Mish

I was going to name the title of this entry mish mash, but I already have two entries named mish mash so I thought it would be redundant. I’ve got lots of random thoughts in my head so this entry may be all over the place.

Today I am 7 weeks. I am totally happy to get this far and it’s great to realize that I only have five more weeks of the first trimester. On the other hand I am nervous something is going to happen. I keep reading about people losing their babies at 9,10,11 weeks and it’s so hard reading that – I am sad for the people and I am scared that I have a chance that it will happen to me. I have my next ultrasound on friday. I am glad that I don’t have a specific marker we are looking for. That allows me to be a little less worrisome about it. I hope we can hear the heartbeat though. I’m not exactly sure when your supposed to be able to do that.

I’m doing pretty good with symptoms. I have the worst concentration after about 2pm. I do great at work in the morning, but after 2ish I’m not very useful. I feel bad about it and I’m trying to work on it, but ugh. I have had very tiny bouts of morning sickness, but usually after I eat something – usually protein I feel better. I hope I don’t jinx it, but I haven’t had a case of morning sickness that has lasted more than an hour or so and hasn’t gone away. I hope I can stay that way. I have felt teary and cranky when I get tired, but that’s about it. I feel like my stomach is a tiny bit more prominent recently, but I think it’s just because I have been more hungry lately and eating more and just getting fat and bloated.

I have been researching ob’s as I was talking about in my last entry. I looked at all the ob’s at the hospital where I work and I picked two. One was in a large office that my boss recommended and one is actually not on campus, but close by. I called the big place yesterday and immediately got a weird feeling. I had to press a bunch of buttons just to make an appointment and ended up leaving a message. I was hoping to talk to a real person even if it was just a receptionist. I started to get annoyed when they hadn’t called back 5 hours later – I mean I wasn’t asking for a doctor to call me back, all I wanted was to make an appointment. My hubby made me wait, so I waited until after lunch today and it was more than 24 hours later to say nope I’m not going there. I know I’m not due for a really long time, but jeez louise. I ended up calling the smaller place and I actually talked to a real person (yea!), but they said I have to have my first trimester screening before I can make an appointment, which is not what the nurse said at my last ultrasound but whatever. I’ll figure it out.

I think my cold is finally going away. Thank goodness. I managed to not take any cold meds the whole time so I’m proud of myself. I blew my nose so much though that the skin under my nose hurt. I think I might have given it to my hubby though. He said he had a scratchy throat and wasn’t feeling right today. Now I feel bad.

My mother keeps asking when I am going to tell my grandma about my pregnancy. I’m not 100% decided. We haven’t told anyone but immediate family yet and I am not going to tell hubby’s extended family until January. My mom keeps saying she is fine with me telling her when I am ready, but she just wants to know when. I keep telling her I’m not sure. I just wish she would quit asking. I know she wants to be able to talk to her mom about it and they will be down with her in a couple of weeks. I might tell them then, but my aunt is also down there and she doesn’t keep secrets well at all.

We did tell hubby’s sister last night. He wanted to tell her since they are coming down to celebrate christmas with us this year and everyone else (hubby’s parents and brother know) and hubby’s brother has hinted he might get us something baby related. I think it would be awkward to not tell her and then have her be like why is she getting baby stuff? She was really nice about it. I always wondered if they had fertility issues. They have been married forever, but don’t have kids, only dogs.

Ok this entry is getting long. I should probably end it soon. One more question – Do anyone of you guys have pregnancy pillows? I have been looking on amazon and thinking about buying one. I know it’s way early, but I was wondering if you guys liked them and had any opinion on them. One variety is just a long pillow and the other one is shaped more like a c or a u depending on what variety you get. I have no idea.

10 Comments

  1. I go through periods where I have to be SO careful about what I read. I am already so incredibly anxious, and I hate to admit it, but the loss stories take a real mental/physical/emotional toll on me right now. Supporting our IF sisters is so very important, but you also have to look out for your health (and the baby’s).

    As for a pregnancy pillow…..at 15 weeks-ish I bought a Snoogle off Amazon.com. I love it, use it every night!

  2. I have this pregnancy pillow. I got mine at 9 weeks. And i LOVE it! My husband is gone alot so i needed something to help support me and this works awesomely. 🙂

    http://www.target.com/Boppy-5400201KTA-Total-Body-Pillow/dp/B003XMTPF8/ref=sc_qi_detaillink.

  3. Yay for the little milestones! 7 weeks is great. I have been thinking lately about buying a pregnancy pillow, too. Just in the last few days I’ve started feeling much more uncomfortable when I sleep. I’m a stomach sleeper for sure and I even had a massage last week and was totally fine. But starting a few nights ago I am so uncomfortable that I might have to get a pillow or something…

  4. Our first ultrasound was 2 days before we were 8 weeks and the tech was able to see and hear the heart beat right away. I really thought it would be too soon but it was there. Hope you get to experience the heart beat as well, it was a very calming moment for me!

  5. oh also if you get uncomfortable before you buy a pregnancy pillow, try putting a pillow in between your legs while you sleep and one behind your back. its amazing what it does.

  6. Yay! So good to hear that things are progressing right along!

  7. Hey, thanks so much for giving me the blog award (it was so long ago and I only remembered about it today back from November!), I’ve awarded you it back and probably broken many blog rules :-)) Anyhoo, I’m pleased things are progressing well for you and you’ve found an ob office that has someone on the end of a phone!

  8. Congratulations on the pregnancy, glad to hear it is going well.

    I got a pregnancy pillow and they are nice and comfy even before you get your bump.

    Shona

  9. congrats on 7 weeks! and i’m glad you’re feeling better.

    i’m in a different position with OBs because of multiples so i wanted top notch care over size of practice. i actually already got in with an OB this week – yesterday actually and i got to hear the heartbeats this time! i say just make some appts, try a few out and go with who you like best.

    and take your time telling people! when you feel like it’s right, you’ll do it. tell everyone else to RELAX!

  10. I’m glad you’re doing well!
    Can you tell your mom to stop asking for a bit? Especially if the meeting in question is a couple of weeks away, maybe you could agree on having the issue rest until just before she goes?

Leave a Reply

