Data

This morning I called into my RE’s office to ask a bunch of questions. Here is what I came up with..

  • Jan 14 is the IVF start date. They only have one date this month. They had two before because they were trying to fit cycles in before christmas. I don’t know what the date is that my in-laws family is getting together, but it might be after it. *fingers crossed*
  • I have a consult set with my RE December 3rd to discuss next steps for IVF and everything.
  • I asked about my beta – I counted and I will be 15 dpo by beta. I asked if that was right and I mentioned I think she figured that out thinking I was going to do two iui’s when I only did one. She counted it out for me and said that I could do my beta tomorrow instead of waiting till wednesday. I am happy about that. I want to just know for certain. Tuesday will also be a quieter day than wendesday if I need it. I am not spotting as much at all today, well so far, but works toilet paper is awful in telling what color things are. It just looks wet no matter what it is.
  • The clinical trial is still going on so I could do that and they are scheduling for that soon. She said that the consult with my RE is perfect timing to get into that.
  • I will have to have a repeat sono. Damn it. She said they are only good for six months. Guess I will be going back on my friend valium. Maybe it will be less painful this time since I know what’s going to happen.
  • I also have to have a mock transfer. Maybe they would do that on the same day? I am not sure. More valium please. I’m kinda scared about this.
  • I was asking about the timing of my trip and she said that I would know if I was pregnant by then, but it would be in the early stages. She said things can happen in the early stages in any pregnancy and it might be hard to start spotting and be out of town and not be able to come get the peace of mind to see what’s going on. So she said it’s up to us and the RE. Something to think about. She said I would probably be in the ultrasound stage by that point.
  • She said that some IVF cycles can run longer than planned, but they have more drugs than with an IUI cycle to control things
  • I will have to get definite dates from the RE, but in figuring out if my trip was a problem we figured that Jan 14 I would start meds, Jan 17-25 I would have monitoring, and somewhere between Jan 26-28 I would have my egg retreival. Five days later I would have my transfer and then 14 days later I would have my beta. This surprises me because I know a bunch of you who did ivf only had one week waits. Is that normal? I leave on my trip Feb 27th. So we will see.

Also I wanted to thank you all so much for your comments. Many of you have said that if I do have to go through the IVF route, which it is looking like I will, that you will support me every step of the way and get me through it. I am going to need you guys and I appreciate you guys being there for me. I don’t know what I would do with out you guys. So I guess we find out tomorrow for sure that it’s a bfn and go from there.

  • Posted in: Uncategorized

12 Comments

  1. It’s nice that you were able to get all of this information in one shot. Too bad about having to repeat the test. I too was not a fan whatsoever of the test but at least it only takes a few minutes and then it’s over with!

    We never did IUI as we aren’t candidates due to my husbands male factor being so extreme.. so we jumped right into IVF and so far I think the build up to starting was the worst part. I am trying to take things one day at a time and it seems to be much more manageable. If this is the route you have to take you are right in that you will have my support!

    • Thanks so much for your support. I really appreciate it. I think you may be right on the build up. I know I always obssess over everything and make things bigger than they really are in my head until my emotions are crazy. I will try not to do that too much.

      An on the spotting front I am again. Dumb af.

  2. Nic

    Of course we will support you!

    I had a 2 week wait for my IVF. Most people do.
    I really have had no problems with both of my transfers. Really was not painful, just uncomfortable so I am sure you will be fine.

    I hope it does not come to IVF for you though. If it does, you will be a couple of days behind me, I will be having my transfer on 24th Jan all being well!
    x

    • Ah, thanks for the info about the two week wait 🙂 Yea, we could be cycle buddies. From twitter I know a bunch of girls are going to be doing Jan IVF. Should be a fun group.

  3. I’m sad you don’t think this cycle worked. I hope you’re wrong at tomorrow’s beta! I spotted for over a month when I got preg!
    But I’m excited that you’re looking at IVF! Don’t be scared, it’s so exciting! They can control things so much better and do so much more, like ICSI and controlling how many embies they put back. The mock transfer is just like an IUI, didn’t bother me a bit. Think about the clinical trial! I would’ve definitely done that if they had offered it at my clinic.
    I had a 2WW after IVF, too.

    • Thanks for this note. Because of your note I am telling myself to try to be excited about the possiblilities. I did some quick googling about the transfer and your right, it sounds like an IUI. They are not my favorite, but I can do that. So phew on that. Thanks! But ew, they said full bladder.

  4. And oh – I’m so sorry about your great aunt! I had wondered how you were when your blog got so quiet! I’m glad it was good to be with your family and that you’re all home safe and sound now.

  5. I so hope your beta tomorrow is good news, but if you do have to go down the IVF route we will all be here for you every step of the way. We had male infertility factor issues and so we didn’t have any IUIs and had to jump straight into IVF with ICSI. You’ve seen my journey on my first IVF cycle on Twitter and the support I’ve received has really carried me through each stage, I’m so thankful for finding all you guys on there, I don’t feel so alone any more.
    I haven’t heard about mock transfers before (maybe a US vs UK thing) but I’m sure it may be like your IUI transfers like others have said, I can let you know after Wednesday what it’s like and we can compare notes! Also, I will find out how long I have to wait before testing but I;m sure it’s 2 weeks after IVF too.

  6. I honestly don’t understand the mock transfers, so many people do them. I never had one.
    I wish you the best of luck with all of this!

  7. The mock transfer is basically an IUI without actually leaving anything behind. 🙂 My RE does them during egg retrieval, while I’m out, but it’s just so they can figure out which speculum/catheter to use for the transfer and if you have any unusual angles they need to work with.

    My clinic does the first beta at 10 days post transfer, but it does vary.

    Fingers crossed for you!

  8. The mock transfer was like the HSG. It was a little painful for me, but it was over really fast. It just felt like some intense cramping for 20 secs. I am going through my first cycle of IVF- not really sure why, but my RE did not recommend iui and went straight to the big guns- hopefully it will pay off. If you do end up having to take the IVF journey I will definitely be cheering you on:) Good luck for Wednesday!

  9. I just went through IVF and thought that it was not anywhere near as bad as I was afraid it would be. My Re did my mock transfer at the same time as my saline sonogram and I didn’t find it that painful. It was a little painful, but for me nothing like the HSG. But, hopefully your Beta will be a really good number and you won’t have to go through it! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

