H1N1 Vaccine

I have been thinking a lot about a “hot topic” in the news lately – the whole H1N1 vaccine.  They keep saying that pregnant women will be on the top of the list to get the vaccine because they are one of the groups more affected.  They are talking about it right now on Good Morning America and focusing specifically on pregnant women.  They are reporting women who are going to get the vaccine, women who are hesitant, and women who will not be getting it.  There are even some pediatricians that are telling their patients not to get it.  Of course the CDC is saying it’s perfectly safe.  I’m not getting into the whole vaccination debate, but I wanted to ask you guys in the IF community what you think.  I am not sure what I think.  I mean if we are trying so hard, waiting so long to get pregnant, and injecting ourselves with crazy drugs just to get pregnant would you want to risk getting a vaccine that might mess everything up and cause harm to the baby or to lose the baby?  I am just not sure.  Then again I would want to be protected.  Though I never get the annual flu vaccine.

15 Comments

  1. I never get the annual vaccine , either. Before my loss last month, I was really debating this issue too. My OBGYN, whom I love, really felt strongly that I should get it. She felt that the risks of the vaccine were so much lower than the damage that could be done if I did come down with the flu. I decided that I would have gotten it, though I did insist that I wanted to wait on a dose without thimerasol — this vaccines will come in formulations with and without it — so if you do decide to go for it, definitely insist on preservative-free.

    GL “noodling” on this ;).

  2. Thanks for your comment and thank you for bringing up the information on the preservative free version. I heard about that on the news and if I ever do get the vaccine I will probably get that version.

  3. It is such an interesting topic — I always get the flu vaccine. Mostly because they give it out at my office for free, and it never hurts to cover your ass. I kind of feel the same way about the H1N1 vaccine. If I do end up getting pregnant soon (which I very much hope to!), I will get the vaccine because I can. I’m not really worried about it affecting the baby. People put a lot worse things in their bodies and still (miraculously) end up having beautiful, healthy babies. And, at the end of day, if it DOES turn into some crazy epidemic or plague, then my baby and I will (hopefully) be flu free. Which will be a big load off.

  4. I am so glad you brought this up! It has been on my mind, too. I have been getting the annual flu shot, but I didn’t this year yet because I am worried about having an immune response right before IVF (or during it). I don’t know if that’s a reasonable concern or not. I also was wondering whether they’d give the H1N1 vaccine to someone actively trying to conceive using ART (before conception). The whole thing makes me nervous.

  5. I’ve never gotten a flu shot and I’m 26 and never had the flu. I doubt I will even get the N1H1 even if I got pregnant, there are too many unknowns. I’ve waited so long to get pregnant that I would never risk my pregnancy but then again on the other hand, I would feel like shit knowing something happened to me or the baby that compromised its life and if I just had got the N1H1, the baby would be fine!

    babyparamore.blogspot.com

  6. What a great question. I honestly don’t know. Last year was the first time in 32 years I had the flu shot…and I didn’t get the flu (not really impressive, since I usually don’t get the flu). My chances of getting H1N1 are slightly higher since I work regularly with people who travel and young children. However, with the chances of us getting an IUI/IVF, and (hopefully) pregnant soon…I just don’t know what the right choice is. I am looking forward to hearing what others say!!

  7. EC

    Good question! I really don’t know what I would do. I never get a flu shot…I don’t think it’s necessary, because if I got the flu, it wouldn’t be the end of the world. I don’t know what I would do if I were pregnant and had the option of getting the H1N1 vaccine.

  8. Allison

    I got the regular flu shot, but my doctor told me that she didnt think anyone should get the H1N1 shot as it is untested and we dont really know what kind of side affects it could potentially have.

    • What your doctor said is interesting. Thanks for sharing. What is your blog url so I can check it out?

  9. The HPT police said I couldn’t test until Wednesday. The officer said I test too many times each cycle and when I get a negative, I blame it on testing early (and I am wasting tax payers money). HAHA, have you figured out who the cop is? It is my meanie husband, lol!

    babyparamore.blogspot.com

  10. My view comes from a scientist point of view, and I sort work on the fringes of immunology, although that is not my degree. My opinion is that pregnant women should get it. It is not formally tested as vaccines usually are because of the obvious time restraints with the scare happening now. However, the only difference (to my understanding) between the H1N1 vaccine and any other yearly flu vaccine is the active part of the virus that is used to create the response. Obviously, the yearly vaccine has been proven safe and effective and there is no reason to think the H1N1 vaccine will be any different. Year after year they change the flu shot to match what they think will be this year’s most likely strain(s) and this is just like one of those changes. Doctors already recommend the yearly flu shot to pregnant women (with the special formulation, of course) because of the potential damage to the baby if you contract influenza. And now that we know H1N1 is particularly dangerous for pregnant women and their unborn babies, it is all the more reason to get it, in my opinion. Of course, my opinion should not be used as a substitution for your MD’s recommendation. 🙂

  11. Good question… I’d definitely need to research it more. But I *think* as long as it’s mercury free, it’s ok, no??

  12. I never get the seasonal vaccine. I avoid most things that aren’t absolutely necessary (meningitis, yes, gardasil, no, etc)… Putting strange chemicals into my body makes me nervous (enter fertility treatments *rolls eyes*).

    The thing that makes me VERY nervous about the H1N1 vaccine is that the insert (information the comes with the drug) specifically says that it has not been tested on pregnant women or children. Why, then, is the media pushing for those specific people to take it? No thank you.

  13. A

    I got the seasonal one a few years in a row (2002-2004 I think?), and I got a mild cold after every single one. My mom is a nurse and SWEARS that the virus in the vaccine is dead and there is no way you can get sick from it, but I honestly got sick when I got the shot. The years since when I didn’t get the shot, I haven’t gotten sick… I haven’t made up my mind if I’ll get a seasonal shot this year…

    I feel that it is such a new vaccine that no one knows the 10-year implications of it. Maybe (maybe) it is safe short-term, but what about long term? Hopefully I’ll be pregnant after this cycle, but I doubt I’ll get the H1N1….

  14. Lana

    I got a regular flu shot on December 7th (containing thimerosal) and I was wondering how long should I wait before getting pregnant?

Leave a Reply

