Got my dr.ugs

Today my dru.gs arrived. I got a box of ovidrel and my Femara. They look so tiny. I have been googling a lot and found that a lot of women conceived on 5mg of Femara, which is two 2.5mg pills a day. I have been prescribed one 2.5mg a day. So I suppose it’s just like being on 50mg of Clomid, starting at the bottom to see the results. However, I can’t help but feel a little antsy that I am not on the dose that most people on the net seem to be starting on. However, I know my doctor is being cautious and maybe I will do just fine on this level.

I’ve started feeling the signs that af is coming. I usually get menstrual cramps a week before she shows. I am on my last week of bc pills (yea!) and will take my last pill on saturday. Unfortunately, I am due for af when I am out of town visiting with my in-laws extended family. Oh well. I guess I’ll just pack the pads and tylenol.

I’m getting excited to start my new job. Yesterday I had to run around getting my background stuff in order. I got a tb test, a urine test, a vaccination that is making my shoulder feel like it got hit by a baseball, and a blood test to make sure I am not due for any more vaccinations. I also got my picture taken for my badge. On monday I have to go for an all day orientation and then I will start training on tuesday. I am supposed to be working 24 hours a week. I planned it out with my husband and I am thinking of doing 9-3:30 or 4 (depending on how long we get for lunch) for four days a week. That would give me every friday off and the early morning and late afternoon to have my appointments. It’s not set in stone yet, so we will see when I learn more. It’s nice that with this job I have the flexibility to dictate my own hours since I’m not working with clients and instead working with paper work.

13 Comments

  1. A

    I hope the new meds are just what your body will respond to to make a little one! Good luck with your new job 🙂

  2. EC

    That all sounds really promising! Good luck!

  3. The flexibility sounds awesome!

  4. Hello!

    My name is Elisabeth, and I am an infertility / repeated pregnancy loss “veteran”. You can read a little bit about me and my experiences in my blog: drhousewife.blogspot.com . I am completing a PhD in Counseling Psychology, and my dissertation is focused upon the impact of infertility on marriage. I believe strongly that there is a need for better support services for men and women who are undergoing IF diagnosis and treatment, and my hope is that this study will aid in the development of such services.

    I am contacting you after stumbling across your blog. I am recruiting participants for my study, and wanted to invite you and your husband to take part. All that would be involved would be the completion of an online survey, that would take approximately 20 minutes. All couples who complete the surveys will receive a voucher good for a pair of free movie tickets at a Regal Cinemas.

    Please let me know if you are interested by emailing me at UTInfertilityResearch@gmail.com . I have included the criteria for participation below.

    Feel free to pass information along to anyone you know who might be interested in contributing to this study.

    Best of luck to you!
    Elisabeth

    Member of a married, heterosexual couple
    Both you and your spouse are between the ages of 20 – 45
    You do not have any biological or adopted children living in your home
    You are not currently pregnant
    Either you, your spouse, or both has received an infertility diagnosis
    You have received treatment for infertility in the past six months, or plan to do so in the next six months
    Both you and your partner are willing to participate & have access to the internet

  5. Praying for your journey on the meds. I am on my 3rd month using Femara. I started with the 5mg the first month and did not ovulate. The 2nd month they up’d me to 10mg and it worked and we are trying again this month on the 10mg and I have just ovulated so it worked! One thing that I can tell you that I figured out with the Femara…he told me to take it the same time every day but I had the worst time with the side effects (feeling dizzy & sick) so I started taking it at lunch time. I would eat 1/2 my lunch and then take the Femara and then finish my lunch. Worked like a charm. I realize every one is different so who knows if it will work for you but if you feel the side effects from taking it just try playing around with how you take it and see what works. 1/2 and 1/2 did the trick for me, no more feeling icky! Good luck!!!!!

  6. Fingers crossed that Femara does the job for you! 🙂

    Oh, and so glad that the job situation is working out…those would be great hours. Hope you enjoy it!

  7. Good luck with your new drugs and your new job! How exciting!

  8. JC

    YAY! Good luck with the new job, it sounds great!

  9. I don’t know much about Femara for infertility. My RE put me on it for 5 days after I got OHSS, but I never really understood why it was supposed to help shrink my cysts if other people use it to try and get pregnant. Anyway, I really hope that all you need is 2.5 mg and that this cycle goes perfectly!

    Your job sounds so flexible — that is awesome!! Good luck with your training!

  10. omg- so excited…you’re starting so soon!!!!
    GOOD LUCK!

  11. I am excited for you! It feels good to be at the begining of a treatment cycle. That is where I am at too. It gives so much hope and excitement. Best of luck to you!

  12. Good luck with your new job, and with Femara! Sending you lots of positive thoughts!

  13. Yay that everything’s kicking in for you! Good luck with the job and the soon to be started cycle!

Leave a Reply

