No BC

Today was my first day off BC pills. Woot. AF should show up probably around thursday. I have been feeling bits of cramping here and there, but nothing horrible. So yea for being almost there. I’m really hoping that the BC pills and the Metformin has helped. I had a wonderful hope that because my body was regulated by the BC pills all last month that it got used to a normal 28 day cycle. That could mean that maybe I will ovulate around a regular time (day 14-16) and I wouldn’t have to wait till day 20 something this time. That would make this whole process not take forever and that would so rock. Fingers crossed on that.

I went to Borders today and was looking in the women’s health section to see what books they had on infertility. They had Taking Charge of Your Fertility, but it looked like it was a book for someone who was doing it more on their own. They did have two or three books on PCOS, one on endo, but nothing really on infertility itself. They didn’t have the book written by our lovely blog roll leader. I may have to check that one out. Do any of you have any good suggestions?

I found out today that a friend of mine is on Metformin as well. He isn’t on it for the same reason since he’s a guy, but it was neat to talk to someone in real life who was on the same drug and what he thought of it. He is on regular metformin and had issues with the er version.

10 Comments

  1. I don’t really have any good reads but I did like taking charge of your infertility but yeah, it is more for the person who is trying to get pregnant on their own!

    I hope your cycle goes out without a hitch and you get your BFP!

    babyparamore.blogspot.com

  2. Yesterday was my first day of the BCP pill! Looks like we’re cycling together. Let’s hope this one is the one for both of us. I didn’t realize you were in the Philly area. I am in Drexel Hill — where are you?

  3. I think Melissa’s book would be a great one for you to pick up! There are also a few I found at the library, but not really anything great… Good luck this cycle!

  4. I have been through 2 failed IUI’s and read TCoYF afterwards. Been charting ever since. It really gave me a better understanding of my cycle. My suggestion is to reconsider buying it. I’m a big fan of it.

    Since you’re a PA dweller, I’ll be following 😉

  5. A

    Even though TCOYF is geared more for a beginner, it still has ALOT of great info that is applicable to even us “advanced” ttc-ers 😉 I definitely recommend it!

  6. EC

    I also liked Melissa’s book, Navigating the Land of If. I just got it! It depends on what you’re looking for, but I would recommend it. I’m also looking for a book that I could use as more of a reference guide (something where I could look up drug protocols, tests, procedures, statistics, etc. – but not necessarily a cover to cover read), but I haven’t bought one yet. If I do, I’ll let you know!

    I did also buy the Fertility Diet. I’m not sure how I feel about it yet, since I already do a lot of the things listed in it, but I’ve only given it a quick look so far.

    Good luck!

  7. karlinda

    Good luck with this cycle!

    ~ Happy ICLW ~

  8. I hope this cycle goes well for you! Is the Metformin bothering you at all?
    I’ve been reading “Fertility Foods” and “The Ultimate PCOS handbook”. The PCOS book is really good as it has supplement and diet info as well as explaining a lot about PCOS.

    • Now that I have switched to the metformin extended response and gotten used to it, it’s not really bothering me that much. I do tend to get low blood sugary though if I don’t eat every couple of hours. Thanks for the recommendations on the books. I’ll look them up.

  9. I read Taking Charge of Your Fertility and really appreciated all the info in it. I got mine at Half Price Books for super cheap (they had tons of them). You might try that! The only bummer was, they put the infertility books with the pregnancy books, so I pulled it off the shelf right next to – What to Expect When Your Expecting. !#@!@ing Half-Price

Leave a Reply

