Job question

I just had an interview today and it went pretty well. However, in the interview I found out that there will be some travel. It will all be in state and probably won’t be for the first couple of months. However, if I am going to start injectables where you have to go in for scans more often, this makes me nervous. I could do part time, but that could mean that I just work full days for half of the week. Would you guys still take this position? I am nervous that appointments will pop up on days that I will have to be in the different office. Husband thinks I could do it and just work around it, but I’m not so sure. What do you think? We are not hurting so I don’t have to take the job, I just was hoping to do something at least part time. My mother thinks that I should mention something if I get a second interview about being treated for something and needing regular appointments to treat it so that I’m being honest and especially if I turn it down so they don’t think I have an attitude and then never call again for a different position. I’m not sure. It’s just hard because this position is in a place where I would love to work and has a lot of opportunity to grow and move into other things. However, I’m just not sure if this is the position to do it in. But I don’t want to miss my chance of getting in the company.

15 Comments

  1. Hmm, this is a tough one. I might call your RE and explain your concerns. Do you know if you’d be gone overnights? If it was just single days here and there, I would think you could definitely work around it. Plus, maybe the places you’d be sent would have Quest locations, so you could still get bloodwork done?

    GL, this is a tough decision, but congrats on the offer! Very impressive in this market!

    • They might have quest locations, but don’t they want ultrasounds each time as well? I’m pretty sure they do. Not sure if it would be single days here and there. With my long ass cycles and them monitoring me more I would think it would be more frequent and annoying for the employer.

  2. JC

    That’s a tough one. I’d really like working a part time job (currently work full time). I’d say if they are flexible on days/time like missing this day but working that day so that you can make appointments then go for it! But if you’re not sure and it’s going to cause more stress…then I probably wouldn’t expecially if you don’t have to. Good luck!

  3. I agree with JC — if they can be flexible occasionally then I’d probably go for it. If not, it’s a much more difficult decision because you want to be available for IF treatments but having a fulfilling job is pretty great, too. I hope they’re flexible so you can have it both ways!! =)

    • I’m not sure how flexible they will be. On the traveling it will probably be a couple days down state, not over nights though. It makes me nervous because what if they want me to travel on a certain group of days and then the RE says I need an appointment. She said she was going to get back to me on the flexibility of the hours, but I don’t think she knew what I was asking exactly.

  4. I have a couple of thoughts on this.

    First, I think it’s important to maintain balance while going through these treatments. It really helps to stay grounded. You mentioned the other day that you felt like all you thought about was pregnancy and your cycles. This sounds like an opportunity that really excites you, and it would be something that you would really enjoy.

    Second, it would probably be helpful to find out more information about whether you would need to be gone for more than a day at a time. And it would also be informative to call your clinic and find out what they recommend. My doctor recommends that you try to schedule your treatment around your life, not the other way around (when possible). You often have some leeway on some of the appointments. For example, you could do your baseline ultrasound on CD2 or CD4 if you are gone on CD3. And if you have a monitoring appointment and they want you to come back in two days to check, they might be willing to pull it in a day or push it out a day.

    Once you get a cycle or two under your belt, you’ll all know better what dosage will work well for you and when you’re likely to trigger, so it might be easier at that point to make a case for adjusting the appointments once you have that data.

    I think it sounds like a great opportunity for you. 🙂

  5. Lin

    I agree with the other ladies. I think it all comes down to flexibility. And, it certainly is tough to hint at why you’re asking without telling all. There’s a fine line between being honest in an interview and telling too much. It seem doable, though. No matter what you decide, I’m glad the interview went well!

  6. If, all else considered, you really want this job, I say take it! I would not say anything to them upfront. I do agree though, talking to the RE might be helpful and finding out more about the travel details from the job might help you think of possible solutions.

    Once you get settled in the job you can tell them that for the next X days you will have frequent appts, etc.

    Of course, I’m NOT speaking from experience, as I’ve never done a monitored cycle. But in my work experience, details like this usually work out better than you expect.

    Wishing you luck with whatever you decide!

  7. I agree with Shelley! This sounds like an opp you are excited about, and it will round out your life so it’s not TTC on your mind 24/7. That said, if you feel like it would add mucho stress to the upcoming monitoring appts, it’s going to be a rough road. I support you either way! Do you feel calmer and happier when considering one option over the other? I try to see which way I’m subconsciously leaning when I have a really tough decision….

    Congrats on the job offer LFL, you rock! 🙂

  8. EC

    I agree with Shelley 100%! She wrote exactly what I would have said. I especially like how her doctor says ‘try to schedule your treatment around your life, not the other way around (when possible).’ This, to me, is so important. While it isn’t always possible, I think it’s important to try to have some kind of a normal life. I think that especially since you said you feel like all you think about is pregnancy and fertility treatments, this would make the whole process easier for you. There may be days where it’s stressful to try to be where you need to be for both work and monitoring, but I think it’s possible. And I think it would give you something else to focus on, other than getting pregnant.

    I wouldn’t mention it to them, but that’s me.

    I can see why you’re concerned overall, but I think you would be doing yourself a favor by at least trying it. It sounds like you’ll have at least a cycle of injectables before you’ll need to travel, and that will give you a better idea of what to expect. It may not even end up being a problem at all.

    Congratulations, and good luck!

  9. I agree with your mom, I would probably say something like that. Good luck!

  10. ifcrossroads

    I’ve had a lot of in and out of state travel and I work full time. While it hasn’t been fun, I was able to make it work due to Quest/Labcorp and early (7am) monitoring appointments. GL! I hope you are able to find some balance!

  11. Shelley honestly said what I would have told you. I was once in your position, I almost didn’t go back to school because of all the what ifs concerning my doctor appointments, what if I got pregnant, etc. Here I am 6 months later and obviousely not pregnant. I wouldn’t lose out on a great opportunity if they can be flexible or if you can find a way to work around your job.

  12. I think you should go for it! You might have some frustrating moments as a result, but if you give up opportunities that you’re excited about because of IF, you might regret it.

  13. Marla

    That is certainly tough. If you ask if they can be flexible so you can do your fertility tx’s, they might just hire someone else who doesn’t have that extra drama. I would worry about starting a new job and then asking for time off to run to the doc’s office. It doesn’t look good to your employer. Also, who wants to hire someone who is planning on going on maternity leave in 9 months? I know it sounds sexist, but that’s the way they might look at it. My thought is to keep it a secret from any employer as long as possible.

    If it were me, I would probably pass on the job, if getting pregnant was number one on my priority list. Also, if you add more stress and drama to your life with a new job, it might diminish your chance of a successful cycle. Just my two cents.

Leave a Reply

