Back home

Just got back home from a visit with my parents.  We went down to celebrate Rosh Hashanah (the Jewish new year) with them.  Friday night and saturday morning we sat in services and we ate lots of yummy jewish soul food – brisket, matzoh ball soup, kugel, and apple crumb dessert among other things. Yum.  My mom sent us home with lots of leftovers 🙂

The second sermon on saturday morning irked me a little bit.  I’m not sure if I was just being sensitive or not, but the assistant rabbi gave the sermon.  She had just become a mom five months ago.  Her whole sermon was about how her life had changed from this time last year to now, how her baby had changed how she looks at things, and how she can understand how god feels about unconditional love and forgiveness and such because she is that way with her child.  While these things are all good, I couldn’t help but think of you guys and how that would really upset someone who wants kids, but isn’t able to have them.  I didn’t expect to hear that sort of thing in a religious service you know?  *shrugs*

No new symptoms on the two week wait front.  I’m 7dpo today.  I only have about another week left.  I go back and forth between pretty sure I won’t be pregnant to having some hope that it might have worked.  Hopefully that week will go by quickly.  I know one of the symptoms is bloating, but I am bloated a lot of the time because of IBS so that doesn’t work for me LOL.  One good thing that has come of this is that my new prenatal vitamin has calcium in it.  The calcium is really helping my stomach to feel better.  So yea for that.  I hope all of you are well and I look forward to catching up with you and starting another ICLW tomorrow 😀

9 Comments

  1. The day or so after my injectables/IUI cycle didn’t work, we were at Mass (we’re Catholic) and the priest’s homily was all about how there is nothing more life-changing and wonderful than staring into the eyes of your newborn baby and how it’s the start of living for someone other than yourself. I promise you I almost lost it right there. I agree, what are these people thinking? Have some sensitivity!!

    Anyway, sounds like you had some amazing food and a good visit with the family! I can’t believe it’s already 7dpo (although for you, I am sure time is crawling). I am so so excited for you to get to the end of your 2ww. Are you going to hold out til the end before you test? Good luck!!

    • Low Fat Lady

      LOL your right time is crawling over here for me. I am not sure if I am going to test or not. I keep going back and forth between it and not. I may test on the Monday before my appointment which would be 15dpo, but I haven’t decided yet.

  2. I’m so glad you had such a good time with your family! The 2WW is soooo frustrating. It’s impossible not to overanalyze every twinge! I can drive myself crazy. I hope it goes by quickly for you!

    Before we started the inseminations, I would do the same thing about the baby dance. We’d be so exhausted by the third day, we’d skip it, but then I’d feel so bad the next day, like I blew our chance just because I didn’t want to do it! It’s so hard not to second-guess every decision!

    • Low Fat Lady

      I’m glad that I’m not the only one who has had this issue. I was starting to feel bad about our decision. Thanks for your note 🙂

  3. Best wishes on your 2WW! I believe that all of us infertiles have as much love to give as anyone — maybe even more because we try harder than anyone to bring babies into our lives!

  4. 7 dpo is a tough time because you’ve already been waiting a whole week and you still have some waiting ahead of you! I hope it goes quickly and you get a positive test.
    So great that you had a good visit with your family and got to eat such delicious food. It’s so incredible how people never seem to think how much their happy words about babies and such can hurt- it seems like infertility is invisible to the rest of the world a lot of the time, which I guess it sort of is…
    I hope this new year brings you much joy!

  5. The 2ww is SOO hard! I know your emotions are all over the place! Good luck!

  6. texicali

    i’m not so sure i could’ve handled that sermon.

    i get scared about going to mass on mother’s day when it would be APPROPRIATE to talk about the mother/child relationship.

    i don’t think i would like to be ambushed at new years!!

    the bitter side of me (thats been ttc for almost 3 years) says that she is probably a “fertile” that just doesn’t “get it.” and of course, that could be WAY off. its just the automatic defense, i guess.

    anywhoodle – HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

    xoxo

    and congrats on being an iron commenter right off the bat! sheesh! overachiever!! 🙂

  7. I hope your journey to baby is a very short one!

    Matzoh ball soup is delicious! My mom’s best friend is Jewish and makes it for me every time I visit her. She refuses to give me the recipe so I’ll always have to keep coming back for more. =)

Leave a Reply

