Badump Badump

This morning we went in for my 6 week ultrasound. I was nervous that we wouldn’t see the heartbeat and that everything would be over. I have a little bit of a cold. I am a tiny bit snotty and have a little bit of a sore throat. This gave me post nasal drip along with the first trimester equals me being queasy for my appointment. She put the wand in and boom, there it was. She said we have a heartbeat! I was like phew. it looked like a little flap waving at us. I didn’t hear anything yet though since I am only 6.2 weeks. I’m not sure when you can hear it. She measured the heartbeat at 114.57 beats per minute which they said was really good for measuring the heart beat for the very first time. She said they want it at least at 100 I think. So yea for a heart beat.

I asked the nurse my big question. I said, now that we know it’s not ectopic, my progesterone went up, and we have a heartbeat does that mean I can stop worrying and I am not considered high risk anymore like a normal pregnant person in the first trimester? She said yes! She said the doctors were talking and I think they figured it out. They said they think it was because I was on lupron. Lupron suppresses your ovaries and usually only ivf people are on it. IVF people are provided progesterone support and estrogen support. I was only given progesterone support. They think the lupron suppressed me too much and I should have gotten more support like a normal IVF person and thats why my level was reading so low. They said they learned from me so that the next girl that comes around and goes through my protocol they will know what to do. That makes me feel good that I am helping someone, but I wish I didn’t have to go through that hell. But yea, I am a normal pregnant lady now who isn’t high risk!!

Oh she also said I will stay at my RE’s office until I am 11 weeks which will be the first or second week in January. She also gave me some cards of ob’s offices that I can check out and pick who I like 😉

I didn’t update till late tonight because I was at a conference all day. It was long and ugh. Their lunch wasn’t substantial enough, but I didn’t realize it until a couple of hours later. Around break time at like 3ish I started feeling really gross like I was going to get sick. Thankfully I had brought some granola bars that have 7 grams of protein. I ate it and then 30 minutes later I felt better. Thank goodness. I felt like crap and I’m glad I was able to overcome it and stay till the end of the conference.

20 Comments

  1. Jen

    Yay for a heartbeat! That is great news!!!!

  2. What great news!!! YAY!!

  3. YAY!!!!!!

  4. I am really pleased for you normal pregnant (low fat) lady!! 🙂

  5. Nic

    That is great news! So pleased! Yay to being a normal pregnant lady! Congrats. X

  6. That is awesome news~. You must be so relieved. Congrats! Enjoy your low risk ‘normal’ pregnancy!

  7. FCblacksheep

    I am so relieved and so happy for you! Yeah for a heartbeat and being a regular old pregnant lady. This is amazing!

    FYI, you also unlocked a mystery for me. I couldn’t understand why I was on estrogen and progesterone supplements because I could only see reference to it for IVF. But I triggered with Lupron.

    • thanks!! Glad I could solve the mystery for you 😉 I wish my office knew about that beforehand.

  8. That’s awesome!!! Big CONGRATS from me!!! 🙂

  9. WOOHOO!! So excited for the heartbeat! =) YAY!

  10. Yay for a heartbeat! Here’s hoping the next 34 weeks go smoothly!

  11. AP

    Such good news!! Yay!

  12. Yay yay yay!!! I’m so so happy for you! You’re a regular pregnant lady now! Woohoo!

    So do you feel like you can breathe now? I feel so much better now that i know things are doing okay in there. Seeing the heartbeats was absolutely amazing.

    I have to eat constantly too but besides that i still feel completely normal.

    When’s your next ultrasound?

    Congrats!!!

    • next friday. We scheduled an ultrasound for every friday up until the second week of jan. I do feel more comfortable and better about things, but not quite exhaling yet.

  13. I am so happy to hear your great news!!! Congrats.

  14. Yaaay, you’re a ‘normal’ pregnant lady :-)) congratulations hun x

  15. AL

    GREAT NEWS!!

  16. Wahoooo!! 🙂

  17. Woohoo! A great heartbeat AND a ‘normal’ pregnancy – all in one visit! It couldn’t be any better!!

  18. Yay for a heartbeat! And “normal pregnancy” sounds great too 🙂

Leave a Reply

