Nearly there

I’m still here, still going with the Lupron, but I have stopped taking the birth control. Yea for that. Today I will have been off the birth control for two days so of course no period yet. I’m hoping she shows earlier than last time so I can get this cycle started since November is a crazy month for us. The earlier I can get into the 2ww the better.

We are still working on the bathroom, but we are finally getting near the end. Yesterday and today I painted the back of the door (it was turquoise) and put the first coat of paint on the trim. Hubby put a second coat on the trim and is touching up all the little spots that need it. I am going to clean the tub and such tomorrow and then all the hardware will get put back up. I can’t wait till we can use that bathroom again. We have been using the smaller one while working on this bathroom and the shower is smaller and we have all of our crap on top of one counter. So it’s squishy. An yes, I will post pictures when we are done.

The contact saga continues. I saw the eye doctor the other week and told him that my rgp contacts were driving me nuts. He said try them for two more weeks wearing them every day and see if anything changed. Well the two weeks ended yesterday and I was ready to throw them out the window. I just can’t get adjusted to them. They make my eyes itch and tear and they are so uncomfortable. I told the doc this and told him I was interested in this new brand of contacts that is a mixture of hard and soft contacts. The bottom is soft, but the top part is hard. I have to wear hard contacts so this is a good solution. The only problem is they are very expensive and only one company makes them. While talking to the doc a bit he came up with another solution – piggybacking. Basically he put a soft contact in my eye and then I put my hard rgp contacts on top of them. Wow soft contacts are so much nicer and more comfortable. I thought having two contacts in my eye at the same time was really weird, but it kinda works. So much more bearable. He wanted to try it with a soft contact with no prescription in it since my rgp’s already have my prescription in it, but he didn’t have it in the office so I am using one with a tiny bit of prescription in it. It is a little blurry, but I’m hoping that when I go back next week and I try the ones with no prescription it will be perfect. So my homework for this week is to see how the piggybacking goes. I’m not used to the little bit of blurryness, but I’m hoping changing the soft contact will help. I just have to make sure I don’t put the soft ones on inside out. It’s so weird to have contacts that can fold in half! It’s also a lot of stuff to have to deal with – each kind of contact has it’s own container and different way to remove it and different cleaner stuff. Though once the soft ones are in the hard ones are so easy to put in so *fingers crossed* it goes well.

What else… I was reading a new food blog that I found through another food blogger. She is doing an experiment for two weeks – basically eating only real food, not processed stuff. She is really into it though. Not only is she eating real food, but she is only eating real food with real ingredients like bread with no preservatives and such. I think this idea is so cool, though with everything I have going on at the moment I don’t think I could do it. By the end of the day I am just tired and don’t want to have to deal with making something complex. What I can do is stop eating so much processed stuff – though I I think I do pretty well. I tend to buy ready made real food. I think I’m going to try to eat more real not packaged stuff. We will see how I do because of my limited dietary and time needs.

8 Comments

  1. I’m interested to read how the piggy-backing works for you. My doc was recommending that for me at one point cuz I *should* be wearing hard lenses. Instead I am wearing glasses (most of the time) until my eyes get worse and I’ll need the hard lenses. Long (boring) story, but anyhow, my doc had mentioned those combo soft/hard lenses to me at one point, but like you said, super-expensive. Keep us posted. 🙂

  2. FCblacksheep

    Come on AF! Hope you can get this cycle started soon. I also hope the new contacts work out better for you. Sounds like a cool blog. Eliminating processed foods as been a goal of mine for some time. I’m not sure I’ll ever really get there but being mindful of it and getting rid of some things will certainly help.

  3. I’m so glad your hubby is finally back home! Can’t wait to see the final bathroom pics. I know you’re ready to get your bathroom back. We’re in the middle of a move right now and I hate that “in between” feeling!
    Any signs of AF yet? I had a similar experience with a cycle with Gonal F – we started out with too high a dose and I had too many follies, so we had to scale back half way through the cycle. I didn’t get preg that time, either. Maybe the ovaries don’t like the scaling back part…?
    What’s your kitty’s name? What kind of kitty do you have? I LOVED Hello Kitty as a little girl. I have two HK scrub shirts and bunches of HK socks. 🙂 We have three Abyssinians, Annie, Poppy and Lila, and a tuxedo boy, Moo (it’s actually Mooby, after a character in a Kevin Smith movie (Dogma) but it sounded too much like I was calling him “Booby” so we shortened it to Moo).

  4. Jessica

    I hope AF shows soon for you!!

  5. I’ve never heard of piggy backing contacts. I hope it works. 🙂

  6. Wow! I’ve never heard of piggy-backing contacts either. That’s pretty cool that they can do that. I really hope that it works out for you. The last thing you need is to have egg stress and eye stress.

  7. i have never heard of that piggy backing thing but it totally makes sense, and if it works for you, even better.

  8. Hi just thought i would tell you something.. This is twice now i?ve landed on your blog in the last 3 weeks looking for completely unrelated things. Great Info! Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

