Blood sugar

So I have been trying to eat a lot less carbs and a lot smaller portions this month to help with the weight loss and to help the metformin/clomid work even better next cycle.  However, the metformin has been messing with my blood sugar.  It did that the last time I was on it and it was the reason I eventually went off of it.  I feel tired/headachey/weak/grumpy within an hour or two of eating.  After I eat it goes away, but then comes back.

Last night I said screw it and had a little more dinner than I normally had been eating.  My mom had put me on a 4oz protein at dinner and mostly 1/2 cup servings of protein/veg during the day.  Anyways – after I ate dinner I felt better.  Today I had a bigger sized bagel and ate more at lunch.  Though lunch today was my cheat meal.  But in the end I felt better.

I have done a little research on the internet and found that a lot of people feel hypoglycemic on metformin and that they need to eat more calories to feel better.  So maybe going small portion and lower carb isn’t the best thing to do on this medicine.  Tomorrow when I’m back to my normal routine I’m going to eat healthy and the foods that I’m supposed to eat, but not worry so much about only eating 1/2 cup or whatever.  I think this may help with me feeling crappy and tired all day.  Anyone have any similar experiences?  Maybe the key to the weight loss right now that I can control and feel ok with is the exercising.  I just want to be able to reap the benefits of the metformin.  I read somewhere that 50% of women who go on metformin get pregnant.  Last week I got on the treadmill Wednesday through Friday.  I’m going to try to do it again every day this coming week.  I’ve found that the Wendy Williams show is great to watch while exercising.  She makes me laugh.

14 Comments

  1. MK

    Sorry if I’ve already told you my Metformin experience.
    Basically I was fine on it until I got to 1500mg. Once there, I felt worse than I ever have in my life (no exaggeration). I was puking, constantly nauseous, had diarrhea EVERY day…it was horrific and I DIDN’T get pregnant.
    I took myself off of it and started exercising 5-6 days a week (45 mins to an hour each time) and attempted to eat better. My insulin resistance is now completely gone AND I got pregnant.
    For awhile there I was also taking Cinnamon and Chromium (both help blood sugar levels but withOUT the awful Metformin side effects). I had to stop when I got pregnant and didn’t end up going back on them, but my fasting insulin is still at a normal level.
    I HATE Metformin. I also didn’t lose even one pound while on it. Matter of fact, I think I gained 5.

    • Thanks for sharing what happened to you. I’m sorry you had such a bad experience with it. That sounds awful. What does chromium do? I’ve never heard of that. I’ll have to research it.

  2. I know I am simply RAVENOUS on the Met. Especially for sugar (evil, evil irony). Thus far I’ve found that eating something small to medium (fruit, low-fat yougurt, string cheese) every 2-3 hours (snacks alternated with meals) keeps my stomach from hurting, and me from feeling that hypoglycemic blah. I lost about 25 lbs when I first started the meds… it has tapered off, but I’m mainting well. Maybe that might help…

    • Thanks for sharing. I have added snacks to my day, one in the morning and one at night. Hopefully things will continue to go well. Congrats on the weight loss 🙂

  3. JC

    Hope you start to feel better! I like watching dancing with the stars on the treadmill…I can go for 45 min easy if I watch that and an hour if I really get into it. =)

  4. Al

    Oh man, that sounds terrible. Well done with the working out and eating right.

    Hope you’re feeling better!

  5. watermelon, it is the only thing that helps. frozen grapes will work in a pinch, but watermelon is magic. i have been on met for almost 3 years, because my insulin resistence is so horrible. i had lost a lot of weight, but the my thyroid decided that it was going to freak out and i gained it all back. be patient with yourself.

  6. Hang in there, girl! There are lots of little things that you’ll find youhave to tweak to make this work for you. The increased calorie intake should help…that and eating more often than you think you need to. Hope things get levelled out soon!

  7. Yep, snacks helped me too…even though I eventually went off the met. I hope you find a solution for you! Have a great day!!!

  8. A

    I don’t have any experience with that drug, but just wanted to send a little extra support your way!

  9. Yikes metformin sounds nasty. I don’t have any experience with it, but I would definitely make sure you’re getting enough sugar so you don’t pass out or anything. Maybe ask your doctor? I hope you get to feeling better.

  10. EC

    Sorry you are having such a hard time! Snacking seems like a good idea…maybe try to have a healthy snack mid-morning, mid-afternoon, and evening?

    I have never taken metformin, but I have been hypoglycemic. That’s a lousy feeling. If you do have carbs, maybe try to have some protein or fat with them. That slows down the breakdown of carbohydrates.

    I hope you’re feeling better!

  11. I’m on metformin too and the only reason I stay on it is because I’m hoping it gives me a BFP! I don’t really notice that I eat more on it but every once in a while it upsets my tummy! I think you are doing the right thing by listening to your body and eating more. You shouldn’t have to feel sick and as long as your eating good foods, you won’t feel it in your waist line.

    babyparamore.blogspot.com

    • That is the only reason I’m putting up with it as well. How long have you been on it?

Leave a Reply

