Speculum

I just got back from my seven week ultrasound. I had a nervous stomach going there and had some morning sickness. Once I got there it was ok though. It was really busy in the office, but I didn’t have to wait that long.

When I got into the room she starts talking about having to check for chlamydia and gonorrhea with a swab. I was like wait a minute, that involves a speculum right? No one told me I may have to do this today. I was not happy. I managed it though, while telling them I am not good with the speculum. I think they already knew lol. Hubby said I did a very good job and was impressed. Thanks dear lol. I also had to pee in a cup because she said that pregnant women can have an increased chance for uti’s and there can be no symptoms. She said they will fax my results over to my ob so that I won’t have to repeat the tests again. I asked and she said that I won’t have to have any more speculum exams while I am there. Phew. I know they must think I am nuts. I do have to call back to the ob to just schedule an appointment just so it’s on the books.

The scan itself went just fine. I had the scanner that is very straight to the point so it wasn’t as touchy feely as last time. I am measuring right on target for 7 weeks and everything looks good. Hubby was surprised at the difference in size from last time. The heartbeat was 152. So yea for that. I asked about hearing the heartbeat and she said that hearing the heartbeat vaginally can hurt the baby so I will have to wait until I go to the ob and they scan me over my stomach. I have never heard of that before, have you guys? What would be harmful? I mean she already is in there with the wand, maybe it has something to do with whatever the machine does to make sound. I don’t know, but I was a little disappointed. Oh well.

So, so far so good. I feel very fortunate that things are going so well now that I passed the crazy scary part at the beginning of this pregnancy. I’m still thinking of all of you and hoping for your happy endings. I also want to send hugs out to Tillien, Bravingivf, and FC Blacksheep.

13 Comments

  1. yay for a good 7 week scan!!! I actually had the same thing told to me about harming the baby by checking for heartbeat that early on. We actually don’t hear the hearbeat until Monday which we’ve been anxiously awaiting. So I’ll be 10.5 weeks at the point of hearing the heartbeat. I’m not sure if everyone has to wait that long but that was my understanding of how they like to do it. Have a great weekend!!!

  2. Yip for a great scan!!!

    We didn’t get to hear the heartbeat until our 12-week NT Scan appt, fyi. The important thing is that it was beating away and everything looks perfect. YIP YIP YIP!!! xoxo

  3. Marci

    You did the right thing! My OB insisted on giving me a pap smear while I was pregnant and her scrape caused a blood blister that bled off and on for a month, giving me hysterics. I was very “HULK SMASH” angry while dealing with that.

  4. I’ve not heard that about the heartbeat, and routinely heard it each time at my RE appointments. I wonder what the difference is between hearing it and not hearing it?

    Sorry about the speculum. I didn’t have my swab test until I was about 12 or 14 weeks. Unfortunatly they found a UTI that was resistant to regular antibiotics so I had to have some special antibiotic that made me sick. 😦 I had no symptoms which made it hard to take meds that made me sick. If you do have to take antibiotics, make sure you’re also taking a probiotic supplement or eating yogurt to ward off any nasty side effects. FX that you won’t have to deal with that.

    I have my next swab test for GBS at my next appointment. I’ll warn you if you should expect more speculums in your future.

    Congrats on reaching 7 weeks! I’m keeping you and your bean in my thoughts and prayers. 🙂

  5. Yay for a great 7 week scan! I’ve never heard about the heartbeat thing, but then again, I don’t have any experiences in this department…

  6. Tori

    Just blog hopping around here and came across yours. I don’t have any experience with infertility but I just thought I’d let you know that I think to hear the heartbeat with the wand thing they’d have to do a lot of poking around to get the right angle. When they do it on your tummy they often have to move it around for quite a while before they find it. I remember laying there for so long once before they found it with my 3rd that I became so nervous they could only pick up my heartbeat. It’s no big deal for them to move the scanner across your tummy to locate it but I think the prodding around with the wand she’d have to do before locating it would not be pleasant!

    Congratulations:)

  7. sooz

    Yay! I’m so glad that things are going well and you had a good scan!

  8. I’m really pleased all is going so well for you LFL!!!
    At 7 weeks you may get to hear the HB on vaginal USS, but I suspect it is partly to do with the type of equipment and the ability for the USS to magnify/translate sound. There is no requirement for this in establishing early pregnancy so maybe your RE’s machine is just about the visual or requires a different wand for sound? USS is not harmful to your fetus so I am not sure what she meant by that. Anyway, you have something to look forward to 🙂
    As for speculums, we do not do speculum examinations on pregnant women unless there is a complication requiring it, so I doubt you will have to worry about that again. Good luck and enjoy 🙂

  9. Nic

    Yay! I am so pleased that all is well and the heartbeat is good. Shame you could not hear it though, very strange!
    x

  10. Wow, I’m late to the game here! CONGRATS, Girl!!!!!!! Yay for the 7 week scan!!

  11. Yay for another great scan! You’re on your way now! Why does the beginning always have to be so scary?

    I never heard that about the heartbeat. I didn’t hear our baby’s heartbeat until we had moved over to the OB, but the RE did try to hear it with the vaginal u/s. It was just too small to hear.

  12. Yeah, yeah, yeah! Woo hoo for a great scan and a beautiful heart beat. That’s weird that she wouldn’t let you hear it, I’ve never heard of that before but Praise The Lord that you got to see it! Yeah for a healthy baby, congrats girl!

  13. Okay, so the ‘task at hand’ is complete. Forgive my tweets, but Z decided to force-feed me (not!) a bottle of wine. So, if this comment (or my tweets) seems a bit off, blame it on the wine.

    Call me cuh-razy, but having had my fair-share of UTI’s, I find it insane to think that there would be no symptoms. INSANE! But whatev’s.

    Glad to hear that things are going well. I would like to punch those people in your RE’s office in the boobies for scaring you in the beginning. Maybe a little nip-twist? No? Not appropriate? Okay, back to the bottle of wine I go. 🙂

    Rock out this pregnancy, girlfriend!

Leave a Reply

