1 day left

Tonight is our last night of trying. It’s gone pretty fast. It’s much less stressful this time then the last time when husband’s parents were staying with us. That wasn’t fun. I start the progesterone supp’s tonight, oh boy. I’ve been so looking forward to that :/

Yesterday I felt kinda funky after the ovidrel shot as I wrote before. I got a little nausea, was tired, and a bit crampy. The sore bo.obs didn’t last that long. I don’t remember feeling much of anything last time from the shot so I’m hoping it’s a good sign. Today it’s just some cramping.

My husband has been getting over his cold the whole time we have been trying. The first night I told him to limit the kissing so I wouldn’t get all of his germs. That didn’t work too well because I guess we both enjoy it. So now we are down two days of bding and I woke up this morning with a bit of a sore throat that won’t go away. I’m hoping that the sore throat is all it is and that it goes away soon. I’m not really sure what you can take when your on your 2ww. I know it’s severely limited when pregnant so I hope it doesn’t get worse.

I did some googling around for fun to figure out how doctor’s figure out your due date. Yes, I know I’m getting ahead of myself. I read that they go from the first day of your last period. This cycle is way long so if I did my calculations right and I do get pregnant I would be a little into my sixth week at my beta. Craziness.

14 Comments

  1. Oh no! I hate after I, ahem, catch DH’s germs!! I’m glad that things are moving ahead for you!

    On another note, I hate how they calculate the due date. Most women don’t ovulate on CD14!

  2. The way they calculate the beta doesn’t make sense, especially since what counts is the 2 weeks post-ovulation. I wouldn’t worry too much though because they can readjust the due date to reflect your ovulation date based on the ultrasounds and also the date of your ovidrel shot so it could be accurate and reflect the baby’s development.

    SO EXCITING that you got to try! I am psyched for you to be in the 2ww!!

  3. A

    I hope you don’t get sick! I’m glad the trying has been fun! 😀

  4. I too have been on the receiving end of my DH’s germs. I hope your sore throat goes away soon. I also calculate when my “potential” children will be born…it’s an interesting process.

    Good luck! I am hoping that this is the cycle for you!

  5. Al

    Oh no, I hope you’re not getting sick! It’s impossible to not kiss during BD (unless you’re Julia Roberts in Pretty Woman, I guess…)

    They would readjust the due date after the first scan when they actually measure the embryo. Or so I’ve heard, I’ve never gotten that far. I hope you do this cycle.

    Good luck on your two week wait 🙂

  6. Wishing you good luck on your 2WW and on the not getting sick! 🙂

  7. Hi, LFL…

    Sorry that I haven’t been commenting lately but I HAVE been reading. 🙂 Just wanted to wish you luck and let you know that I have my fingers crossed for you!

    *HUGS*

  8. Enjoy the last day of trying – I know it’s not always “easy” when it’s more of a necessity than pleasure, but I’m glad this last time will be stress-free!

  9. peanutnoodles

    Hi LFL! Oh, the finals days of a BD marathon… it’s always kind of exciting because you know you could be making a baby that very night :). I really hope you don’t get sick — I also had a sore throat this past weekend and was really scared to get a cold going into possible egg retrieval and the doctors would turn me away because they couldn’t put me under anesthesia with a stuffy nose, etc. Thankfully my obsessive worrying seems to have knocked out the cold germs – I highly recommend it! 😉

    Also, I agree with the due date calculations done by doctors being totally flawed, for just the reason you’re experiencing — it does not account for a long cycle. Counting by LMP assumes that we’re all robots who ovulate on Day 14, which is clearly not the case. The more accurate thing for you who be to start counting 2 weeks prior to when you know you ovulated. Definitely make sure your doc takes your late ovulation into account when doing his calculations, otherwise they’ll cause you way too much undue stress when the fetus looks like it’s not on the pace it should be.

  10. It’s funny – I start calculating on cd 1, as soon as AF starts, way before conception. Lol!

  11. In the past few days I have been SO confused about how due dates are calculated…but I was too scared to google it as I am not even at CD1 yet for this cycle! 🙂 Thank you for that factoid!! AND, I am super excited for you this cycle. Big follies + Ovidrel + BDing (no cold for you please!) + Prog supps = VERY GOOD SHOT at that BFP!

    • I was confused too, which is why I looked it up. Glad I could help 🙂 Thanks for the well wishes all. I hope the combo of everything will mean I will have good news at the end of this. We will see.

  12. Very odd about the due date calculation. I always thought that I would go by the day of Ov (counted as the two week mark) as the starting point.

    Ugh about the sick husband – I hope he continues to feel better and that you recover quickly.

    Thinking positive thoughts for you while you’re waiting!! 🙂

  13. Feel better, hon. And good luck in your 2ww.

Leave a Reply

