Am I doing it wrong?

Last night I started the progesterone suppositories.  I’m not sure if I did it right or not.  My suppositories look like this.  I keep them in the fridge.  Is there some sort of wrapper or shell I’m supposed to take off them?  I couldn’t find one.  I used it at night and wasn’t sure if I put it in the right place.  Then this morning I found the shell.  It wasn’t completely disintegrated like I thought it would be (thought it was smaller and dented a little) and I don’t really feel like it oozed anything.  This makes me think I didn’t do something right, which makes me nervous.  I tried again this morning it is definitely oozing more, which is kinda gross.  How long are you supposed to lie down and wait for with these things? I waited 25min and when I stood up I felt it ooze.  Maybe I should have lied down for longer?

In addition, we only got a 75% on our homework of having sex for three days.  We had intercourse for day one and day two.  Everything from my RE said that it is recommended that we have intercourse for three days during the time period, but if we want we can skip day two and just have sex on one and three.  However, last night we were both tired, my in-laws were downstairs, and we just weren’t in the mood so we didn’t have sex.  Now, I’m nervous that I messed up something important because we didn’t do it that last night.  Anyone have any experience on that?  I’m nervy now and not feeling very positive about the end result of this two weeks.  Maybe that’s the progesterone side effects starting up.  I guess now all I can do is wait.  My first 2ww.

10 Comments

  1. My Progesterone suppositories looked a lot like that and I had to keep them in the fridge as well. They had no packaging or shell (other than the little plastic bag they came in) so the whole thing went in. I think this is because they’re a compound that has to be mixed up and made on the premises. The pharmacist will put them in a mold to form and then take them out and give them to you. I had a couple that didn’t dissolve all the way, but usually they did. Good luck with it!

    And a cheer for being in the TWW! Will be following to see how things are getting along for you 😀

    • Low Fat Lady

      Thanks for the cheer 😉 I tried another one this morning and it seems to be working a little better. So hopefully I am doing things right.

  2. A

    I don’t have any experience w/ the suppositories, but I’m sure you’ll get alot of good advice 🙂 Welcome to the 2ww (today is ovulation day for me, so I’m right behind you!)…hopefully this will be your last one until next fall! 😉

    • Low Fat Lady

      Thanks, good luck to you 🙂

  3. My suppositories looked like that but they came in a hard square wrapper that you peeled back to get at the suppository. I also kept them in the fridge. I did them 2x per day (once at night, once in the morning). At night I did it right before bed so it stayed in all night. In the morning I got up an hour earlier than normal to put one in, then laid down for an hour. My RE said you can just lay down for like 10 minutes though. Mine always dissolved (no leftover wrapper or anything) but they were super messy after standing for an hour or two (so gross). It sounds like you’re doing it right though.

    I wouldn’t stress too much about the sex timing. Sperm supposedly can live up to 3 days in the uterus and I am sure lots were just hanging out waiting for your egg! I am so excited that you’re in your first 2ww! I hope it’s your only one!

    • Low Fat Lady

      Thank you so much for your comment. I had been thinking about the timing all morning and your comment made me feel a bit better 🙂

  4. I am sure you will be ok skipping one day. The spermies just don’t have a backup crew coming in, but I am sure they don’t need it. I hope your 2ww flies by!

  5. I’m very happy that things are moving forward for you. I wish you nothing but the best at the end of your 2ww. Here’s hoping it goes by very quickly with a BFP at the end.

  6. No one told me to keep my progesterone in the fridge! I usually put the morning one in when I get up to let the dogs out and then go back to sleep for 20 or 30 minutes. In the evening I don’t worry about lying down and I haven’t had any problems with them, except that they’re kinda messy and decidedly un-sexy. Good luck to you!

    • Low Fat Lady

      I believe there are different types of progesterone suppositories that are available. Some need to be put in the refrigerator and some don’t. Was yours mailed to you in an ice cooler?

Leave a Reply

