Met ER question

So I’ve moved to taking two pills of Metformin ER this week.  On thursday I took 500mg with breakfast and then 500mg with dinner.  I did pretty well except for I got low blood sugary and started to feel blech right before dinner and first thing in the morning before I ate.  I’m feeling a little bleh now, but I hope that will pass.  Hopefully I will get used to this new dose soon as I did with 500mg.  By the end of last week I was coping fine with just 500mg.

Ok onto the background of my question – On the pill bottle the nurse wrote that I am supposed to take 500mg for one week with dinner, then move to 1000mg with dinner the next week, and then the next week to take 1000mg at dinner and then 500mg at breakfast.  When talking to my mother who used to be a nurse and who has had patients on metformin before she said that I should not take two metformin at the same time, that I will get more side effects that way.  She said that I should spread them out so that by the end of the three weeks I will take one at breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  However, I know the the extended release version of Metformin is supposed to slowly release over time so I’m not sure if she is only right with just regular Metformin.  Who is right?  Is taking two Metformin ER at the same time different than taking two regular Metformin in terms of side effects?  I’m just not sure.

6 Comments

  1. Jessica

    I don’t know anything about Metformin but I had this same question when I was taking Clomid. I called my nurse to verify what they had written on the bottle because I didn’t want to take it wrong. I

  2. Maybe you could call and ask to speak to your doctor. Explain how you are worried about side effects and suggest spreading out the drug and she what he/she thinks. I did that with my progesterone suppositories and the doctor was totally fine with it when I asked.

  3. I take all of mine at the same time…the extended release feature should keep the side effects from beein too much at one time. SHOULD. 🙂 But call your doc and work out what makes you most comfortable.

  4. Sorry, can’t help you on that one. Got a little surprise waiting for you over at my blog though 🙂

  5. Jess

    Check out my blog-you have an award from me!

    babyparamore.blogspot.com

    • Jess

      I believe you are the missing link! I will put your name up on my blog!

      babyparamore.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

