Progesterone

I got my beta moved up to today (tuesday) instead of wednesday because I am 14 dpo today and I didn’t want to wait any longer since I am already spotting. Last night I didn’t take my folic acid and I skipped my progesterone suppository. I didn’t even poas. I just went through my day knowing it would be negative and then I would prep for ivf. I waited all day and the nurse finally called.

So there is good news and bad news. Good news is I am currently pregnant. HCG was 167. Bad news is that my progesterone level was at 1. My nurse said that she has not seen anyone come back from that. She said it is most likely a non-viable pregnancy, an early miscarriage, or an ectopic pregnancy. They are going to watch me closely and see if my progesterone rises. Originally I was supposed to come back in on friday for a repeat blood test since thanksgiving they are closed. After I got that news I started going into a tailspin. I have never ever ever been pregnant before, but now it’s going to be not viable and possibly ectopic??? I called back and the nurse said she was glad I called back because it’s a lot to throw at me at once. I asked if I could go somewhere else that would be open and she said no because it’s hard to compare levels from place to place because their array is different. She then said I could come in tomorrow (wednesday) to see what things are doing. She said that things won’t double because it hasn’t been long enough, but if things are going up that could be a good thing. She still was very adamant that she didn’t think it was viable because it was so low. I asked if I took more progesterone suppositories would help. She said at this point it probably won’t. Just for my own piece of mind I am going to continue the progesterone just so I know I did everything I could. I am mad at myself though that I drank soda and such during the 2ww. I know that people take drugs and drink alcohol and do all sorts of weird things and have normal pregnancies, but ugh.

So tomorrow I go back in to see. I hope the progesterone goes up. They are going to watch me closely to see what happens. Please please please go up. My mom says that this is a good thing. Not good in that I may be misscarrying, but good in that I have shown that I can get pregnant and that my doctors can see that my last cycle does work, but now they have to do something to supplement my progesterone or do something so that this does not happen again. I still hope I manage to pull this out. I’m trying not to put too much hope into this, but I can’t help it.

Has anyone had low progesterone, like really low, and still managed to have a healthy pregnancy? I hope someone out there has.

39 Comments

  1. AHHHHHHHHHH! Oh my gosh, that’s a really great, high Beta!!!!! You are PREGNANT!

    I don’t know anything about the progesterone (they actually didn’t even test my prog levels while doing a Beta so I have no clue what my #s were) but am hoping someone can weigh in with insightful, hopeful info. Please let this be it!

    • thanks for being so excited for me. I am not letting myself be happy yet, or trying not to anyways, since it’s most likely not viable or ectopic.

  2. first of all … CONGRATULATIONS LFL!!! you did it! and what a great first beta, even though your progesterone is low. i am going to hope and pray like crazy that your progesterone kicks into gear ASAP. don’t give up hope yet.

  3. Krystal

    I’m super excited for the BFP, and I’m praying hard core for you and your hubs as you deal with whatever comes down the pike next. Like a PP said, they didn’t check my progesterone any of the times they did my betas, so I don’t have any idea what mine were. I was doing progesterone suppositories, though, so they probably couldn’t have done anything more, anyway, I guess. Keep us posted!

  4. Wow you are pregnant. Now I know you must be super super stressed right now and it is great that you get to go back in tomorrow and don’t have to stew over this on your own. I really hope your progesterone pulls through. I don’t have any personal experience in this area but I do know from reading a thread from my clinic where a woman was pregnant with very low progesterone (not sure of the specific level though) and she used a ton of suppositories and stayed pregnant. Now I clearly have no idea what her situation was specifically but maybe there is some hope here. I am keeping my fingers and toes crossed for you!

  5. Your mom’s right. At least they know now that you can get pregnant. And maybe the progesterone levels are wrong cuz you’re using suppositories ??? I’m just guessing, I know nothing about progesterone. But yes, if I were you, I would stick that progesterone so far up your ying yang that you see stars. Did I make you laugh? Even if just for a second? I hope so! Hugs, girl!

    • LOL yes you did make me laugh, thanks 😉

  6. FCblacksheep

    Oh my god…I am so torn right now. Part of me wants to break out the fanfare and jump up and down in excitement, the other part of me is sad because it might not be viable, and yet another is super nervous for you. First of all, whatever happens from here, let me say congratulations on your first BFP. It feels so weird saying this, but it’s an achievement no matter what happens next. Secondly, there’s always a first for everything so you never know. Plus it was the nurse saying it right? There’s a chance she’s just not seen enough cases to know. It might actually be medically possible. I’m glad you’re going in tomorrow. Maybe the levels were off somehow and you get a better test tomorrow. Keeping everything crossed for you.

