Long day

Today was a long ass day. It started with me being annoyed that they paused the Olympic closing ceremony coverage to show that dumb show the Mar.riage Ref and the news and then were going to come back to the Olympics. I tried staying up to see them, but fell asleep at 11:30ish. I also got up early so that I could have my blood test this morning before work. So I am running on about two hours less sleep than normal. I did pretty well though.

The blood test this morning was fine. In and out. It hurt A LOT though when she took my blood. I gave her my normal vein that other people have issues with but she normally does fine with. She stuck it in an I had a lot of trouble not bending my arm because it hurt. That just made it worse. Luckily I didn’t bruise too much. Definitely giving my other arm next time. After that hung around a bit since I was way early for work and then went to work for the day.

About 2pm or so my cell phone rang and it was the PCOS head person who had done my injections consult. She was like so you came in for a blood test? I think she was confused to why I came in. So I had to excuse myself from my office (everyone can hear everything in that office) and walked down the hall to talk to her. I gave her the basics – my cycle was cancelled, was put on prometrium 400mg for ten days, waited two weeks and period is a no show. The beta was negative and I think my progesterone was either .4 or .6. She said I need to scan you to see what is up. I said ok. I got off of work at 3:30pm and got scanned at 4pm. Yea for working so close to my RE. That would suck if I had to drive a far distance to get there.

Before my scan I was nervous. I was afraid she was going to find a cyst or something and have to drain it with a big needle or put me on birth control for another month. When she came in she said that if my lining was thin and nothing was happening she was just going to declare it day 3. An it was! Yea!!! So today has been declared day three and I start my 5mg of Femara TONIGHT 🙂 I’m doing something! Hah, I’m not stagnant waiting for something to happen. She didn’t know why I didn’t get a period, she said the prometrium should have thickened my lining so that there was something to have my period with. She said that my cycle should be fine because my lining was thin and my ovaries were quiet. I go back in to see what is up the day after I finish my Femara (saturday) to see when we are going to start the Follistim. I’m doing something!!! 😀

Quick question for you lovelies who have used injectables before. I have heard people mention icing where they do the injection. Do you all do this? Do you ice before or after you give the injection? Any other suggestions?

18 Comments

  1. YES! That is SO AWESOME! Outcome couldn’t have been better, I’m so happy for you!! Now go rock the heck out of this cycle. 🙂

  2. Jessica

    YAY…finally you are moving forward!! I never iced my tummy when doing Follistim. It was not bad at all!! Good Luck!

  3. Wow! Great news! So glad you’re already cycling! Awesome!
    I haven’t done injects yet, so I can’t help you there, but I’m sure you can get lots of info from other bloggies. Good luck!

  4. rainingblossoms

    Yipppeeee! I am so happy for you. I have no advice, since I haven’t done injections…but I wish you the best of luck!!!

  5. Jen

    Yay for moving forward! I didn’t do any icing. The needles are really small and not a big deal at all. I have heard that some people do it though. Good luck!

  6. hollytraveling

    Wow, that’s fabulous news. Yay for you. No advice but wish you the best.

  7. Yay for moving forward. Glad the wait is over for you. I am anxious to see what people say about the icing I am starting injections pretty soon. My waiting game is still on.

  8. Glad to hear you’re finally back in the game!!!! May your follies be big and juicy this go round! 😉

  9. I haven’t used Foll.itism (I’m on Brav.elle) but I ice the area of the injectionbeforehand every time. I’ve done it without the ice (and I survived just fine) but I don’t have anything to prove, so why not dull the pain a bit. I’m not sure about Foll.itism but Brav.elle burns during the injection. The hubs and I found out that it burns a little less if he injects a little slower. Just an FYI. I’m not sure if you’ll have burning issues.

    I’m glad you’re not in your stagnant state anymore. Feels good to be doing something! Lots of luck!!!

  10. I haven’t used Foll.itism (I’m on Brav.elle) but I ice the area of the injection beforehand every time. I’ve done it without the ice (and I survived just fine) but I don’t have anything to prove, so why not dull the pain a bit. I’m not sure about Foll.itism but Brav.elle burns during the injection. The hubs and I found out that it burns a little less if he injects a little slower. Just an FYI. I’m not sure if you’ll have burning issues.

    I’m glad you’re not in your stagnant state anymore. Feels good to be doing something! Lots of luck!!!

  11. Weird about never getting a period but hooray for moving forward! Very happy for you! 🙂

  12. Al

    Yay for moving forward!! GL on the injectibles, so happy you get to start moving now instead of having to wait more.

  13. yay for moving forward!!!! hope this works out perfect. I’ve only done Ovidrel and didn’t ice and it was totally fine…the meds burn a little so you don’t want to go too fast, but you also don’t wanna go to slow…i’m no help, right? lol

  14. Great news! I’m so glad that you’re moving forward!

    I’ve never iced the area before when I’ve done follistim or menopur. Both sting a bit but nothing too bad. I do let the follistim sit outside a bit and come to room temp (or around room temp) before injecting.

  15. WOOHOO!! YOU GET TO START! So exciting! As for injections — with Follistim the needle was so small that I didn’t need to ice it and I never even got bruises or anything. I don’t think it could hurt anything though. I always switched up the injection spot (left side, right side) so I could give each side a break for a night, too.

  16. I find the worst thing about injectables is overcoming how completely wrong it seems to be injecting yourself. Sometimes it stings more than others – it’s just luck of how close you happen to come to a nerve. It’s never *painful*, just can sting or be uncomfortable. Inject slowly so it stings less.

  17. ifcrossroads

    Congratulations for getting to move forward!!! I never iced before my Follistim injections … the needle is really small and didn’t give me any problems. I found that injecting in my tummy was easier than in my thigh. Just my opinion though 🙂

  18. I never did try ice. But I found that if I injected it beside my belly button where there are grooves from where my waistband was it doesn’t hurt. I guess ’cause the grooves in my skin from the waistband are numb. Also, once I have the needle in position, I didn’t acutally look when I put the needle in. Silly, I know, but it worked for me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

