Back home

We are now back home from my parents. It was a fun weekend, though I’m not sure how relaxing. We drove down Friday morning (no traffic) with the cat on my lap in his crate. When I got there I made hubby’s mom’s recipe of potato salad for the first time so the flavors would marinate and taste yummier over night. I think it came out well for making it for the first time. Not exactly like his mom’s, but not bad. Friday night (our anniversary) we went out to chinese with my parents and her group of friends. She surprised us and had the waiter come sing happy anniversary to us and bring us a special dessert. Afterwards we all went to temple.

Saturday my grandma taught me how to make her pie crust from scratch and then we made a cherry pie for the bbq we were having later in the day. My aunt and uncle came up for it as well as some of my parents friends. I ate soooo much this weekend, but it was fun. Sunday we went shopping at K.o.h.ls and I got some cute skorts to wear to work. This way I will be comfortable in shorts, but look like I’m wearing a skirt on the outside. Yea for that. Too bad I can’t wear open toed shoes with it. Monday morning my mom made waffles for breakfast and then we packed up and drove home. The cat did pretty well with the visit. He kept walking around the house meowing for us to be where he was though and the first night we were there he woke us up at 4am to play. We really missed his automatic feeder. He really hates driving through Baltimore, especially the tunnel. He yowels and gets really freaked out. I was really glad when we were out of Baltimore and the roads evened out.

Now we are at home and just enjoying the last bits of our weekend. I wish I had another day or two off. I’m not looking forward to work. It’s not that I don’t like it, I just would like more of a vacation. I think we are going to plan a trip to Disney in September/October when it’s not as hot and not as crowded. That should be fun.

The birth control is going pretty well. I started the second week on monday and was happy. I even did a little dance. I only have to finish this week, the next week, and then wait about five days to get my period. An then we start the craziness again.

  • Posted in: Uncategorized

11 Comments

  1. hollytraveling

    Sounds like such a wonderful weekend. And the cherry pie sounds yummy. I’m a Kohls freak myself. Glad you had a good time. I’m super impressed by the portability of your cat. I don’t think I could ever trust Moxie in someone else’s house (I just heard a loud crash as I wrote this).

    Good news on the BCP. You know, we may wind up being cycle buddies after all.

    • Would love to be cycle buddies.

      My cat is pretty good, but is scared of people so spent most of the weekend hiding under our bed. So over all not bad.

  2. Sounds like an awesome weekend, excellent! Our Charlie was in boarding for 10 days while we were away, he did ok, although was SO HAPPY when we picked him up. He would not do well in his carrier for an extended period of time in the car though, he hates it!

  3. Sounds like a fun weekend! You should do a blog post on how to make that cherry pie! (Is it obvious I haven’t eaten yet this morning? haha). My cat HATES the car, so that’s really great that yours was able to handle such a long trip!

  4. Sounds like an fun weekend. I wish you the best on the upcoming cycle!!

  5. So happy you had a great weekend, yes and cherry pie sounds amazing right now…YUM!! Okay, and hopefully this week goes by super fast since its a short one…and you’ll be on that last week of bc before you know it!

  6. The weekend sounds awesome and I was the same way this weekend, it seems like all we did was eat! LOL! Yeah for Week #2 of BC, I hope the rest of the pack goes by super fast!!!

  7. Sounds like a much needed great weekend for you guys!! Happy Anniversary!!!! 🙂

  8. Jay

    I would have loved to have seen your little dance!

  9. Sounds like a great weekend — good food, good company and relaxation! I know what you mean about having an extra day. It never feels like enough.

    Happy anniversary!!

  10. So glad you had a great weekend (and happy belated anniversary)! I’m glad things went okay with your cat as well. I think it’s always tough on animals in new places. I do understand your feelings about work as well. I feel the same way!

    Good luck with the new cycle when it starts! I’ll be crossing my fingers for good news 😀

Leave a Reply