  7. JC

    I’m sorry you got bad news with the good news. I’m really hoping this works out and things are ok in there. The beta sounds really great so who knows. I’d follow Marla’s advise on sticking that progesterone way up in there, lol! Really hoping for you!!! =)

  8. wow, from what i have ever heard, that is a pretty dang high beta. in my extremely uneducated opinion, it doesnt seem like youd have a beta that high at 12dpo with such a low progesterone- is it possible they made a mistake with the progesterone number? will be praying that this is it for you!

    • They said they checked it twice. I hope it was a fluke but who knows. Thanks.

  9. MK

    Wow, congrats!!! I’m really surprised that your progesterone could be that low with your HCG so high. I definitely would get back on the prog for now and try to not freak out (easier said than done, right!). Don’t give up hope just yet!

  10. Congrats on the BFP. 🙂 I did POAS with my positive beta in the spring (and last week) even though I don’t usually use HPT. It’s nice to see what it looks like…

    Hoping your progesterone turns around. Like I mentioned on Twitter, I’ve heard lots of reports of suppositories not showing up in progesterone bloodwork, since it gets absorbed (more) directly into the uterus. If your level is higher but still low on Friday, ask to go on progesterone injections — I’m on mine until 10 weeks.

    Sending good thoughts your way!

  11. Here from LFCA… My lowest progesterone was 11 but with supplementation (Prometrium) it did go up. I did end up miscarrying that pregnancy and was on supplementation for my future pregnancies, just on the chance that my progesterone had anything to do with it.

    Sending a prayer out to the Universe that your progesterone rises and your pregnancy thrives.

  12. Sending lots of hope your way. Congrats on being pregnant right now though! Totally understandable that you’re trying not to feel excited yet.

    Really, really hope this works out even with the low progesterone. *hug*

  13. Here from LFCA to say hang in there…the beta is awesome and who knows what the progesterone will do!

  14. suzanne

    Hi, Congrats on the awesome beta! I know that you are looking for someone who has been successful with a low progesterone value. I had my first beta on 15 dpo (8 dp5dt). My hcg was extremely low at 38 and my progesterone was 5.2. Not quite as low as yours I know, but still low considering I was also on suppositories and since the number should be up around 20. I was told not to get my hopes up and I was also given progesterone in oil shots to start once a day the following day. We are now at 16 weeks. We did have some rough patches along the way with some bleeding due to a hematoma, but that is a different issue. I would ask about the PIO – it might help and certainly couldn’t hurt. I wish you all the best and I hoped that this helped.

    • Thanks so much for your comment. I am going to ask about pio or anything thing that could bring it up higher and quicker than just 200mg suppositories.

    • Thanks so much for your comment. I am going to ask about pio or anything thing that could bring it up higher and quicker than just 200mg suppositories.

  15. Oh, wow!! Well, first of all on that super high beta!! That is a really great thing! And I don’t know much at all about the progesterone levels and they’ve never followed mine much at all, but I have also read what a PP mentioned – it’s not uncommon for the suppositories to not show up so much in the blood since they are absorbed right where they are needed.

    I am totally pulling for you and sending every positive thought that I have in your direction. I hope that you see a nice big increase in that beta level meaning that little bean is holding on!

    (((HUGS!!!)))

  16. Wow! I’m a little late on getting in here… I was going to suggest asking about pio too. That’s really the only thing I can think of. I am praying for you, for your little bean, and for your doctors.

    ((hugs))

  17. OMGoodness!! First of all, congratulations on an amazing beta, and second I’m sorry your progesterone levels are causing worry. I’ve never had them checked so I’m clueless.
    Keep shoving those suppositories where the sun don’t shine and asking for PIO shots probably wouldn’t hurt…

    GOOD LUCK!! Sending a swarm of positive thoughts and hugs your way!!

  18. Still A Guest Room

    I know how anxious you must be right now…thinking of you and hoping this story has a wonderful ending!

  19. Hi. I don’t want to give you false hope (because I HATE it when ppl give me false hope, the let down is so much worse). But my DW had a level of 4 when she got pregnant and that was on the highest Rx dose possible of progesterone suppositories. The pregnancy ended but most likely it was due to poor egg quality. Anyway her nurse said that sometimes progesterone doesn’t show up in the blood very well and the impt thing was to keep the medicine close to the uterus (i.e., use a suppository) and that would do it. Good luck to you!

