Pie and a few other things

This weekend has been really busy. Friday night we went to a bbq, Saturday we went to a really good and large buffet place and then went to some outlet malls with the in-laws, and sunday had more running around. If you remember my strawberry pie I wrote about a few entries back, I made it for the bbq. It looked really pretty and it actually was really yummy! I got compliments and only 1/4 of it was left at the end of the night. The hubby and I finished it off the next night. So good and pretty easy to make. Here is a picture of it. I will post the recipe at the end of this entry.

I’m finally off the bc pills!! Woot. I took my last one saturday morning. I can feel AF starting to head my way. I have felt menstrual cramps across my abdomen for a few days now. She should be showing up in about 5-6 days. That means my sono is coming up as well. I go between I can’t wait to get it over, I’m going to kick it’s butt and I’m a bit nervous. I hope it goes well. Luckily, my emotions are pretty even with AF heading my way. I did really well at the bbq. There was a lot of baby talk and it didn’t bother me too much. Go me. Not much else is going to happen until I actually start this new cycle. Not much I can do until then. I really hope that being on bc pills this month make this cycle have lots of good follies ready to go that respond well to the Follistim.

Ok onto the recipe:

For the crust
One sleeve of graham crackers plus two crackers broken into tiny pieces
3 tablespoons of sugar
1/3 cup of melted margarine

Mix all the ingredients and then press it into a pie pan. Bake the crust for 8 minutes at 350 degrees. Cool for 15-20 minutes and then refrigerate for one hour before filling.

For the pie
1 quart of strawberries plus 1 cup of strawberries
1 cup of sugar
1/4 teaspoon of salt
3 tablespoons of cornstarch
3/4 cup of boiling water
1 (3 oz) box of strawberry jello (you can use sugar free too if you want)

Mash the 1 cup of strawberries. Combine the mashed strawberries, sugar, salt, cornstarch, boiling water, and jello in a quart pan. Cook mixture until clear and thicker (usually several minutes after the boiling point). Cool mixture.

Fill the graham cracker pie crust with the 1 quart of strawberries. (I cut them in quarters to make them smaller). Then pour the cooled mixture over the strawberries and refrigerate. So so good! I was talking about it with my mother in law today and we thought that we could do the same thing with peaches too. Yum.

I will close this entry with a picture of the hummingbird mobile I bought a few months back. I love watching it, it is so pretty.

5 Comments

  1. Jen

    That pie looks awesome; thanks for posting the recipe!

  2. Kelly

    Yummy!!! Thanks for posting the recipe!

  3. Yay for being one step closer to the starting line!! Let’s get this show on the road. 🙂

    Thanks for the recipe. It looks delicious! I’ll have to try it out for a BBQ I have coming up.

  4. Yum! That pie! Yum! Oh wait, I already said that… Yum! 😉

  5. Thanks for the recipe! Definitely want to try that one 🙂 And that mobile is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

