Soy confusion

I am confused about soy. When I first started going to my RE they said that I should stop eating soy because it was bad to eat while ttc. I’ve found articles that say soy proteins do something with estrogen levels and can make it harder for fertilized eggs to implant and grow. However, I also keep hearing on message boards all over the place people using soy isoflavnones through out their cycle and they attribute that to helping them get pregnant. I did some research and found this article that discusses it a bit more in depth. Is it just me or does the first article go against everything the second one says? How do you know what soy product you want to eat is ok? I am a big fan of Morning St.ar Fa.rms products which are all soy protein products. I have drastically cut most of their products out of my diet except for when I know a cycle is a bust, but I’m starting to miss them. I also get nervous sometimes eating them (how much is in moderation and when should I stop eating them in my cycle) and wonder how it is different from all those people popping soy isofavnones in a pill form. Anyone know? Maybe it has something to do with eastern versus western medicine. I just want to eat my yummy teriyaki veg.gie cakes in the freezer.

In good news – today I took my last bc pill. yea for that. Unfortunately, I’m having a case of pms today. I’m grumping at the hubby a lot today. I feel bad about it, but can’t help it. Hopefully that will pass soon.

9 Comments

  1. Ugh, don’t you hate it when you have completely oppositional evidence! Grr.
    I’m guessing that (if there even is a difference between the two) the differentiation lies in the form through which it is delivered? Like, whatever it is that affects you through the food has been removed or broken down to make the compound for the pills?
    Either way, I think ‘moderation’ would be maybe one soy item/meal a day? I highly doubt anything in moderation would do damage…

  2. A

    I tried soy isoflav.’s last January (obviously they didnt do anything for me!) because I heard they were a natural alternative to clomid. I don’t eat soy otherwise, but I do think that it’s the form of soy in food that may (or may not?) be conflicting with ttc… I’d agree with PP, in that moderation of soy foods is probably fine!! 🙂

  3. I have also have had conflicting information with soy. I love soy (tofu, edamame). Since starting to TTC, I have dramatically reduced the amount of soy I have eaten. It sucks!

    I am also grumpy today…I took my last progesterone pill last night. Grump city.

  4. An article recently came out showing that soy severely decreased male fertility (sperm count, I believe) and it was unclear if it also affected women. I avoided it during all of my medicated cycles just to be safe.

  5. Oh, that’s frustrating! I sometimes hate Go.ogle for that. You can find everything you need…and sometimes things you don’t want to find! Because of my thyroid problems I’ve always avoided soy, but I have heard that if its taken in small doses it can be effective.

  6. EC

    The effects of soy are really hard to understand right now, because there are so many conflicting opinions. I looked for a few articles for you, but the ones I found are mostly negative. I’ll give them to you, anyway –
    http://lpi.oregonstate.edu/infocenter/phytochemicals/soyiso/
    http://www.utne.com/2007-07-01/Environment/How-Much-Is-Too-Much.aspx

    It seems like issues come from people eating a lot of soy (and especially unfermented, which what a lot of soy consumption in the US is), but I would think you would be ok if you only ate Morning.star items a couple times a week. Soy isn’t usually listed as the first ingredient in those items, but it’s hard to say how much soy you’re getting when you eat them. As far as the use of soy isoflavones, the effect on infertility is probably mixed. I suppose you’re right – it could be due to a different approach to medicine. That said, though, there’s a huge difference between seeing a nutritionist, acupuncturist, or naturopathic doctor and taking soy under their guidance and just winging it on your own (not that you are trying to do that, but I know some people do).

    In the end, it doesn’t seem like one or two Morning.star items a week would really hurt anything, but if you’re concerned, I wonder if you could think of a replacement? What is it you like so much about them?

  7. Hi I’ve also heard that we should avoid soy. When tried TCM (traditional Chinese medicine), the lady also told me to avoid soy. I’m not a big fan of it anyway.

  8. The soy thing is confusing, isn’t it? When I read about the “negative effects” in some similar articles, I cut it out ocmpletely. Then after reading the info on the Soy Isofalvones, we decided to give it a try ONLY because the RE had us in a holding pattern and wouldn’t let us do Clomid til the spring. I took the SI only on the same days one would take Clomid and that was the only soy in my diet.

    After a few cycles of the SI (and modified diet, PCOS meds, etc.) we conceived and things are looking good at 18 weeks.

    All that said, even though the SI worked for us, it was a longshot AND we hadn’t done the CLomid routine yet. Since you have and you’ve moved on from that, I wouldn’t be too overly concerned about it. Maybe you could enjoy your MStar products occasionally and avoid it in other ways??

  9. I’ve heard conflicting things too…lucky for me, I’m allergic to soy- so I can’t have it anyway. OTherwise…I’ve heard mostly negative things about it for men…and now some more reports about women’s infertility…I guess you have to ask a doctor…IDK–like the 1st reply said…moderation is best. good luck!

Leave a Reply

