wow it got bigger! She always laughs at me and says that is supposed to happen. Today we saw the heart beating, leg and arm buds, a brain, an ear, and a placenta. She said everything is looking good and that our baby was growing well and very cute. It was just hanging out today, but you could see the little arm and leg buds wiggling a bit. It was all very cool. She did say that I have an extra bit of placenta, I forget what she called it, that isn’t anything bad, but that when I give birth they have to be careful that I get it all out. She said there is a chance it could grow together. I asked if that extra piece would give me more progesterone and she said maybe. That made me feel a little better. I asked about my pio shots and if I was going to wean off of them or just stop. She said that I am going to stop cold turkey a couple of weeks after the placenta is doing it’s job just to be careful so probably around 11.6 weeks. It makes me nervous stopping the progesterone, but I will look forward to letting the bruises on my butt heal.

Here is a picture of our little turtle. He/she is looking more like a real baby instead of an alien, which is really cool.

I hope all of you have a wonderful new new year and that all your hopes and dreams in 2011 come true.

16 Comments

  1. Wow, he/she IS growing! What an awesome picture, your baby looks like it’s doing acrobatics. =) I am so glad to hear that things continue to go so well. I think of you and your little one often!

    • Aw, thanks. I appreciate that. 😉

  2. Wow! Its amazing! Congrats again and here’s to a Happy New Year for all of us!

  3. What a BEAUTIFUL picture and a precious little one:) So happy for you! I did the cold turkey thing with the PIO shots too, and I was nervous and a little scared because you read others that wean off of them or get lab work etc… However “knock on wood” all is well with our little one, I am 15 weeks today and go for my next appointment on Tues. So I hope you find it comforting that you aren’t the only one to do things this way:) I wish you the Happiest and most Blessed 2011!!!!

  4. Nic

    Yay, turtle is growing!
    So pleased!
    Happy New Year
    x

  5. Yay! Your pregnancy is just so NORMAL!! So pleased for you. Have a wonderful New Year, 2011 is going to be life changing 🙂

  6. Wow it is crazy to see how much your baby is really starting to look like a baby!! This is so exciting!!! Have a Happy New Year!!

  7. Looking great! Love the u/s pic 🙂

  8. Aww your baby is really looking like a real baby- It is truly amazing! So exciting! I will be scared to stop the PIO injections as well- it will feel wierd to not be injecting anything! Thanks for posting your u/s pic-! Happy New Year!

  9. Go turtle, go!!! So sweet.

    I was so happy to hear you weren’t overcome with nerves for this latest u/s. THAT in itself is a beautiful thing. So happy for you, LFL! xoxo

  10. Congrats on 9 weeks! It’s so nice when the u/s become less scary and more exciting, isn’t it? Happy new year!

  11. FCblacksheep

    Beautiful baby. I’m so happy for you and little turtle.

  12. sienna

    haha, i called this the “teddybear” phase i/o of the turtle :o) glad that everything is a-okay and just wanna wish you a happy new year!! xoxo.

  13. Wow! I can’t believe how much your turtle has grown!! I just read your posts and it’s amazing how things change by the week. Congratulations on 9 weeks!! Hooray! 🙂

    I know that 2011 will be a great year for us all! Happy New Year!

  14. congrats on 9 weeks!!! your lil one is certainly looking more like a lil one! yay! happy new year my friend!

  15. Congratulations!

    Sorry to come in late on the brilliant news…but congratulations!

    ‘Turtle’ (I love the name!) is lookin’ gorgeous already.

    What a wonderful way to start off the year!

    Wow!

    LS x

Leave a Reply

