Steroid drops

I had been thinking about the steroid drops I am on for my corneal issues. The eye doctor that gave them to me said that they shouldn’t be a big deal, but that he isn’t an ob. I asked the lady who did my last scan and she said that steroid drops barely go in your blood stream and shouldn’t effect anything. However, she didn’t even ask what drug I was on.

I was still thinking about it today so I called the nurse at my RE’s office. I wonder if she is sick of me calling yet lol. The drops are a pregnancy category C drug which she said that means they don’t really know if it will have any effects. I looked it up on the net and wik.ip.ed.ia says that in pregnancy category c drugs animal reproduction studies have shown an adverse effect on the fetus and there are no adequate and well-controlled studies in humans, but potential benefits may warrant use of the drug in pregnant women despite potential risks. She said that they try to have people on drugs that are category b, but that I should weigh my options. Do I need to be on the drops? How long will I be on the drops? I would be on them for at least two weeks until I see my personal eye doctor to see if I should continue for longer. She said usually eye drops don’t have much of an effect as other things, but nothing is 100%. She said I should try calling my eye doctor and see if there are any drops that I could be put on that are category b.

I called my eye doctor and left a message. They called back pretty quickly which I’m pretty happy about. She said that she talked to a head dr, though not my doctor and they said that of all the years they have been using steroid drops with pregnant women they haven’t had any issues. She said that it probably has a category c rating because it’s a new drug and gave me the name of a different eye drop that was older that might have a different rating, but I looked it up and it was a category c as well. She said that they were just trying to fix the vision in my eye and to decrease the swelling. However, I don’t need to be on it right now. If it would make me feel comfortable waiting until I know if I am pregnant or not I can stop taking the drops and wait until I know I’m not pregnant.

I’m not sure what I think I am going to do. It makes me nervous taking something that could effect a pregnancy if I do happen to get pregnant this cycle after trying so hard to get pregnant. However, most people don’t think that there will be an issue. What do you guys think? My hubby doesn’t seem that concerned and thinks I should just continue taking it, but I’m not sure. Am I making too much of a big deal about this?

12 Comments

  1. Hmmmm, it is probably fine to keep taking it…. but if it’s going to make you nervous then stopping is probably best. If it were me, I would stop out of an abundance of caution.

  2. I say go with your gut feeling on this one. If you don’t feel comfortable doing it, then wait until you find out if you’re pregnant.

    I don’t think you’re overreacting about this. If you’ve been struggling/waiting this long for a baby I can totally understand why you would want to be as cautious as possible. No one can hold that against you.f

  3. Nic

    I understand how you are feeling. It is true, steroid drops barely get into your bloodstream. you will most prob be fine on them. You need to do what you feel is right though. Just be careful, you do not want anything to nasty to happen to your eye

  4. hollytraveling

    I totally get why you’re concerned and don’t think you’re making a big deal out of this. I’ve called the doctor a few times about taking certain things. You don’t want to do anything that could jeopardize a possible pregnancy.

    If they say you don’t absolutely have to be on them, I’d say just wait. If anything it will give you peace of mind and we all know how important that is right now.

  5. c

    keep taking them. you need to take care of yourself too, you know. and if your VISION is the problem here, that’s important enough to stay on them! I don’t think you should mess with your eyes…especially if the alternative treatment is corneal scraping!

    • My vision will not be getting any worse if I stop taking the drops. It is just a matter of making the funny shapes on my cornea go away.

  6. It’s so hard not to overly cautious. I agree with the previous poster, if you don’t have absolute peace of mind, I would try to avoid them if possible. It’ll tear you apart if something happens and you think it might’ve been the drops.

  7. whatever makes you feel best and have the least amount of stress is best – good luck! xoxo

  8. jrs

    I agree w/ the previous poster. Don’t stress about it. I think you are fine taking them (due to no issues w/myriads of pregos on it), but if it makes you feel better, then don’t take them. It’s normal to stress and think about all that type of stuff. I did it with flu shots, Proactive face cream. This IF stuff makes us go crazy looking for the answer to end our IF woes.

    And I say, call you RE’s nurse as much as you like. You are the one shelling out the big bucks for this. This is their job to answer your questions. Good luck with everything.

    Thanks for your kind comments on my blog as well 🙂

  9. I tend to be overly cautious with everything too, I just figure I have enough on my mind…so why not rule out whatever what ifs I can. I’m sure it would be fine if you continued, but do whatever is best for yoru peace of mind!!

  10. I agree with all of your commenters: Do whatever makes YOU comfortable. xo

  11. I think most drugs start off as being category C until proven safe. Doctors just don’t like preggies taking any kind of drugs whatsoever, so they tend to categorize them negatively. So, I’m sure you’re fine. I’m sure there’s no harm whatsoever. 🙂

Leave a Reply