  20. Thinking of you LFL and sending you lots of love.

  21. Wow. That is a lot to take in. First, congratulations – you are pregnant!! This should give you such hope…even if this is not a viable pregnancy, you now know that you can get pregnant. That’s huge.

    I spotted days before my beta as well. I only had my progesterone tested 7dpiui, and they never tested it again…so I can’t provide any advice there, but my fingers are firmly crossed for excellent news today.

    (((hugs))) xoxo

  22. Nic

    The beta is great! A lot of clinics do not even test progesterone. Keep using the suppositories and hang in there. Do not give up hope yet and do not do anything hasty.

    There are a lot of girls out there who have had a very low beta and it has resulted in a viable pregnancy.

    Keeping everything crossed for you
    x

  23. Amy

    I was always told by my clinic that the vaginal suppositories work faster than the PIO…and that it doesn’t get into your bloodstream to show up on a bloodtest.

  24. Wow! That’s a lot to take in on one phone call!!! I hope your numbers come back great from today’s test and you can prove that nurse wrong! Hugs to you!!

  25. AL

    Thinking of you and hoping for good news today! I am hopeful that this could work with such a nice beta. HUGS>

  26. Hugs and Congrats! Just take it one day at a time, there’s always a chance for a miracle, so don’t give up hope.

  27. OMG! I know it’s good news and bad news but I’m still SOOOO overjoyed for you right now! You ARE pregnant! Congrats LFL! What a strong beta!!!! I’m going to pray for you and hope that this works out. Possibly the progesterone was just “off” a bit. Power of Positive Thinking! :)))))

  28. I can’t wait to hear how things went today. I don’t think my clinic tests progesterone levels and I haven’t heard many people report theirs. So, I’d just keep taking those suppositories and think positively! You are pregnant! Yay! I’m thinking of you!

    PS – I’ve added you to my blogroll.

  29. Chickenpig

    Yeah, I have. With my daughter my first beta was only 4o and my second was 60. My prog was 3, even though I was on injections. They put me on mega suppositories like 3 times a day. My daughter is now 2 years old.

    Please, please, please, and this goes to everyone out there, take everything the nurses say with a huge block of salt. First off, they aren’t doctors, no matter how long they have been working in an RE office, secondly, none of the nurses and doctors have seen everything, lastly, techs/docs/nurses make mistakes ALL THE TIME. They misread the numbers, they mix up samples, they call the wrong people with the wrong results. You are pregnant until proven otherwise, so until the fat lady sings hold onto the hope and keep taking your meds.

  30. OMG LFL, I am so thrilled and worried all at once for you! You’re pregnant! And that beta is amazing! I do know that lab results can be wrong, so I will pray SO HARD that they messed up your progesterone test and that everything is okay. I would keep taking the suppositories, too. I am praying for you and sending good thoughts and keeping everything crossed.

    Hold on, Lowfat!! *big hugs*

  31. I find it bizarre that you would have such a strong beta and yet have an ectopic or failing pregnancy. It would imply that you had at least 2 embryos implant and that they are both failing. Possible but seems very unlikely. My first thought was that this is a lab mistake or something whacky with how you metabolise progesterone – apologies I haven’t read here before so don’t know if you’ve got any data to compare this to or not.

    I agree with everyone else, I would keep behaving as if you are pregnant, go back in for the beta today and see what happens. At the very least, if it’s an ectopic they need to monitor you very carefully so it’s important you stay in their face.

    Can you insist on talking to a doctor today?

  32. I’m so sorry you have to deal with this crap during the holidays. My RE said that he doesn’t even look at the progesterone levels if he has you on the suppositories because they won’t register correctly. Keep up the meds and the rest of us will be praying that your numbers increase appropriately!
    Something that has helped me through all my losses is to tell myself I am pregnant until proven otherwise. Ok so it only helps about half the time but it does help.

  33. Oh my. I know how you’re feeling, yet I still need to say congratulations! It also sounds like you’ve been getting goog support from women here that say things can turn around.

    (((HUGS))) to you. How are you doing?

  34. May

    Also new here (from LFCA), and I agree with Thalia, above. Progestorone is a highly variable hormone. My first beta with my not-quite-three-year-old was a 26, and the progesterone was low, so I started suppositories at something like 12 dpo, when I really should have been on them already. Anyway, as I said, that embryo is currently nearing his third birthday. So act pregnant and hope for the best, and hopefully discuss with a doctor asap.

Leave a Reply

