Happy ICLW

Welcome to my blog. Let me give you a quick background on me. I have been married for four years to my husband who I dated for six years before we got married. I have pcos and do not ovulate on my own. I have never had a bfp ever. This will be our ninth medicated cycle with my RE. I have had three clomid cycles, one and a half femara cycles, and two and a half normal follistim cycles. My last cycle we did a mini ivf of sorts. I did everything a normal person doing ivf would do – I was on lupron, follistim, and low dose hcg. However, I was on lower levels of the medication and I didn’t have an egg retrieval or egg transfer. That cycle was the best cycle I have ever had. My lining made it to 7mm which is the highest it’s been, I had three follicles, and I cycled in a reasonable amount of time. My cycles tend to go really long. I also had my first iui’s back to back. Unfortunately, I did not get pregnant from that cycle. We decided to give that protocol one more try since I did so well with it.

I have currently been on lupron for 13 days and have been off birth control for seven days. My period never came, and I was starting to get nervous. The Wifey reminded me though that it isn’t that important to get a period while suppressing the ovaries and coming off birth control because the important thing is that your ovaries are suppressed and ready to do what the medicine tells them to do. I went in to my RE’s office this morning to have a lining check and for my blood work and my nurse said the exact same thing. My lining was at 2 something and my ovaries were very quiet. The blood work came back fine as well. So that means I get to start stimming tomorrow! I didn’t have any low dose hcg so I had to quickly call the pharmacy and they will be delivering it to my house tomorrow morning.

My drug amounts are as follows: 91.6 iu of follistim, which is one click below where we started last time. When we started last time we had 4-5 follicles and we didn’t want all of them to grow. So hopefully a slightly lower dose will be good. My lupron will drop to 5 and my low dose hcg amount will be 10. I was surprised about these levels because the last time I started stimming my lupron dropped to 10 and my low dose hcg was 10 as well. Maybe they dropped the lupron very low because the follistim is lower? Or maybe it was something in my blood results. I am not sure.

So that’s what’s going in with me this cycle. Let me know if you have any questions about anything. I look forward to getting to know some new people 🙂

14 Comments

  1. Good luck with this cycle! Here’s hoping this will do it for you all. I didn’t ever have a period before my IVF either. It never came, but they said that was fine. Turns out they were right because that was when we finally got pregnant with our sweet Henry!

    ICLW #8

  2. Biz

    Good luck! I always love finding new friends 🙂

    ICLW

  3. Hi!!! I just found your blog though team #hope.
    Best of luck this cycle!! I pray everyting works out 🙂

  4. Jessica

    Glad you are able to start your cycle and AF didn’t screw things up for you. Good luck this cycle!

  5. PCOS here, too. I have only ovulated once in the last 3 1/2 years and that was on femara. No bfp. Then the next month I didn’t respond to the femara and cycle was cancelled. Now I am on femara and follistim and my cycle might be cancelled because of too many follicles!! There is no happy medium to be found here!!

    Good luck this cycle!!! 🙂
    ICLW

  6. good luck with the stims! you’re a pro now

  7. FCblacksheep

    Yay for stimming tomorrow! Let’s have a repeat of the awesome cycle only this time I’d like an alternate ending.

  8. Yay for starting with the stims!! I really hope that this cycle goes well and is easy on you. And that you get the biggest BFP ever!!!

  9. This is my first visit to your blog. I am just about to start stims for our first round of IVF. Looking forward to reading more about your journey!! Happy weekend!

  10. Happy ICLW! Good luck with this cycle!

  11. Sarah

    Happy ICLW!!

    Good Luck with this cycle!! I hope it brings in your BFP!!

  12. Best of luck with this cycle!!!

    ICLW #13

  13. Yay, i’m glad you got some good validation from your docs and all looks good to start your stims. I’m excited for you!

Leave a Reply

