Snippets

This entry will be sort of random. I have a lot of random thoughts going through my head – snippets about different things.

1. Recently I have been hearing about people who I sorta know who have had to deal with infertility. I heard about a past co-worker who was just put on medicine to try to get pregnant. I’m not sure what kind though. I also heard a nurse today say that she had a laproscopy (I can never spell that) when she was trying to get pregnant. It’s just nice to hear that there are other women out there going through the same thing. I didn’t say anything to either about my similar experiences.

2. A couple of nights ago I had a dream. I don’t remember a lot about it and it was almost a week ago so the memories are going away. Anyways – I remember standing in front of a mirror and staring at my stomach. I remember being surprised that I was pregnant and that my belly was starting to show, like it had just popped out. I remember thinking how am I supposed to tell people when this just happened? It was weird and I was a little sad when I woke up.

3. I found out through facebook yesterday that one of my elementary school friends gave birth. This is a good thing, but I don’t think she was due until December. Her baby was born in a dramatic fashion she writes and is now in the NICU. It really makes you think that even though some women can get pregnant easy they still have issues too. I hope that her baby is ok and is able to get out of the NICU soon.

4. The menstrual cramps are here and I can feel that aunt flo will be coming soon. I wish it would hurry up so we can get this show on the road already. I really hope that this cycle moves a lot faster than last cycle.

5. Do any of you guys use the Stirrup Queen’s forum? I have tried looking at it a few times, but the posts I always find seem out dated. Am I doing it wrong? It just seems a little hard to navigate.

6 Comments

  1. It’s always such a relief to hear of others who have battled IF. You can feel really alone in it, even though we have each other online. My neighbor point blank asked me if I was having problems (actually a relief that she was so forthright) and shared that she had a m/c before her son and then another m/c before her daughter. It made me feel not so broken with recurrent losses.

    I agree about Stirrup Queen’s forum, it’s been surprisingly disappointing. I’ve had good luck with i.villa.ge forums, though. I can send you a link of a couple that I’ve found particularly helpful (nice ladies, great advice), if you’d link.

    And you asked me for recommendations for a good starting Indian dish on my blog — if you eat chicken, try Tikka Masala. It’s an awesome chicken dish in a tomato cream sauce. I’ve never met anyone who didn’t love it and it’s not spicy at all. You’d get it with some warm naan (bread) on the side to dip in, and it’s just delish. I hope you try it soon, you’re missing out! 😉

  2. I think more woman are touched with rough pregnancies and infertility than we actually know. For some reason it is such a taboo subject which gives me a even bigger reason to talk about it so openly!

    I love and hate those types of dreams!

    babyparamore.blogspot.com

  3. Lin

    You’re so right about the surprising number of people all around us who we find out are also (or have in the past) dealing with IF. In fact, this is one of the big reasons why I don’t shy away from talking about our IF issues. Support always feels better than isolation to us.

    As for the Stirrup Queen’s Forum, I agree that i find it much less helpful than Mel’s wonderful blog. Not really sure why, either. It’s well designed and built and has all the makings of a great place to share and support. Not sure what the missing link is. i.Village is also my favorite forum…try the BFP Luckies on the Trying to Conceive Board. Or, separately, the IF Support thread. Absolutely wonderful women on both! Hope to see you there soon!

  4. I hope AF starts ASAP so you can finally get started cycling again! I don’t use the Stirrup Queen’s forum … so I can’t help you there. I can empathize with your pregnancy dream. Those are the worst. Lately I have been dreaming the RE tells me a reason I definitely can never be a mom (example: I don’t have ovaries), and I wake up covered in sweat. Not fun.

    Are you iron commenting this time around on ICLW?

    • LOL no Iron commenting this month. I’m still tired from doing it last time 🙂 That dream sounds scary.

  5. babybaker

    awe, i wish your pregnancy dream didn’t make you sad! i love having pregnancy dreams. it makes me feel good that my subconscious mind lets me have those thoughts since my conscious one won’t. 🙂

    hoping AF arrives ASAP so your next cycle can get underway!

Leave a Reply

